We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice excursion to see the panorama of Krakow...”

Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki)
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.79*
and up
Krakow Off The Route
Ranked #39 of 280 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Erected by Cracovians in memory of Polish national leader Tadeusz Kosciuszko, a serpentine path leads to the top, approximately 326 meters (1,070 feet) above sea level, with a panoramic view of the Vistula River and the city.
Czestochowa, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A nice excursion to see the panorama of Krakow...”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This mound on Sikornik hill commemorates Andrzej Tadeusz Bonawentura Kościuszko, a Polish and American general, which is a national hero of Poland, Lithuania and United States.
From this mound can be seen panorama of Krakow - the former capital of Polish. For generations of Poles in captivity, it was a symbol of independence and a sign of hope and faith in the independence.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    135
    27
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you have free time during your trip to Krakow and the weather is great go there. View is wonderfull, you can see all city. There is no elevator but going up is nice. Around Mound there is park which is also very nice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Best panoramic view of Krakow”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took the #100 bus from Salwator up to the mound, which was a short ride. We were glad that we did so instead of walking as it's quite uphill for a four year old child.

The mound itself has a short staircase up and then follows a winding path which circles around the mound to the top. It's a fairly easy climb for anyone in good physical condition. Our child absolutely loved running around the circular paths, so we can easily understand why it's featured on the children's site list. However, note that the path doesn't have a guard rail and the sides are quite steep, so it's not for small children who may not be able to manage the edges by themselves.

The view from the top is spectacular and surprisingly high over Krakow. We went on a cloudy day and could still see for many miles. The old town, castle, and river were easy to spot, as was a monastery on the hill in the opposite direction. The only disappointment is seeing a nuclear power plant right behind the castle from this vantage point.

We only spent 30 minutes, which is the elapsed time between the bus dropping us off and the next bus departing, else we would have had to stay for 90 minutes. There was a museum on site, which we skipped.

All in all, this was a pleasant use of an hour with a surprisingly wonderful view, so we would recommend going as long as the weather permits. Stay away in very inclement weather.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice walk from Old Town”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We walked along the river to Salwator to see the mound. It took about 20 minutes from the Castle area but there is quite a hill to climb just to get to the mound so you may want to take a bus. The mound and surrounding walls were worth the walk but we did not go to the top of the mound or into the museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMarcWirralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place to see panorama view of Krakow”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Important place for polish people. This is a monument one of the biggest polish hero Tadeusz Kościuszko. It was build by the citizens by hand only.
Only interesting thing in this place is panorama view. The best is from the meadow below mound.

Helpful?
Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki) also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing