We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice simple hotel”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #138 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice simple hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a simple 3* hotel set in the old Jewish Quarter of Krakow - with some splendid bars and restaurants in the area.

Rooms are large, air conditioned and simply furnished and the en-suite provides a good shower with gels and shampoos replenished daily. Beds are firm but comfortable and bottled water is provided daily.

Breakfast is ample with a wide range of cold meats/cheese and salad, plus hot eggs and sausages, together with cereals and yoghurt / fresh fruit + croissants / pastries. Hot drinks is a selection of teas and filtered coffee.

Would be nice to have hot drinks available in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBCEM2DAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    110
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
53
100
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful this hotel is.
At three stars you expect basic service, rooms and food but it really was so much better.
The staff would really go above and beyond to help us - very friendly and all English speaking.
They were more than happy to make us a packed lunch the day we visited Auschwitz.
The breakfast is more than good. A fantastic spread which we definitely made the most of!!

The location is also great, 15 minutes walk from the main square, a walk which allows you to see a bit more of Krakow rather than being right in the middle. The hotel was cheap also!

The room was a good size, bathroom was huge with a really good shower.

We really could not fault this hotel at all. The only thing I would change would've been to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but sometimes we called reception to ask for drinks and they always brought them up promptly.

Hotel Astoria is brilliant ... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom140394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a fantastic Hotel. Clean and tidy.All staff so polite.The breakfast is just superb. If you eat in on an evening the food is so good. I felt I was right in the middle of Jewish History. I will stay again with these people. First class. Philip Kidd

Room Tip: Take your own Travel Kettle and mugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's a fairly basic hotel but we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and the shower was great. The breakfast buffet was good and the evening meal was plain but not bad. I really liked the location, the street was full of quirky little shops and bars and very central.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Myself and my mother recently booked with Escape to Poland to visit Auschwitz and as part of the package we were booked into The Astoria, what a little gem of a place!, just outside the old Jewish quarter and within walking distance of everything you can want to see on a visit, surrounded by beautiful old buildings, little bars and restaurants, and overlooking the market square.
Immaculately clean, brilliant food cooked fresh to order, the breakfast selection was spot on and the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was large so plenty of space and a large shower room, the only thing i would have liked to have was tea/coffee facilities in our room, however, room service is available.
On the whole a brilliant hotel from arrival to departure, HIGHLY RECOMMEND :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debsyHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in the Astoria for 5 nights and have to say it was excellent value for money. We didn't pay very much and thus we're not expecting much in return but the hotel was clean. The staff where friendly and more than helpful. The room was of a great size the bathroom was adequate with a brilliant powerful and got shower. Breakfast in the mornings was suitable for most people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back ! Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very dated rooms. Everything was clean. Ample breakfast. No tea or coffee in room. The greatest thing is it's location. Some great restaurants around and very bohemian shops. About 20 minutes walk to main square.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoakesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Karmel Hotel
Karmel Hotel
#136 of 259 in Krakow
92 reviews
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#49 of 259 in Krakow
561 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#72 of 259 in Krakow
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aparthotel Miodowa
#89 of 259 in Krakow
128 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz II
Hotel Kazimierz II
#94 of 259 in Krakow
332 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Miodosytnia
Aparthotel Miodosytnia
#157 of 259 in Krakow
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: ul. Jozefa 24, Krakow 31-056, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing