We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”
Review of Wielopole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wielopole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I used to work in the hotel industry and I can be very critical when it comes to hotel standard. But I have only praise for this hotel. I stayed for 6 days ending 15/07/09, and everything from the tangibles to the untangibles were great. The receptionists were courteous at all times. The housekeeping was efficient. The restaurant staff most obliging - how many 3* hotels would cook the eggs to your order there and then?

One slight problem if you are checking in during summer is that the curtains are thin and unlined. Someone mentioned it here before and so I took along my own eyeshade in case I wanted to sleep in.

I would definitely recommend it for its location, cleanliness, friendliness and last but not least, value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

I have just come back from a 4 days holidays in Krakow and I had an excellent stay in Wielopole.
This hotel is in the city centre, very close to the most important point of interest in the city, as well as to restaurants and other amenities, so that you can easily explore the monuments and the nightlife.
The rooms are very clean and tidy.
Staff is simply great. I often travel for work and I have never met such a helpful and friendly staff like the one in Wielopole.
Should I come back to Krakow I would definitely choose the Wielopole again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo_Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel about 2 years ago, and was just recently remembering my trip and wanted to post a review.

I found the Wielopole hotel to be quite lovely, and enjoyed my stay very much. Having never been to Krakow before, I was able to take a bus from the train station, get off when it looked like we were in the city center and wander until I found the hotel. It is very centrally located, and was great for walking to all of the attractions and bars in Krakow.

The room was a decent size with two twin beds pushed together, and a TV and a desk and wardrobe. The bathrom was small, that is my only complaint, but I wasn't expecting much. Pretty standard for a budget European hotel.

The downstairs of the hotel has a breakfast area where we were able to sit and play games on evening, without even ordering anything to eat or drink. Quite friendly staff.

Also, the hotel sends me a Christmas card every year, which always makes me smile!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We visited Krakow in January but our room at the Holiday Inn was 2*not 5* as some agencies rate it.
The Wielopole is opposite the Holiday Inn so great location,Rynek,Wawel Castle and Jewish Quarter an esy walk away.
The hotel has a small recepton area with free coffee,tea and biscuits available and helpful and smiley receptionists. Our room was medium sized and simle but airy with french windows onto a small balcony. Thought had gone into the planning. The air conditioning worked a treat and cooled or heated the room in minutes. A separate radiator kept the bathroom warm. Decent wardrobe space and separate hooks for outdoor or wet clothes. The bathroomhad a good power shower with a large shower tray. There was room for toiletries and plenty of hooks for towels andsponge bags. Strangely no shower cap - more helpful than providing shampoo! . The curtians were unlined which could prove a problem in Summer for those that need darkness to sleep.
This hotel would be our choice if we visit again. I t more than earns it's 3*
Polselska street:across the ring road and go left diagonally through Planty there is a road of restuarants. We ate at a Polish one at the far end. An Italian halfway along , full of locals and at the near enda Polish?Hungarian one with brilliant Hungarian food and nrxt door Paese which had just reopened and where we had a three course meal with wine for £30 for two which would have cost well over £100 in London.
INFORMATION- The Jewish Quarter closes down on a Tuesday.The alterpiece at St Mary,s is opened 10 minutes after the church opens with a small fanfare. A magical moment.
Sall golf trollies are used for sightseeing if needed (in rain). They are very reasonable with commentary. Our guide turned it off sometimes to practice his English and was very informative. No name but if his face lights up when you mention The Wars of The Roses you have the right guy

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Hotel Weilopole is in an excellent location, within a five minute walk of the old town area and a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. It offered free wireless internet access in the room, along with good air conditioning. The room was clean. The pictures of the rooms on-line do not do them justice.
My husband and I stayed for only one night there unexpectedly. We had originally booked a Romance Package at Hotel Amber to celebrate our wedding anniversary (for 113 euros). But when we arrived at Amber, they apologetically informed us that we could not stay there, as the previous occupants of the room we had been assigned had broken the bed and no other room was available. Hotel Amber then paid a taxi to take us to Hotel Wielopole, its sister hotel, for the same package. We really enjoyed our short stay there! A bottle of sparkling wine and a large box of chocolates were already waiting in our room. At breakfast, we were pleasantly surprised that they had set up a table for us, with fresh rose petals sprinkled on it. They also surprised us with large fruit-cup treats. When we checked out, they gave us a little print of a painting of Krakow. People were extremely friendly, polite, and helpful. We would like to stay there again if we return to Krakow.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTM_Lucky_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Centrally located, comfy and quiet, great service, helpful staff. Near to city center and Kazmierez. Hotel appears brand new as everything is new inside, very clean......quiet, Nice breakfast from 7-11, free cookies and coffee and tea during the day till around 5:00m. Walking distance ( a minute ) to the tram stop. Staff helpful so you know which tram to take. Slept very well without any noise or disturbance. Didnt hear any guests and windows really thick so you dont hear any ouside noise at all.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank Bavavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had a great stay in this hotel. It's in a really central position and handy for everything. We asked for, and were given, a quiet, non-smoking room. The air conditioning worked well and wasn't too noisy. We had a twin room - one bed was comfortable, but the other had springs sticking through the mattress, which made for a fairly uncomfortable night. I'm sure this would have been rectified if we had complained, but as we were only staying three nights we just took turns of the uncomfortable one!! The staff were a little slow in replenishing the hot water and bread at breakfast, but all the staff were very pleasant. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to friends. Loved the City and really enjoyed the cafe culture. The main purpose of our trip was to visit Auschwitz. It was very harrowing but we're so glad we went. Words can't describe how we felt about it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knoxfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#14 of 267 in Krakow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 267 in Krakow
1,367 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#41 of 267 in Krakow
2,167 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 267 in Krakow
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wielopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wielopole Hotel

Address: ul. Wielopole 3, Krakow 31-072, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Krakow
#9 Business Hotel in Krakow
#12 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $62 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wielopole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Polish hospitality, European standard, comfort in the most elegant fashion, pleasant atmosphere and cordial staff – Wielopole in a discreet and successful way combines all these advantages and wins the recognition of customers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wielopole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wielopole Krakow
Wielopole Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing