We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic place to sleep.”
Review of Petrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petrus Hotel
Ranked #112 of 265 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived late on a Saturday evening. As the taxi drove down the side streets, I thought 'what have we done', the area at night looked dodgy, in daylight it was fine, some building work going on in the area, but builders did not disturb us. The hotel is clean, the décor is bland and inoffensive. Staff were nice and friendly. Our rooms were on the third floor. There is no lift, so we felt it after a long day of sight seeing. The hall lights work on sensors, and give you plenty of time. The light was out for the last flight of stairs, but was repaired during our stay.
The rooms are basic, there is a TV, but no coffee/tea facilities. There are no hairdryers. These last 2 points would really up the overall experience. The beds are closer to the sort you would find in a hostel. Basic, not very comfortable, with bedding that doesn't quite fit, although we managed to tuck the nylon bedspreads in to keep our feet covered, as the quilts were not long enough (I am only 5'6" so not a giant). Bathroom was fine. Prior to going I had seen some reviews saying that the showers were mouldy, I saw one spot on the sealant in the bottom corner, not a problem.
Breakfast is a buffet style, and a large choice. Typical cold meats, cheese. Some scrambled eggs and hot dogs, yoghurts, fruit and cake.
The hotel is 3 min walk from the bus stop (straight out the hotel and turn right at the car lot, you will see the stop on your right at the main road junction) Take this bus 1 or 3 stops to get to tram for centre. The tram stop 'Zakopane' is 10 min walk away (Go past bus stop and walk to next main junction, cross over to get tram to town) There is a short cut from hotel to tram. Turn right out of hotel, follow that road past the houses on your right and small wooded rough ground on right, it joins the main road which you follow to the main junction.
Not a bad hotel, we only needed it to sleep in as we were planning to see/do as much as possible while we were in Krakow. It ticked all the boxes we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betinabahumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Friendly ,helpful basic hotel 30mins walk to old city along the river or bus stop 4 mins. Taxis only £3 to £5 depending on time
Food tasty and good value.pleasant helpful staff
Would recommend and use again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpetrus1, Kierownik recepcji at Petrus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for such a nice review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Hotel is a good half hour walk from the Main square. It is however quite pleasant to walk there along the riverside path. If you prefer top go by taxi its only approx 20 zloty (approx £4). There is a tram stop nearby which we didn't use. Although our booking had specifically asked for our 3 rooms to be adjacent to each other we were in fact all given rooms on different floors. Our room was on the top (3rd) floor. NB There is no lift. All the rooms don't have any tea or coffee making facilities. Our curtains wouldn't shut properly. Also a couple of lights weren't working, the shower gel dispenser was dilapidated and the bathroom window wouldn't shut. The buffet breakfast was OK. It was however a bit annoying to have a local radio station being broadcast in the breakfast area playing music more suited to a nightclub. On the plus side the hotel is just a couple of minutes away from a lovely big park with woods which was a great place to go for a run (or cycle).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAJA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpetrus1, Kierownik recepcji at Petrus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your opinions. It will help us to improve our standards. Thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The friendly and helpful staff make this feel like my second home, always welcoming night or day. A comfortable room, a good and varied buffet breakfast, good dining at modest cost ...and all in a peaceful and beautiful location..both a good walk along the river or transport just a few hundred yards away take me into the centre of the wonderful city of Kracow..A great holiday destination for a few days or longer.. Keith.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival at the Petrus hotel, our party of 11 were told that the hotel had overbooked on the last 2 nights of our stay and 2 of our party would be moved to another hotel. A group of 55 students from Norway were arriving and other guests also had to be moved to other hotels. We were also told that the dining room would be closed to other guests on those 2 nights to accommodate the students and our breakfast sitting was put at 9.00am only. Needless to say the hotel was also quite noisy on the said nights. I must say that the staff were helpful and friendly but it was an inconvenience that 2 of our party had to move.
As a positive the rooms at the hotel were adequate, clean but basic. We mostly used taxis to and from the hotel as this was a cheap way of transport. Breakfast was good with a good variety of both hot and cold food.
We loved the city of Krakow and the Polish people were very friendly.

Room Tip: If booking a double room make sure the bed is bigger than 4 foot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishlass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not worth the 3 stars. There were 9 people in our party, 3 twin rooms and 1 room with 3 beds put in it for 3 adult women!!! For a week. Their bathroom had no blind , curtain up at the window, they had to request something put up at it. They had paid a lot of good money - as we all had but they were really worse off .They complained that the carpet smelt of wet dog.
At least our bedding was clean and the shower was easy to use.
The breakfast was quite good, there was only 1 instance where our group had to request the breakfast be replenished as other guest had eaten most off it !!.
We did walk into Krackow a lot of the time ( had blisters to prove it ) the taxis were ripping us off .
The only taxi that charged the correct price used his satnav which made a difference of 8 slotties.Maybe only a few but 4 times a day in a week soon adds up! Out of your holiday allowance. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: No disrespects to the lead booker of our trip but I would stay a little more central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was not central but it was within a short walk from Tram 52 stop that leaves you in 15 minutes by the center.
It stops in front of the train and bus station (We took a taxi the 1st day, expensive!).
*see note on end.

It has a restaurant however its overpriced in relation to the restaurants in the city, in the end of the street there is a pizzeria, cheap with tasty pizzas and local food. Beer is also half the price there, they have a very nice outdoor area.

We stay one day in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor and small maintenance work was required. (broken hanger, busted lights, soap dispensers broken, etc...).
The regular rooms are nice, but have no bathtub and lacking large bed sheets, using small ones instead.

The neighborhood is quiet, perfect for relaxing after a day sightseeing.

Breakfast was included and it was of good quality and well stocked.
(As a public health officer I don't advise the un-refrigerated yogurts in the line.)
The lady that cleans up and refills the line was very nice and friendly, hard working and deserved a good tip from us. (3 days we stayed there)

Reception staff needs to cheer up a bit. But they are helpful, although scarce in providing information...

* Tram 15, get out of the Hotel take the second street on the left and walk for about 5 minutes. Ask reception staff for details, do not take the bus (it was near a lake where many murders have occurred in the past!).

Its a 3 star so expect a 3 star hotel. It was cheap, so overall I am satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Perla Hotel
#104 of 265 in Krakow
157 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#106 of 265 in Krakow
253 reviews
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#107 of 265 in Krakow
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#12 of 265 in Krakow
505 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#66 of 265 in Krakow
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrus Hotel

Address: ul. Jana Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $27 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petrus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming You to the Royal City of Krakow, we invite You to the Petrus Hotel, situated amidst recreational areas of Twardowski Rocks Park. The Hotel is situated merely 1.5Km from The Royal Wawel Castle and a very City Centre, in a peacefull park areas. The combination of comfort, domestic atmosphere, superb cuisine and proffesional service guarantees either family vacation or business/ integrational stay. We provide our guests with 27 comfortably furnished rooms. Each of them is equipped with bathroom, phone and TV set. We may also deliver to the room iron, ironing board, hairdryer on request, and, after prior agreement, a bed for our smallest guests. There is also a cozy restaurant in the hotel, serving dishes of both: polish and international cuisine. Professional and friendly service will turn Your entire stay in Petrus Hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing