We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and excellent value for money.”
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sympozjum Hotel
Ranked #127 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 night to explore Krakow. The staff were very friendly and efficient . Rooms were very clean, if a little dated, bathroom was spotless and modern. The breakfast was very good, range of cereals, eggs cheese, tea and coffee. Slightly out of main town but a taxi was only 20pln (around £5) into town. If you want to try a great polish restaurant on the main square , try Wasele. Excellent food. Must see Kazimierz the old Jewish quarter and Auschwitz-Birkanau. The hotel can arrange trips for you. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Sympozjum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 575 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our visit to Krakow was for the New Year's Eve vacation.
We were 8 people and got 4 double rooms.
Overall the staying in this hotel was good. The staff is very helpful and nice, some of our friends arrived earlier (as in 6 in the morning) and they were given the keys to their rooms, although the check in started at 14:00.
We had rooms at level 4 and so we did not have anyone above us so i don't know how you hear the upside neighbors (we enjoy the privacy and silence when we travel because a vacation is supposed to be a moment of relaxation).
The only thing bothering us to this hotel was the doors which had a device that allowed you to slam it when ever it closed. So it was kind of stressful when all the other guests came and got out of their rooms. Even the board of the bed was shaking when a door closed.
I know how this may look but it was really annoying.
The breakfast was a good one, they had all kinds of things to choose from: omelet, sausages, fish, gems, hams, cereals. I liked it because it was so diversified. What i did not like was that they did not have fruits.
The rooms were clean, they changed the towels and vacuumed if you let them, but i did not see them change the bed sheets as the flyer in the rooms said.
The spa was kind of small, the pool appears to be large but in fact it's not and the water is not very clean. The jacuzzi is like a hot tub that you can buy at a supply store, and the water is also not very clean. In the last day of the year the area to the pool closed really early.
Near the hotel there is a large supermarket and we could get from there to the center of the city in about 5 minutes, by car. It's not very far away and it;s also close to some of the tourist attraction, like Schindler's Factory.
Overall i liked the hotel, we had a nice staying, but i don't think we will come back to the same hotel if we ever return to Krakow.

Room Tip: the top rooms are quieter i think
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is in a rather residential area, so there is not much to do locally. However, it is very close to the good and very cheap tram service into the city centre. Taxis into town are also very cheap, so there is no need to feel isolated. However, if it is cold and you don't feel like going into the city, the hotel restaurant is very good, with authentic local dishes as well as the international ones. Thge standard of food and presentation is certainly to an international level and the service friendly and helpful, it is also relatively cheap! Although the hotel does not look exciting from the outside, inside it is modern, clean and roomy, with all the facilities that you need. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Overall, it is a great place to stay, despite not being in the very centre of Krakow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A taxi in to the city cost only a few Euros and only took a few minutes. Trams were at the end of the road and there is also a Tesco supermarket within a few minutes walk. Didn't visit the supermarket but did use taxis.

Hotel recpetion will book all trips for you, such as Auschwitz or the Salt Mines and the rates are very good. Picked up at the hotel but, if you are lucky are there are only a few of you (7 on our mini bus) we asked to be dropped off at the Castle. No problem.

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we travel to any city, the ‘location’ of the hotel is often paramount. The location of the Sympozjum is NOT central to Kracow Old Town and this fact may put a lot of visitors off. If you are one that likes the idea of leaving our hotel for an hour or two and then pop back to your room for a break and then head back out again…then may I suggest that this hotel is not for you. However, if you, like me, are happy to leave your hotel in the morning (after a good breakfast) and then return in the evening after a long day, then the Hotel Sympozjum is fine.
The very efficient tram system (No 18 or 52) leave the stop just outside the hotel every 5 min or so and within 10min you are in the Old Town. Cost 3PLN
The hotel itself has a good team on Reception, that are very willing to give advice and information.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and even thought the décor may be a little dated (very brown!) they are more than adequate for your stay. The bathroom was again very clean with plenty of hot water from the shower. They call it a ‘bathroom’ but we were told that the hotel does not have any baths, so don’t be disappointed, you’ve been warned!
One small –ve point……if the hotel is working hard to welcoming guests from the UK, it would maybe be beneficial to have one TV news channel in English, just to keep in touch with the outside world!
Being on the outskirts of the town does have its benefits thought, there was little or no noise during the night, and so we both had a very good night’s sleep!
The breakfast was fine with a good selection, but again the breakfast room was rather ‘brown’!
The Hotel Sympozjum is a good hotel for visiting Kracow and you will leave, knowing that you’ve mastered the very efficient and excellent tram Polish system during your stay.
Many Thanks Hotel Sympozjum

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hafodybryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I would reflect many of the comments by recent reviewers. This is a very well priced hotel. The rooms may be a little dated but are spotlessly clean. The bathrooms likewise. The staff are very friendly and efficient. I only ate breakfast in the hotel. There was a wide variety of cheese and cold meats etc. It was adequate but not brilliant. The hotel is a 20 minute tram ride from the old town - best option is a number 18 which takes you directly to the Old Town Square. A 72 hour ticket costs app. £6. Taxis are approximately £6 each way for the same journey. Tickets can be purchased at most stops - and dont forget to validate you ticket on the tram on your 1st trip as there are regular inspections by tram staff. I would recommend a City view room on the 4th floor. A large Tescos across the road is very handy. Wireless internet in Lobby - hard wired cable available FOC in reception for use in your room. I have used the Wentl hotel a number of times in the Old Town Square. Its app. £240 a night. Almost 5 times the price of the Sympozjum. "You pays your money and takes your choice" For me the Wentzl for special occassions but I will be returning to the Sympozjum.

Room Tip: City view 4th Floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Very warm and friendly greeting on arrival by lovely staff. Very quick check-in and escorted to our clean and spacious room. Large plate of fresh fruit brought to room very soon after arrival which was a nice touch. Our first trip to Poland so didn't know what to expect. Best described as a little dated, a bit 1970's but excellent service, very good facilities, very clean and best of all are the very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Only 12 mins on simple tram ride to the city's main market square which costs 3 Zloty ( 60p). Excellent, will happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#113 of 261 in Krakow
280 reviews
4.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#133 of 261 in Krakow
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#105 of 261 in Krakow
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxy
Hotel Galaxy
#34 of 261 in Krakow
1,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,625 reviews
4.8 mi away
Orient Hotel
Orient Hotel
#180 of 261 in Krakow
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Address: ul. Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#49 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#77 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $37 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing