We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ostoya Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostoya Palace Hotel
Ranked #122 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
south shields
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a short break to Kracow in July and picked the Ostoya Palace to stay in. We are
Glad we did. We decided on the suite and it was very grand in that lovely old elegance style.
Not that anything in the room was old, it was all modern and clean with a tv, a kettle and tea/coffee
making facilities, although the tea bags were herbal so my tip is to bring a couple of your own. There is a small fridge/mini bar so room for your milk. There were a couple of bottles of complimentary water provided, this was fizzy so do check before filling kettle with it!
The breakfast was a very good continental style with lots of choice of cheeses, meats, cereals,
fruit and eggs to order, ie: boiled, scrambled or fried. Fruit juices and tea and coffee also.
The staff were so friendly and pleasant and it was a pleasure to stay there.
The hotel also has a pub underneath it and you can either get the lift down from your floor or go outside and enter that way. The food and drinks are very good and reasonably priced.
The Ostoya Palace is situated about a 10 minute walk from the main square and about 15 minute
walk from the castle.
A very nice place to visit, beautiful city, lovely people and very good value for money. Would definitely return.
One thing we did do before we went was purchased the Kracow Blue Guide book, we found this invaluable to help plan our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    101
    38
    14
    9
See reviews for
31
120
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Whilst it is an older hotel it is well maintained, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good and service and food from their restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. It is very close to the old town area with a 10 minute walk. It is about 25 minutes if you want to walk to the station. Krakow has a lovely green belt around the main area of the town which is a very pleasant walk and leads to most main parts of the city. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here last year on an Easyjet Citybreak as my wife had booked the hotel as a 40th birthday treat for me as I've always wanted to visit Auschwitz/Birkenau . Great friendly hotel with really nice staff . It is ideally located with only about a 10 minute walk into the main square . Krakow really is a beautiful city, really old buildings dating back centuries and some tremendous examples in the main town square. The room in the hotel had a really high ceiling which definitely fitted in with the decor and feel of the hotel. Bed was really comfortable . The downstairs bar was a great place for a drink before going out or popping in for a couple when you got back , bar staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend the Ostoya Palace. Actually went back there four months later with my mate and both our dads , mainly because i had told them about Auschwitz .Had no hesitation in booking this hotel again . Actually ate in the downstairs bar one evening the second time around and tried some of the local Polish food which was really nice . Definitely recommend the Ostoya Palace and Krakow as a place to visit .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean, friendly well equipped hotel. Only downside was that restaurant was not open when we stayed. Central location and excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have very small showers. None have baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked a double room for 3 nights in March. We had a very spacious room on the 2nd floor, so spacious infact we had a large double and a single bed. We found the beds very comfortable (although duvet could have been bigger!!). Large bathroom but as someone had said previously the shower cubicle was very small which was strange as the bathroom could have easily accomodated a much larger one. Didn't feel that the decor was tired and dated at all, it was in keeping with the syle of the hotel and and looked to me a it has been decorated fairly recently - room and hotel were very clean. The only thing that was a bit of a let down was the breakfast as choice was very limited although you could order an Omlette or scrambled eggs. (Why do European hotels in general serve up orange squash as opposed to orange juice!). There is a pub downstairs which serves okish food if you can't be bothered to walk into town. Old town square though is only about 10 mins walk and therefore hotel is very centrally loacted for loads of restaurants and bars. Had 2 wonderful meals (both Italian) in Mamma Mias and La Campana - would recommend both - and so cheap in comparison to London. Hotel staff were very friendly and booked a tour to Auschwitz through them - could have done it cheaper ourselves but for the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at the hotel and also a tour guide the added expense was definitely worth it. (although it was by no means expensive). Would recommend this hotel and also Krakow as a place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a visit to Krakow where we stayed at the 4 star Ostoya Palace. It should never have been given 4 stars, more like 3, as the decor was very tired and needed updating. Also my friend's bed was very hard and there was hardly enough room to turn round in the ridiculously small shower. I am just under 6ft tall and the shower head didn't come up far enough for me to have get my head under it. The information sheet in our room said that breakfast was from 7am to 10am, so on our last day we went down to breakfast just after 7am, as we had an early flight, and were told that breakfast didn't in fact start until 8am (apparently the info in our room was out of date!). We asked if we could possibly just have a cup of tea and were told by the manager that this could be done. However, after waiting for over 10 minutes, the requested cups of tea did not arrive. In fact all the staff were sitting in a nearby room talking and eating their breakfasts. As far as we were concerned, they could not have been less bothered. Not a good way to treat guests who have virtually a day's travel ahead of them so I certainly won't be recommending the Ostoya Palace, nor would I wish to stay there another time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

have just returned from a 3 night break at the ostoya palace,arranged as a surprise by my girlfriend liz,what can i say the hotel was lovely and clean and quiet although granted it is february,rooms were spacious we were on the second floor and our room had two large velux windows as opposed to verticals,but still plenty of light,we ate in the hotel on one evening in the pub that is on the ground floor of the hotel,the food was very nice and very reasonably priced.the breakfast consisted of cold meats cheese eggs fruit cereals,and also hot scrambled eggs/omelettes and bacon made to order,the hotel is only 10 mins walk from the old square for the nightlife,and 15 mins walk from the lovely wawel castle,all in all a great little hotel,and wonderful value would certainly return and recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEVE-LEEDS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#115 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#89 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Metropolis Design Hotel
#31 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#40 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Fortuna Bis
Hotel Fortuna Bis
#147 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#17 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostoya Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostoya Palace Hotel

Property: Ostoya Palace Hotel
Address: ul. Marsz. Jozefa Pilsudskiego 24, Krakow 31-109, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#74 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ostoya Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ostoya Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostoya Palace Krakow
Hotel Ostoya Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing