We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and cheap!”
Review of Moon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moon Hostel
Ranked #89 of 465 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the moon hostel for the weekend of the 31st May and the hostel was clean, tidy and most of all cheap for a group of friends. Towels are provided but the big rooms arent cleaned during the stay and could have done with a freshen up! The bathroom facilities were good and so were the shared facilities for tea and coffee although you had to be an early bird to catch the milk!

All in all for circa £30 each for 3 nights you couldnt ask for much more if a basic place to put your head within 10-15 minutes walk of the main sqaure or 5 minutes of Kazimierz - We took taxis to the main square which was between 10-20 zloty and very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0M_ARMSTR0NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed twice in this hostel and have good memory . Welcoming nice,smiling girl on reception answered all our questions ,quick check in,and extra towels no problem with this.
Room was tidy and big enough for a couple, with nice decorating walls,shower was clean and everthing worked correctly.Kitchen on ground floor with tea bags ,sugar nad coffee.Hostel is located 5 min form Karimierz ,where you can find a lot of restaurants and bars ,and polish famous 'Zapiekanki'.15 min walk to Royal castel , mian raylway station and Old Town .Overall I would recommend this hostel .Good value for money

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed in Moon Hostel New with a group of friends at the beginning of April 2013. We have found it an excellent value for money as the prices are very affordable and you can significantly lower your spend if you share a room between 3 or 4 of you (there are various room sizes available which another advantage of this hostel). The rooms are very clean (and each room has its own bathroom), the WiFi is very fast and for free, there is complimentary tea and coffee available in the kitchen, and the service is very professional. The only drawback (for some) can be the fact that you need to take a 10-15 min walk from there to the main square (although there are some very good pubs in the historical quarter of Kazimierz where the hostel is located).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Basic, clean and tidy. Overall we thought it was good value for money and would go again. The staff were nice and happy to tell you we're to go in the local area. There are quite a few stairs which can be tough if you have lots of heavy bags.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepid500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

the location is ok for visiting Krakow: a 15 minutes walk to the Old Town Market and a 5 minutes walk to the Castle, and there are a lot of nice places to eat near by. The hostel has a parking lot, we paid 25 pln/day. The rooms are ok, very clean, nice furniture, the heating is working very well. There is a common kitchen on every floor which is very well equiped.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hostel was very nice. It is a little hidden with all the other buildings, but we eventually found it. There were also small convenient stores near by, so that helped us get water and small snacks, which was nice. The weird thing was that this hostel is built up rather than wide. So it was hard to drag all our big luggage with us (5 with us at this time so had one big bag as well as a few own personal bags). At the check in, the people were very nice. I give their service 5 stars. They helped us with the bags, gave us great directions, and just very nice to foreigners.

Room:
We got two rooms because they were sold out of rooms meant for 5 or more. They both had 3 beds in it, so used the last for random things and luggage. They rooms were a little small. There was also a tv in the rooms, but don't understand Polish....so no use! There were bunk beds in both rooms. Not a lot of space to walk. But the rooms were clean and the beds
comfortable.

Location:
The hostel is close to old market square, which has lots of interesting things to do! We walked there so it was very close. And the other main reason we were there was for Auschwitz, which is in a different city and an hour away. We took a personal taxi guy we met- again, great service! Go Poles!

Bathroom:
Different conception at the hostel. It's a community bath, but a single one. There were two or three on each floor so we had to wait since it was a one person bathroom. But, they kept it clean...even between peoples showers- which was very nice! They also made sure we had hot water and soap and all the works.

Other amenities:
There was not free breakfast or free wifi here. Nor was there a common room at this hostel, but we still very much enjoyed the stay due to their warm welcome.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd3sai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, found the place to be basic but clean and the shared facilities were kept in good order. Quite noisy from the street outside so some ear plugs is a must. Only 10 minutes walk to the main square so the local is handy and also a supermarket next door which is open till 10pm for water/snacks. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chilled-adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Premium Hostel
#32 of 465 in Krakow
181 reviews
Kazimierz
Good Bye Lenin - Pub & Garden Hostel!
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 267 in Krakow
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Krakow Centrum
#63 of 267 in Krakow
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hostel

Address: UL. Halicka 11, Krakow 31-036, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 465 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $22 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Moon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing