We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maltanski
Nearby Hotels
$174
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Wentzl(Krakow)
$144
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grodek(Krakow)
$131
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bracka 6(Krakow)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$250
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel(Krakow)
$140
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
153
73
10
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
73
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswawel castleold townroyal stablesa small patio areathe main squarenice breakfast buffetchopin concertthe ground floorbreakfast roomperfect locationboutique hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulmini barplanty parkrooms are largewould stay here againair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 237 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
London
110
Reviewed May 3, 2006

What a beautiful little hotel - small but perfectly formed. No complaints at all and would certainly have no hesitation in recommending it. Can't say anything negative at all.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

I have reserved this hotel for 5 nights on the last week of March 2006 after to have read all the reviews on this website about a lot of Krakow hotels.
The hotel is a 3 stars, but it’s much better than a lot of 4 stars that I have seen until now.
The room and the bathroom are very big and super clean with nice furniture and well heated, beds also are very very comfortables.
The breakfast is excellent and very well served (ask the "cappuccino", it's very good), usually is a cold buffet but you may ask hot dishes.
Fantastic the location (50 mt. next to the Radisson SAS), only 3/4 minutes from the main square and the Wawel too.
Moreover no only one little noise because the rooms are located in a very good position and not on the street front.
You may take a look for more hotel informations on the website (--) but the rooms, the restaurant and the hall are much nicer than the pictures on the website.
If raining you have complimentary umbrellas (we have used it every day).
The staff is very kind and very helpfull. I have asked in advance and they have organized the round trip transfer apt/htl/apt for a total of 150 PLN and the Auschwitz and Salt Mine tour in the same day with a private car (2 passengers only) for a little bit more (450 PLN + Salt Mine tickets) than the regular organized coach tour sold in internet (432 PLN with the Salt Mine tickets included), but in this tour we had a lot of stops on the way to see more places and the guide-driver has given us a lot of usefull informations about the Krakow history.
If you are planning to visit Auschwitz and Salt Mine and save time, book the tours in advance through the Maltanski's reception.
About Krakow, beyond the more famous placesto see, don't miss the Museum of Archdiocese in ul. Kanonicza 19-21 (where Karol Wojtyla lived as bishop), the Collegium Maius in ul. Jagiellonska 15 (Copernicus has studied there), the Czartoryski Museum in ul. Sw. Jana 19 (with paintings of Rembrandt and Leonardo da Vinci).
In Kazimierz the big Jewish Cemetary at the end of Miodowa Street and the beatiful curch in Bozego Ciala.
About the food try to taste bigos, pierogi (with meet or cheese in russian style), the zurek soup and the nalesniki as dessert.
We have found a nice restaurant named "Checowa" in ul. Jagiellonska 11 where they have a superb goulash and very good prices (70/80 PLN for 2 peoples).
If you need relax in the main square, go to the Europjska, a really lovely cafe with the best hot chocolate and ice-cream too.
About the shopping we have found a nice amber necklace c/o the Amber Chamber shop in ul. Florianska 42 amd my wife a lot of shirts at very good prices c/o the Promod shop in ul. Florianska 18.
If you need cash with AMEX card, an ATM machine is located in ul. Florianska c/o the Millenium Bank.
That's all, have a good time in Krakow !!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank ghega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
229
Reviewed February 17, 2006

What a find! A newish hotel so it doesn't feature in all the suggested tour guides. It's also not large, but it is perfectly situated, only 5 minutes stroll from the main square, Rynek Glowny, (it's next to the Radisson). We were able to book it cheapest going through TravelPoland.
The staff are all so helpful and speak excellent English, and if they don't know the answer to your query they will find out. The rooms are much nicer than the picture on the website suggests, as they have woodblocked floors, toile de jouy bed covering and monogrammed sheets and towels. Small windows, but the shutters are backed with glass, cunningly designed to reflect more light into the room.
Breakfast is from 7 -10.30, there is a good choice of the usual cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc., that changes slightly from day to day, the only downside we found was that it took us until day 3 to realise that we could order a cooked dish!
Getting from and to the airport was easiest and quickest (15 mins) by taxi, +/- 60 Pln zloty (just over 5 to the English £), but there are buses.
We did the usual trips to Auschwitz and the salt mines, both real eye openers and just walking around the town and going where the mood took us took up our other two days.
We found a really lovely cafe in the main square, the Europjski, which has an Art Nouveau feel and the best hot chocolate in the world!

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

I want it all to myself! Out of the four hotels we stayed at during our trip to Prague, Cesky Krumlov and Bratislava, this one was the best. Very comfortable and relatively luxurious for this part of Europe with nice extras such as a bathrobe and quality toiletries. The bathrooms were very swank in marble. The breakfast spread was caringly prepared. The hotel's service was extremely polite and helpful, especially when they followed up to ensure that we had a taxi from the train station and prepared us coffee specially for our 5:30 am arrival!

You couldn't ask for a better location - only 10 minutes walk to the Rynek Glowny and Wawel Hill.

My only complaint is that the hair dryers were abysmal.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank aschie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2004

I stayed at the Maltanski at the beginning of December 2004. It is perfectly located - a five minute stroll to the old market centre - and warmly welcoming, with all staff speaking sufficient or better English to cope with non-Polish speakers. Rooms are large, beds are comfortable and spacious, bathrooms are huge and well equipped, breakfasts (no other meal is available) are scrumptious and plentiful. Everywhere is clean, neat and tidy, and there is a real feeling of central Europeanism. The Maltanski does not go in for frills - no over-priced bath shower gels for example - but it is very competitively priced and friendly and highly efficient. Staff can organise trips to Auschwitz for example, with English speaking drivers. My only doubt in posting this highly complimentary report - which is unusual for me - is that the hotel may get so busy I can't book when I return. It's just a perfect place to stay in Krakow. Try as I might I can find nothing to criticise, except perhaps for the parquet flooring in the corridor outside the bedrooms, upon which heavy footsteps and high heels can sound really noisy at night. If the hotel bought a carpet for the corridor there would be nothing to complain of.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank trippedover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews