We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“One of the best in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polish Aviation Museum

Polish Aviation Museum
Book In Advance
$28.52*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Official Pass
Ranked #8 of 237 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The fact that the exhibits are mainly outdoors, does make it difficult to keep them in good condition. For me that's part of this place's attraction though. With lines of MIGs you can imagine it being a cold war airfield.

My first visit since the new entrance building opened. Surprised to see the the old cafe had been replaced with vending machines, so bring plenty of coins.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PIK-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    212
    36
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An amazing collection of aircraft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow, this is a great place to visit if you are an aviation enthusiast. If aeroplanes (or helicopters) are not your thing I still don't think you will be disappointed as it is such a great museum.

Free on Tuesdays and not overly busy either. If the weather is kind to you then you are in for a real treat with so many exhibits to view. There are some really good displays inside s well with several hangars filled with displays.

Definately worth a visit, but set aside 2 - 3 hours for the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fascinating exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On what used to be a military airfield, now hardly used, an enormous collection of aircraft lies on the tarmac from a host of different countries and in varying states of repair. We visited on a Tuesday which is, somewhat curiously, a fee-free day. Rather than taking a taxi we enjoyed the tram ride (nos. 4 or 10 from Dworzec Glowny), alighting at AWF, crossing the road (Aleja Jana Pawla 11), walking back along it and following the signed right turn with the whole walk taking some 15-20 minutes. On the return we took the tram from one stop nearer the city, Wieczysta, which was seemingly nearer (despite the direction to use AWF from the Tourist Information Centre).

The variety and number of aircraft makes the exhibition a source of great interest, but a huge investment is needed for the restoration of the majority of exhibits which results in the impression of an aircraft graveyard in some areas. Missiles, artillery and rocket launchers are also on view. The entrance building is of recent build and contains an interesting interactive centre with a section of special appeal to youngsters. Refreshment facilities are fairly primitive and we bought ice-creams on a hot day from the shop on the ground floor of a block of flats off the entrance drive. One could spend the best part of a day here but as our time was limited about three hours enabled us to see a considerable proportion of the display.

We felt that a couple of immediate initial steps could be far more publicity (with attendant increased income) and the provision of a comprehensive catalogue of the exhibits with the plan of the airfield - for which we would pay! Nevertheless if you have any interest in aircraft this is something which should not be missed. In the absence of a catalogue a camera is recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BirstwithHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great source of static planes, just a bit tatty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you like your planes, then go along and see the unusual planes at this place. Hard to find without a good map and car but worth it if you are a lover of aviation. However be prepared for a lack of really significant investment. This is no glossy museum with state of the art exhibits. The static planes are tatty and its can be a bit sad looking at these once great machines looking down trodden and in need of restoration. However still worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sasagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A good and interesting collection of Planes albeit some are a little rusty. Allow 2-3 hours to see the whole Museuem. It is some way out of the city centre and I strongly recommend getting a taxi as its only £4-5 and the Museum reception will happily call you one for the journey back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hotspur31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polish Aviation Museum also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Polish Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing