We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as good as other reviews suggest”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wielopole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wielopole Hotel
Ranked #12 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not as good as other reviews suggest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

The location of this place is very good - a short, easy walk to the Rynek, by the charming Planty gardens. But the beds were dreadful (small, low, hard, with springs sticking out of the mattresses), the rooms were small, and just weren't comfortable. My room at the front was pretty noisy all night long (and would be worse on a Saturday - there's a big nightclub just down the road). Front-desk staff were helpful, but others were off-hand. Breakfasts weren't very good - bad coffee, orange squash not orange juice, and only margerine, no butter. Maybe we didn't get a good deal, but it was quite expensive by western standards, and very dear for what it was. Not really recommendable, certainly not for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottinghamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    360
    50
    12
    2
See reviews for
182
493
72
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Great location, near Rynek Glowny, Kazimierz, Wavel Castle. Lovely staff, rooms really clean (front facing can be a bit noisy), decent-sized showers. Ask for tea-making stuff if not provided. Good plentiful breakfast though orange juice vile (we mentioned this in questionairre). Take sustainance if on Salt Mine (go early in day to avoid queues)or Auschwitz trip(frequent local bus outside train station) both over 4 hours, non-stop.
Use the excellent "In your pocket Guide" - free at reception, so useful. Momo restaurant off Rynek and Vega just round the corner from Hotel - filling and cheap. For a treat, try Pijalnia Czekolady in Square, scrummy chocolate place! We loved this city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

rooms cleaned every day, clean towels supplied daily, lovely staff who are very helpful and pleasant at all times. Excellent breakfast replenished frequently. On our day of departure we were presented with a small gift from the hotel as a memento of our stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

I used to work in the hotel industry and I can be very critical when it comes to hotel standard. But I have only praise for this hotel. I stayed for 6 days ending 15/07/09, and everything from the tangibles to the untangibles were great. The receptionists were courteous at all times. The housekeeping was efficient. The restaurant staff most obliging - how many 3* hotels would cook the eggs to your order there and then?

One slight problem if you are checking in during summer is that the curtains are thin and unlined. Someone mentioned it here before and so I took along my own eyeshade in case I wanted to sleep in.

I would definitely recommend it for its location, cleanliness, friendliness and last but not least, value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I have just come back from a 4 days holidays in Krakow and I had an excellent stay in Wielopole.
This hotel is in the city centre, very close to the most important point of interest in the city, as well as to restaurants and other amenities, so that you can easily explore the monuments and the nightlife.
The rooms are very clean and tidy.
Staff is simply great. I often travel for work and I have never met such a helpful and friendly staff like the one in Wielopole.
Should I come back to Krakow I would definitely choose the Wielopole again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo_Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel about 2 years ago, and was just recently remembering my trip and wanted to post a review.

I found the Wielopole hotel to be quite lovely, and enjoyed my stay very much. Having never been to Krakow before, I was able to take a bus from the train station, get off when it looked like we were in the city center and wander until I found the hotel. It is very centrally located, and was great for walking to all of the attractions and bars in Krakow.

The room was a decent size with two twin beds pushed together, and a TV and a desk and wardrobe. The bathrom was small, that is my only complaint, but I wasn't expecting much. Pretty standard for a budget European hotel.

The downstairs of the hotel has a breakfast area where we were able to sit and play games on evening, without even ordering anything to eat or drink. Quite friendly staff.

Also, the hotel sends me a Christmas card every year, which always makes me smile!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We visited Krakow in January but our room at the Holiday Inn was 2*not 5* as some agencies rate it.
The Wielopole is opposite the Holiday Inn so great location,Rynek,Wawel Castle and Jewish Quarter an esy walk away.
The hotel has a small recepton area with free coffee,tea and biscuits available and helpful and smiley receptionists. Our room was medium sized and simle but airy with french windows onto a small balcony. Thought had gone into the planning. The air conditioning worked a treat and cooled or heated the room in minutes. A separate radiator kept the bathroom warm. Decent wardrobe space and separate hooks for outdoor or wet clothes. The bathroomhad a good power shower with a large shower tray. There was room for toiletries and plenty of hooks for towels andsponge bags. Strangely no shower cap - more helpful than providing shampoo! . The curtians were unlined which could prove a problem in Summer for those that need darkness to sleep.
This hotel would be our choice if we visit again. I t more than earns it's 3*
Polselska street:across the ring road and go left diagonally through Planty there is a road of restuarants. We ate at a Polish one at the far end. An Italian halfway along , full of locals and at the near enda Polish?Hungarian one with brilliant Hungarian food and nrxt door Paese which had just reopened and where we had a three course meal with wine for £30 for two which would have cost well over £100 in London.
INFORMATION- The Jewish Quarter closes down on a Tuesday.The alterpiece at St Mary,s is opened 10 minutes after the church opens with a small fanfare. A magical moment.
Sall golf trollies are used for sightseeing if needed (in rain). They are very reasonable with commentary. Our guide turned it off sometimes to practice his English and was very informative. No name but if his face lights up when you mention The Wars of The Roses you have the right guy

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wielopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wielopole Hotel

Property: Wielopole Hotel
Address: ul. Wielopole 3, Krakow 31-072, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Krakow
#12 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#17 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wielopole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Polish hospitality, European standard, comfort in the most elegant fashion, pleasant atmosphere and cordial staff – Wielopole in a discreet and successful way combines all these advantages and wins the recognition of customers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wielopole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wielopole Krakow
Wielopole Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing