We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zaczek Student Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Krakow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zaczek Student Hotel
Ranked #189 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are travelling on the budget this is the best place to stay!The hostel has a cheap student canteen, close to the old town (takes about 15-20 min to walk), clean and has everything you need!Oh and did I mention that it's really cheap?We booked 2 nights through their website. Definitely staying there again on my next trip to Krakow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yulia_Luky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
7
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed as part of a large party performing as part of a music festival so the hotel was chosen to keep costs down and be convenient for Krakow old town. Rooms were large with small ensuite bathrooms a wardrobe and a kettle. Not at all luxurious but perfectly clean and comfortable. Rooms over the bar areas could be noisy - we were there for five nights and one night was very noisy when the bar was full and celebrations went on well into early morning - however ear plugs solved that problem. Probably best to ask for a room away from the bars and the night club.

The tram from the old town stops very close to the hotel or you could walk into the centre in about 15 mins.

The hotel staff all spoke English and were very helpful and friendly.

Altogether excellent value for money and very convenient.

Room Tip: Try to avoid those near the bars and night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silvertraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Room had basic equipment - bed, sink, kettle, cupboard, radio. Not much more and not too cozy. The location is quite nice, depends what you expect. It is a short walk from the Old Town and near bus/tram stops - good connection to different places of Kraków.If you're eating out and partying outside - quite nice place to sleep :).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanderLBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

It is a very clean and newly refurbished hotel. The location is excellent as it is a short stroll from the city centre. But there is a huge minus to it. It is extremely loud. Some rooms are located right above Rotunda student's night club, and I wouldn't really mind the noise (good old ear plugs) but it was loud to the point that the walls were shaking.....

So when you book the room make sure to ask for one not above Rotunda Club or Zaczek Student Club (yes there are actually two clubs in the building).

Despite the noise I would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniekaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

We were a party of two adults & two children staying at the Zaczek. We found it very convenient as we booked 2 adjoining ensuite rooms, which were conveniently linked by internal telephone.
The first impresion of the hotel, i.e. the lobby, looks basic,but the rooms themselves are clean & comfortable & the bathrooms look fairly recently refurbished, with decent towels provided.
There is a canteen type cafe in the same building (different entrance from the street) where we ate delicious breakfasts at very reasonable prices (the menu was also displayed in English). There is also a student bar with outdoor tables, invaluable when travelling with children as they could sit with us drinking their ice tea, while we adults sampled the vodka.
The hotel about is about 10 minutes walk from the historic centre of old Krakow. We also found its location useful as there is a regular minibus service from the Orbis hotel opposite, to the Wieliczka salt mine, a sight worth seeing. And from just outside the Zaczek you can catch a local bus to 'Las Wolski' a beautiful, forested park just outside the centre, where it was lovely to stroll when the kids had had enough of tourist sight seing.
The staff at the Zaczek were laid back,friendly & helpful. Many spoke English. We asked to use the hotel safe & felt happy to leave a few valuables there.
Overall, our stay at Zaczek was excellent. The price is good, considering the nearness to the city centre & we were very happy with the standard of the rooms. As I said, I think this hotel is very convenient for families as well as other types of tourists. If you want comfort & value for money you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — Pleasant & clean rooms, convenient location
  • Disliked — maybe the left luggage & reception was a bit hit & miss, but it is a 'Student' hotel.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AniaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#22 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Hostel Faust
#203 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Metropolis Design Hotel
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Krakow Centrum
#65 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Kossak Hotel
Kossak Hotel
#17 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaczek Student Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaczek Student Hotel

Property: Zaczek Student Hotel
Address: al. 3 Maja 5, Krakow 30-063, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing