We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barrie and son, & son in law - Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globtroter Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Globtroter Guest House
Ranked #3 of 125 Krakow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Barrie and son, & son in law - Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location was superb, just off the main square - accommodation was just as promised on the
web site - Peter and his staff were excellent (thanks for their help with the tours) - Would definitely recommend this small friendly hotel

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    212
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
233
126
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very nice small hotel in apartments in old Krakow villas. Pros: great location one block of Main Market Square, but on quite street, big rooms, beautiful garden on the courtyard, nice helpful service, recommended good parking for car, free wifi;
Cons: hard to find from street, be sure you are looking for house number not a sign, it is a regular gate to apartments; no toiletries in bathroom, dark in bathroom, no elevator but wide staircase.
Overall good hotel, good price we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozenaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location could not be better, right where you want to be. Staff were great, very helpful. Very old building with lots of charm however beds were very uncomfortable and there is no privacy on the balcony. Facilities very basic but acceptable for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My second visit to this guest house lived up to expectations. It is friendly, clean, brilliantly located with all that you would want and expect for a budget holiday, including wifi and computer room and generous sized bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great location right in the heart of Krakow, but secluded enough to feel off the beaten path. You could easily walk there from the train station (if you knew where you were going, which we did not), although the hotel itself is a bit hard to locate. The sign for the hotel is in a small shadow box next to the door, instead of hanging over head. Then you have to walk through a corridor to the end and buzz the front desk to let you in, then head through a garden into another building to the reception. However, after finally locating the right spot, it is absolutely worth it! We stayed in a very large room for 3 people overlooking the garden. And our room was very clean and quite. The front desk was amazingly helpful, spoke perfect english, and answered all of our questions. We even arranged our airport transfer through them, which I would recommend. It was a perfect location for walking around Krakow and everything can be reached by foot from the hotel. If I visit Krakow again, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place looked fabulous on paper, but when we had such a hard time finding the place that looked like the picture, we probably should have known better (tip: look for night club "atmo" and you'll find the buzzer this place). Of course the location is great, the price was less and the staff was as helpful as they could be considering the circumstances. However, there were other places nearby that were not that much more costly and were much better equipped.

The dated furnishings weren't an issue for me, nor were the stairs or lack of certain amenities. It's more that I think it was misrepresented with regards to the 2 things that made me pick this one over other options: outdoor space to sit, and access to do my laundry.

The tables in the lovely garden courtyard you see in the photo are not public space for the guest house... those tables belong to the night club. We were in the "old part of the building".. which meant we didn't get to the attractive garden unless we were walking past it to go to the front desk for something. There was no "laundry room", but rather a pay service for them to wash your clothes for you.

Lucky for me I still have some of my old "youth hostel" habits, and brought my own soap with me. Also bring your own tea towel unless you want to dry your coffee cup with your bath towel (eww)... needless to say, I didn't make use of the coffee/tea service. I think for $100 a night they could have done better.

Room Tip: The "newer part" might be the building you see in the photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharleneBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobtroterStaff, Owner at Globtroter Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello,
I would like to respond to your review since you seem to have had a number of problems during your stay with us.
Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing a review. We really like to hear from our guests and use their comments to improve our service.
We never knowingly misrepresent any of our details. Thus I would like to point out the following:
1. We are located in a courtyard away from a noisy street. Perhaps this is why you have had a problem in finding us.
2. The tables in the courtyard do not belong to a night club - they belong to the restaurant next door. The night club is 8 meters below the building and they have no space outside the building.
3. The restaurant is open from 9am to 8 pm every day and there is no reason why you couldn't use these tables. Any pictures that have these tables showing, belong to our guests, non of our pictures show this space as ours.
4. We do not state anywhere, that we provide a laundry room. We provide laundry service and not a laundry room.
5. I assume that your reference to your own soap refers to soap that you have used to wash your own clothes with? We provide soap in all the rooms as standard.
4. I note your comment about a tea towel. This is a first time in 10 years that anybody wanted to clean his/her own cup and saucer. Normally our cleaning staff cleans all the dishes when they do daily cleaning of the room.

Hopefully, this response have cleared some of the points you have raised. Also, I would like to take this opportunity to mention, that we would be more than happy to help you with any of the above points, if you had only mentioned any of these at the reception during your stay. If you have any further questions or suggestions please do not hesitate to contact me direct. Thank you.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Took the free shuttle bus from the airport to the train station where the train waits for the bus. Pay for train ticket via machine on board. Walked from the station to the hotel with my wheeled case at night comfortably in 10 minutes. A previous review gave a good hint about the entrance being up a corridor rather than fronting directly onto the street, but other than that the hotel’s directions were spot on and I found it easily. Good, clean pension type hotel set in an excellent location 2 mins from the magnificent square yet still peaceful. Set in its own courtyard/garden with balconies accessible to all floors, the hotel has a pleasant and pretty aspect. Loads of bars and eateries nearby – take your choice, all good. Staff extremely helpful and speak good english. Booked trip to auschwitz with them - one of their guys drove us there (me and 4 American guests) bought the tickets for us and brought us back to the hotel – all at a cheaper price than other tours - and you knew he was going to turn up. Would stay again and recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#7 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Stare Miasto
Antique Apartments Plac Szczepanski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globtroter Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globtroter Guest House

Property: Globtroter Guest House
Address: Pl. Szczepanski 7/15, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Globtroter Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Globtroter is located in a quiet courtyard in The Heart of The Old Town-80 yds from The Main Square. Our friendly, multi-lingual staff will do their utmost to make you feel that our home is your home. We provide you with comfortable rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, TV and telephone. Internet access and safe is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Globtroter Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globtroter Guest House Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing