We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation in Krakow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Classic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Classic
Ranked #147 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great vacation in Krakow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

Took taxi radio9191 from the airport to Hotel Classic for 57 zloty. The driver was young and spoke perfect english. Hotel Classic is in a great location in Old Town (Stare Miasto). Rooms are nice size but bed is small. Bathroom is nice with a new shower tube. Breakfast was egggs, bread, meats, salads, etc. A nice start to the day. Recption desk was very helpful. The first night I ate at Cherubim. Take a right out of the hotel and continue for about 5 blocks. The restaraunt is on the left. The meal was great...sirloin steak in mushroom sauce with grilled potatoes and the service was excellent. The next day I took two walking tours with cool tours. Meet at the small church (St Adalberts) in the square. The 1000 tour is to the Jewish quarter (Kasmierz) and the ghetto (Podgorze). A very interesting tour but a lot of walking. You end up in Podgorze at Schindler's factory. Take tram 13 back to the square. Buy your ticket at one of the kiosks under ground. There is a toilet (WC) faciltiy under ground as well. The second tour starts at 1400 and follows the royal road from the square to Wawel Castle. The admission fees to the castle or other attractions are not included in the cool tour ticket price (40 zloty). The tour continues around old town and ends at the Florianska St gate and barbican. The next day I took a tour to Aushwitz and Birkenau. Exit old town through the Florianska St gate, continue past the barbican and the trams/road towards the statue. On the right is a tour office and you can buy a ticket for 80 zloty. Be careful, Cracow tours has a bus stop right next door and they charge 120 Zloty. The tour starts with a movie during the 90 minute bus ride to Aushwitz #1. Aushwitz was a little different than I expected. The barbed wire fences and guard shacks were expected but the block houses were two story brick buildings. The camp is very small area. Not really what I expected. I had read about the rooms of human hair and suitcases so I was ready for that experience but I wasn't ready to see the room full of children's shoes. You spend about 90 minutes weaving your way through other tour groups. Next you take the bus to Aushwitz #2 (Birkenau). Birkenau is more like the camps I envisioned. It's huge. As far as the eye can see from the guard tower. The buildings are old horse stables that they used to house the people. It rained the day I went, which seemed appropriate. You spend about 60 minutes at Birkenau and then you head back to Krakow. The last day I went to the salt mines. Take the mini bus to the mine for 5 zloty round trip. The entrance fee to the mine is 61 zloty. Most tour companies charge 120 zloty so you save almost half. The mini buses run from the right side Starowislna St across the street from the tram stop. They have signs on the dashboard. I didn't know what to expect from the salt mine but it was very interesting. The tour starts with a descent of 380 steps. The tour weaves through different chambers containing scultures, chapels, and even a functioning church with an amazing scuplture of the Last Supper. The tour lasts 2 hours and the lift out of the mine is a claustrophobic minute. They pack you into the lift like sardines. Catch the minibus at the same location it dropped you off. As far as pubs, I loved Nic Nowegos. It was right around the corner from Hotel Classic. Strongbow for 10 zloty served by very cute bartenders. They also showed sports on a big screen TV. The owner (young guy in glasses) was very nice. He is there every night making sure things run smooth. As far as restaraunts, Florianska on Florianska St was great. I had the wild boar stroganoff and zurek soup. Both were superb. Another good restaraunt serving Polis cuisine was right across the street from the hotel on the corner. I can't remember the exact name but I think it was Zlaty. The deer roast was amazing. As far as snacks, try one of the bagels from the street vendors. They cost about 1.2 zloty. Another snack or a meal for some people is zapiekanka. It's an open faced sandwich on what seems to be french bread. They start with mushrooms and cheese and then you can add toppings. The best zapiekanka are in Kasmierz at the half-moon shaped kiosk in the square. After the snack, head across the street to the Alchemia Bar for a beer (piwo). Krakow was a great experience and I would love to go back.

Helpful?
8 Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    123
    44
    23
    10
See reviews for
26
90
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

Had a few doubts initially as the pictures didn't really do the hotel justice. Very friendly, very clean, breakfast good. Further to previous review, one pillow wasn't enough, but we asked for extra and they were delivered to our room immediately. Ideal location for Old Town. Only suggestions would be for a kettle and a fridge. Really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — friendly staff, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — no fridge/kettle
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

My wife and I spent four nights in the Classic Hotel at the end of April. It was our first visit to Krakow and we really enjoyed it. The Classic was everthing we expected, clean, friendly and ideally located. Just to thank those who advised getting the local bus to Auchswitz. For 7 zloty each way it was great value compared to advertised "tours". Be aware that it takes about 90 mins from Krakow main Bus Station. Nothing more to add about Auchswitz except a it's a must see. Incidentally we did hear birds singing on the day we visited both in Auchswitz and Birkenau. Also used small white local buses to get to the salt mines. Stops near the hotel. Reception will show you on a map. Again good value at 2.5 zloty each way. Just ask the driver if he travels to the salt mines (no obvious sign on the buses) and to let you know where to get off. Lots to see in Krakow. We just ran out of time. Plenty of nice places to eat especially around the main square. People very friendly and polite. We used Krakow Shuttle (Google) as taxi to and from the airport. They charge 60 zloty in total for up to four people. Met with name card on arrival and punctual at hotel for return journey. Drivers pleasant and helpful with luggage.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Templeogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed here for the weekend from April 6th -9th. Really convenient for Old Town and several bars/restaurants. Our room was a decent size and clean. Our room was also very quiet, facing the inenr courtyard, but as the hotel is in a relatively quiet location, I cannot understand one of the comments about the noise. Breakfast was adequate - the usual bread rolls, cheese, ham, cereals, etc. The staff were very helpful. For the cost there was nothing to complain about. Often when we do city breaks we spot other better located hotels but on this occasion we felt we'd got it right.

Meals out were very reasonable. The local fast food of pork, sausages, black pudding, cabbage etc didn't appeal to me personally though the fried cheese sold in the town square for one Polish Zloty was worth trying. We had a very nice meal at the Florianski Restaurant - with free starters. Hubby had peppered steak and I had wild boar stroganoff, followed by a shared tiramasu (huge!), all beautifully presented, 2 bottles of Polish beer and a carafe of house wine - all for 155 PZ (about £27). A few nice bars in the direct vicinity too.

The open topped bus ride and horse and carriage rides were worth the money and a great way to get your bearings though the Old Town Square is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loads of beautiful churches, the interesting Krakow Museum in the square, Wawel Castle, the Jewish Quarter - all worth seeing and easy to do in a weekend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Rodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of April 2007 on my 2nd visit to Krakow. You can't fault the location - extremely convenient and seems to be near everything. The hotel staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly. The hotel was clean and the rooms were well decorated.

We were allocated a room on the 1st floor and our room stunk of nicotine - it was ingrained into all the upholstery - you could even smell when people had just lit matches/cigarettes. I asked if we could be moved and they were happy to do that, we went to the 2nd floor - it still smelt smoky up there but we kept the windows open in the day and I had a room/fabric spray which I put to good use and it gradually subsided. I wish they had have had non-smoking floors though.

The beds could do with a touch of oil I think - endless creaking and sqeaking.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — The lack of any non-smoking rooms?
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpikeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

Classic Hotel, Krakow
March 2007

What a shame ! Hotel is very well placed, basic but clean and bathroom more than adequate. Hotel staff charming and helpful - but the noise is unacceptable - 4 nights without sleep on a busy sightseeing schedule is not good ! Too close to noisy bar and nightclub that seems to turn out at all times through the night and then the ambulances start in early hours with their sirens ! Thoroughly recommend the Auschwitz tour and the salt mine tour - try going late to avoid the queues.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BMW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krakow hotels

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Classic & would thoroughly recommend it. The location is ideal, being on a street which runs the entire width of the old town, & parallel to the market square.

There are plenty of excellent bars, cafe's & restaurants right on your doorstep (particular favourites were the Dog in the Fog pub; Cherubino restaurant & the self service snack bar just 4 doors down -can't remember the name but ideal for a cheap lunch of local food). Despite the number of bars, clubs & restaurants nearby we had no problems with noise during our stay, despite our room being at the front of the hotel.

Bedroom was a bit stark & basic but for some reason we were given a family room so we had loads of space with plenty of drawers & hanging space. Bathroom was excellent, looked brand new with large walk in shower cabinet all sparkling clean
& with loads of towels.

Breakfast was plentiful & perfectly adequate. Front desk staff extremely helpful & we were pleasantly surprised that the safety deposit boxes were provided free of charge.

I wasn't sure what to expect as this was my first trip to Poland but I really liked Krakow. The place is very attractive with plenty to see & do to keep you occupied for a few days, if not a week or more. We found everyone very pleasant & helpful.

I was surprised at the wide range of food available, all of it excellent quality & very cheap.

Would definately recommend you take a city walking tour to learn something of the history behind the city sights. We booked through the hotel & probably paid over the odds but the guide was superb & by mutual agreement extended the tour by over an hour.

Another must do is a trip to the salt mines. Take the minibus from next to the new shopping centre rather than book a tour as you will save almost half price. Mines easily accessible & not in the slightest bit claustrophobic until you get to the lift which takes you back up. Beware this is very scary!!! Having said that don;t let it put you off as the mines really are a unique & amazing sight.

We're already planning our next trip to Krakow & will definately be staying at the Classic again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trotter1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Mikolaj Hotel
#117 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Floryan
Hotel Floryan
#126 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#70 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#92 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#49 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#84 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Classic

Property: Hotel Classic
Address: ul. Sw. Tomasza nr 32, Krakow 31-027, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Classic 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Classic - a newly constructed three-star hotel, conveniently placed and with a convivial ambience. Situated in the old centre of Cracow near the central square and the ancient Sukiennice ( Cloth Hall), our hotel provides a traditional Cracow Renaissance atmosphere for our guests within the green ring which now surrounds the inner city area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing