We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up there among the best places to stay in Krakow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Krakow
Ranked #38 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is possibly the best high-end place to stay in Krakow. It was very conveniently located near the center, and had all the services one would expect of a Sheraton hotel and the level of service to go with it. Despite being in the city center, the sound insulation was perfect. The interior atrium was amazing and the rooms were spotlessly clean and everything worked.
The only negatives are centered around value. There is a constant nickle-and-diming for extras that seems obligitatory for all business hotels. The fitness and wellness center is inadequately sized. The breakfast and brunch are horrendously overpriced (although the presentation, quality, and service were very good), especially considering other restaurants in the immediate area. In-room internet costs too much (athough wi-fi is free in the lobby). The rooms were functional rather than inspirational.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuttgartReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

The Sheraton Hotel is situated on the river under Wavel Hill and within walking distance of all the main sights in the city. The service we received was excellent, the staff were both professional and helpful and went beyond the call of duty in tracing my daughter when her flights were disrupted by bad weather. Nothing was too difficult, dining venues were recommended and booked; tours were organised and taxis sent to the airport. The rooms were excellent, bright, cheerful and quiet. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LythamStAnnesGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Very good hotel in a great location (close to the Wawel castle and old town). Located on the banks of the Vistula River, some rooms overlook the river and the castle.
Room large and well equipped (although the old-style TV, not LCD). Bathroom with bath and shower. The rooms and public areas very clean. Staff friendly and willing to help. I recommend this hotel for business trips and private (close to tourist attractions).
Near the train station (Krakow Glowny) - 15 minutes by taxi or 1 / 2 hour on foot or by public transport (approx. 2 km). From the station the train leaves the airport in Balice (Cracow Airport) every 30 minutes - journey time 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaLodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Swift professional check in and upgraded to DLX room. Nice bar with friendly service and tasty food on offer. Room was comfortable and clean with good facilities. Breakfast was nice with a good selection on offer. Location seemed good but was there on business.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomchaiBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodHotelsPoland, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear SomchaiBKK and TripAdvisor’s users,

I am pleased to learn that you appreciated both the facilities and service quality with us. We are especially glad you liked the selection at breakfast, as our Executive Chef puts a lot of emphasis into this. We hope to welcome you back here, either on business again or maybe also on a private stay.

Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed in a deluxe room for 2 nights having got a great rate via Expedia. Rooms were large and had a lovely view across the river. Bathroom was also a good size, with a gret shower & lovely toiletries. Very good central location, close to the Wawel (2 mins) and the old town/square (10 mins walk). We didn't eat at the hotel but used the Sports Bar both evenings for a drink as we arrived back at the hotel. As you expect with a 5*, prices were similar to those in England but service was excellent and we had the opportunity to chat to other residents & also locals using the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaoBella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodHotelsPoland, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear CiaoBella13 and TripAdvisor’s users

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you appreciated the location of the hotel, the bathroom and the amenities as well as our culinary quality. The SomePlace Else Sports Bar is both a place for having a drink only or enjoying dinner in an informal atmosphere, but in any case designed to be a place to connect with others and glad you enjoyed doing so with both other hotel guests and locals.

Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Excellent hotel, great location and great service throughtout our stay. The Staff were pleasent and very helpful. They all spoke excellent english so no communication problems here.
Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice and again service here was excellent. American bar food was good, a bit pricy for what was served.
Santa delivered a Christmas Stocking packed with goodies in the night which I thought was a lovely touch.
Would definately stay here again, walking distance to all the sights.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omaghlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodHotelsPoland, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear Omaghlass and TripAdvisor’s users,

I very much appreciate you took yourself the time to share feedback about your stay with us!
As service is of highest importance to us I am delighted to learn that you perceived our team members so positively and liked our 'Santa stockings' surprise.

Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I agree with some of the other reviewers here that this is a business-oriented hotel - very pleasant, but lacking the "extras" that would make it 5 stars.

This was my first trip to Krakow, and the description of the location made it sound a lot better than it really is. The riverfront is nice, but a location nearer the main market square would have been a lot nicer (and more in keeping with the description of the hotel). I combined business with weekend pleasure, and would have enjoyed a more central location.

I did not try the horribly expensive breakfast buffet ... and in general, I detest the practice of holding overnight guests hostage to high prices. A wonderful breakfast at a heated outdoor cafe on the market square was a small fraction of what the Sheraton was demanding. Prices in the bar were also way too high, but the service there was friendly and prompt. The "light fare" was fine, but certainly not a "value".

All in all, I would probably recommend the hotel for first-time American travelers looking for something not too exotic, but I plan to look elsewhere when I return in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#49 of 262 in Krakow
517 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 262 in Krakow
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#43 of 262 in Krakow
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Krakow

Address: ul. Powisle 7, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Krakow
#5 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $100 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Krakow 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Hotel located in the very heart of the city, at the foot of The Royal Wawel Castle & next to Wisla Bulevards. Sheraton Grand Krakow is steps from the most important tourist attractions in Krakow with easy access from the airport or railway station. Hotel offers 232 fully renovated guestrooms, 3 different venues with great variety of menus & beverages & one - the Roof Top Terrace & Lounge Bar - which despite the vast offer of exquisite drinks & unique menu offers the best views of Krakow. There are Club Lounge - the best place to plug in or hang out & Sheraton Fitness with indoor, heated pool, sauna & treatment room. Enrich your stay with Krakow's best view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Krakow
Krakow Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing