We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Maltanski, a secret gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maltanski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maltanski Hotel
Ranked #83 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Hotel Maltanski, a secret gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

Very good located, really nice rooms. Staff very helpful.Highly recommended for couples.

Helpful?
6 Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    58
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
103
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

Had a great 3 night stay at The Hotel Maltanski, booking influenced by previous positive reviews.

Excellent location only 2/3 mins equidistant from Main Square and Wawel Castle, but nice,quiet and peaceful environment, as Krakow can be noisy in more central locations. Only occasional sound of horse-drawn carriages (which I'd recommend) from the road outside.

Staff helpful and arranged taxi's to take us back and forward from airport. Had slight problem with air-conditioning, which I think was more to do with hotel's electricity supply than the unit itself.

The room was large and had a spacious bathroom which seems to be the norm. Good shower and bath, and towelling robes were another nice touch.

Breakfast was fine, but mostly cold dishes apart from frankfurters.

Overall, I would have no hesitation staying at the Maltanski again. My only recommendation would be if it was possible to have a small bar area somewhere in the hotel, that would be beneficial, but there is a reasonably priced mini-bar in the rooms plus tea and coffee making facilities, so maybe that's not that important for most people. We often like having a wee nightcap back at our hotel...but we're Scots afterall!

Highly Recommended.

  • Liked — Excellent location and generously sized rooms
  • Disliked — No focal point, bar for e.g.
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont be tempted to pinch the bathrobes, they check all the stuff as your checking out !
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Millreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbys England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights after readind good reviews.
Wonderful hotel, good location and lovely rooms. Breakfast good but nothing cooked on offer,and the each cup of coffee is made to order, rather labour intensive! I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Poppy's mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2006

What a beautiful little hotel - small but perfectly formed. No complaints at all and would certainly have no hesitation in recommending it. Can't say anything negative at all.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

I have reserved this hotel for 5 nights on the last week of March 2006 after to have read all the reviews on this website about a lot of Krakow hotels.
The hotel is a 3 stars, but it’s much better than a lot of 4 stars that I have seen until now.
The room and the bathroom are very big and super clean with nice furniture and well heated, beds also are very very comfortables.
The breakfast is excellent and very well served (ask the "cappuccino", it's very good), usually is a cold buffet but you may ask hot dishes.
Fantastic the location (50 mt. next to the Radisson SAS), only 3/4 minutes from the main square and the Wawel too.
Moreover no only one little noise because the rooms are located in a very good position and not on the street front.
You may take a look for more hotel informations on the website (--) but the rooms, the restaurant and the hall are much nicer than the pictures on the website.
If raining you have complimentary umbrellas (we have used it every day).
The staff is very kind and very helpfull. I have asked in advance and they have organized the round trip transfer apt/htl/apt for a total of 150 PLN and the Auschwitz and Salt Mine tour in the same day with a private car (2 passengers only) for a little bit more (450 PLN + Salt Mine tickets) than the regular organized coach tour sold in internet (432 PLN with the Salt Mine tickets included), but in this tour we had a lot of stops on the way to see more places and the guide-driver has given us a lot of usefull informations about the Krakow history.
If you are planning to visit Auschwitz and Salt Mine and save time, book the tours in advance through the Maltanski's reception.
About Krakow, beyond the more famous placesto see, don't miss the Museum of Archdiocese in ul. Kanonicza 19-21 (where Karol Wojtyla lived as bishop), the Collegium Maius in ul. Jagiellonska 15 (Copernicus has studied there), the Czartoryski Museum in ul. Sw. Jana 19 (with paintings of Rembrandt and Leonardo da Vinci).
In Kazimierz the big Jewish Cemetary at the end of Miodowa Street and the beatiful curch in Bozego Ciala.
About the food try to taste bigos, pierogi (with meet or cheese in russian style), the zurek soup and the nalesniki as dessert.
We have found a nice restaurant named "Checowa" in ul. Jagiellonska 11 where they have a superb goulash and very good prices (70/80 PLN for 2 peoples).
If you need relax in the main square, go to the Europjska, a really lovely cafe with the best hot chocolate and ice-cream too.
About the shopping we have found a nice amber necklace c/o the Amber Chamber shop in ul. Florianska 42 amd my wife a lot of shirts at very good prices c/o the Promod shop in ul. Florianska 18.
If you need cash with AMEX card, an ATM machine is located in ul. Florianska c/o the Millenium Bank.
That's all, have a good time in Krakow !!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank ghega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2006

What a find! A newish hotel so it doesn't feature in all the suggested tour guides. It's also not large, but it is perfectly situated, only 5 minutes stroll from the main square, Rynek Glowny, (it's next to the Radisson). We were able to book it cheapest going through TravelPoland.
The staff are all so helpful and speak excellent English, and if they don't know the answer to your query they will find out. The rooms are much nicer than the picture on the website suggests, as they have woodblocked floors, toile de jouy bed covering and monogrammed sheets and towels. Small windows, but the shutters are backed with glass, cunningly designed to reflect more light into the room.
Breakfast is from 7 -10.30, there is a good choice of the usual cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc., that changes slightly from day to day, the only downside we found was that it took us until day 3 to realise that we could order a cooked dish!
Getting from and to the airport was easiest and quickest (15 mins) by taxi, +/- 60 Pln zloty (just over 5 to the English £), but there are buses.
We did the usual trips to Auschwitz and the salt mines, both real eye openers and just walking around the town and going where the mood took us took up our other two days.
We found a really lovely cafe in the main square, the Europjski, which has an Art Nouveau feel and the best hot chocolate in the world!

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2005

I want it all to myself! Out of the four hotels we stayed at during our trip to Prague, Cesky Krumlov and Bratislava, this one was the best. Very comfortable and relatively luxurious for this part of Europe with nice extras such as a bathrobe and quality toiletries. The bathrooms were very swank in marble. The breakfast spread was caringly prepared. The hotel's service was extremely polite and helpful, especially when they followed up to ensure that we had a taxi from the train station and prepared us coffee specially for our 5:30 am arrival!

You couldn't ask for a better location - only 10 minutes walk to the Rynek Glowny and Wawel Hill.

My only complaint is that the hair dryers were abysmal.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank aschie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#22 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#28 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Stare Miasto
Pod Wawelem Hotel
Pod Wawelem Hotel
#47 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltanski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltanski Hotel

Property: Maltanski Hotel
Address: ul. Floriana Straszewskiego 14, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#37 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maltanski Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maltański is situated right by the lush greenery which surrounds the Old Town. The interiors were painstakingly restored to provide accommodation in a hotel where tradition meets all the mod cons. Quiet surroundings, close proximity of Krakow's rich culture and a welcoming atmosphere - this is the Maltański in a nutshell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Maltanski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltanski Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing