We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel but overbooked”
Review of Petrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petrus Hotel
Ranked #100 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel but overbooked”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival at the Petrus hotel, our party of 11 were told that the hotel had overbooked on the last 2 nights of our stay and 2 of our party would be moved to another hotel. A group of 55 students from Norway were arriving and other guests also had to be moved to other hotels. We were also told that the dining room would be closed to other guests on those 2 nights to accommodate the students and our breakfast sitting was put at 9.00am only. Needless to say the hotel was also quite noisy on the said nights. I must say that the staff were helpful and friendly but it was an inconvenience that 2 of our party had to move.
As a positive the rooms at the hotel were adequate, clean but basic. We mostly used taxis to and from the hotel as this was a cheap way of transport. Breakfast was good with a good variety of both hot and cold food.
We loved the city of Krakow and the Polish people were very friendly.

Room Tip: If booking a double room make sure the bed is bigger than 4 foot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishlass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    124
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
38
122
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not worth the 3 stars. There were 9 people in our party, 3 twin rooms and 1 room with 3 beds put in it for 3 adult women!!! For a week. Their bathroom had no blind , curtain up at the window, they had to request something put up at it. They had paid a lot of good money - as we all had but they were really worse off .They complained that the carpet smelt of wet dog.
At least our bedding was clean and the shower was easy to use.
The breakfast was quite good, there was only 1 instance where our group had to request the breakfast be replenished as other guest had eaten most off it !!.
We did walk into Krackow a lot of the time ( had blisters to prove it ) the taxis were ripping us off .
The only taxi that charged the correct price used his satnav which made a difference of 8 slotties.Maybe only a few but 4 times a day in a week soon adds up! Out of your holiday allowance. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: No disrespects to the lead booker of our trip but I would stay a little more central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria District, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was not central but it was within a short walk from Tram 52 stop that leaves you in 15 minutes by the center.
It stops in front of the train and bus station (We took a taxi the 1st day, expensive!).
*see note on end.

It has a restaurant however its overpriced in relation to the restaurants in the city, in the end of the street there is a pizzeria, cheap with tasty pizzas and local food. Beer is also half the price there, they have a very nice outdoor area.

We stay one day in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor and small maintenance work was required. (broken hanger, busted lights, soap dispensers broken, etc...).
The regular rooms are nice, but have no bathtub and lacking large bed sheets, using small ones instead.

The neighborhood is quiet, perfect for relaxing after a day sightseeing.

Breakfast was included and it was of good quality and well stocked.
(As a public health officer I don't advise the un-refrigerated yogurts in the line.)
The lady that cleans up and refills the line was very nice and friendly, hard working and deserved a good tip from us. (3 days we stayed there)

Reception staff needs to cheer up a bit. But they are helpful, although scarce in providing information...

* Tram 15, get out of the Hotel take the second street on the left and walk for about 5 minutes. Ask reception staff for details, do not take the bus (it was near a lake where many murders have occurred in the past!).

Its a 3 star so expect a 3 star hotel. It was cheap, so overall I am satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel as part of a deal for a five day break for our wedding anniversary. We arrived at the hotel just before 9.30pm, the hotel seemed deserted apart from a very polite lady at reception. We were told the times of breakfast and that the restaurant was open until 10pm each night (it was already closed ). We asked if we could have a drink at the bar, to our surprise this was just a corner area of the restaurant with a beer tap and a fridge. We were given our key to room 16, the first thing I checked out was the bathroom which was not very clean. The shower had a lot of black mould in the crevices and over the top of the shower doors. There were soap dispensers on the walls which were empty and the towel rail next to the toilet had exposed wiring. There was a small dead fly by the tap on the sink as well as one on the shelve, these remained there every day of our stay despite the rooms being serviced every day. The room did not have a hair dryer or any tea and coffee facilities. Furthermore, the sheet on the double bed was too small, it was about 6 inches shorter than the length of the mattress and it was too short all around to be tucked in. I asked the receptionist for another sheet and I would put it on myself. She gave me a sheet and said she would get someone to sort it in the morning. The sheet I was given was even smaller that the one on the bed. The next day I noticed a new sheet was put on the bed but it was still too small for the bed. The pillow slips were also different and too big for the size of the pillows. With regards to the main public areas, I noticed a lot of light bulbs out which in my eyes shows a lack of care and attention. On the second night of our stay we were told that the restaurant was to be closed for three nights from 8pm as they had a large group staying. This was a coach of teenage boys who seemed to run around the hotel slamming doors in the middle of the night. All in all the best thing about the hotel was the polite friendly staff. We would never stay here again if we returned to Krakow as they fall short of basic hotel standards, which does not warrant a three star hotel rating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I researched Krakow hotels extensively before settling for the Petrus, but on arrival was told that we were being passed on to a different hotel because "some Italian students needed the room and anyway they were noisy and we wouldn't have been happy about that and the alternative hotel was very nice and nearer the centre."
Our new accommodation involved a twenty minute walk through a rather tatty area of the city, our room was in the attic of an annex and the unlicenced hotel restaurant was only open till 8:30.
The receptionist, when pushed, admitted that it is not unusual for Petrus bookings to be passed on like this, so be warned!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpetrus1, Kierownik recepcji at Petrus Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame

At first I wanted to apologize on behalf of the entire staff of hotel Petrus*** , we are extremely sorry that this situation has occurred. However, it is not true that such situations (relocation Guests) occur frequently, that are very sporadic cases.
Indeed, the Cogito hotel is situated 20 minutes walk to the Main Market Square, but not to the historic old town, here the way is shorter and takes only 10 minutes. We did everything in our best to make Guests satisfied and therefore we chose the hotel of the same standard as well as due to the closer distance from the center. I hope that next time we will have the pleasure to welcome you, and I promise that this time we will rise to the challenge and this situation will not happen again.

Agnes Kulka
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and was always being topped up. The Hotel rooms were basic and ours were clean and the size was okay for a short trip. The curtains could have been a bit thicker and wider as they didn't do a great job of keeping the sun out first thing in the morning. The bed was fine but the pillow was very small. The bathroom was good with a powerful hot shower. The toilet paper wasn't the best quality but it was the same in all the places we visited. It is a long walk to the City Centre but taxis were cheap about £3-£4 going out and double that late at night. I would have no hesitation at recommending this Hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Our friends had a room in the attic and it was very hot up there and had a sloping ceiling, so they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrowfordclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and there is ample parking along with a few deckchairs and chairs etc at the front. The rooms are big enough but everything feels slightly dirty. The sheets had small stains on, the shower has grime in and everything smelt of fried food. (This was mainly due to the rooms position above the kitchen but it meant that we couldn't open the windows in 30C heat.... tere was a small fan provided but not great) The breakfast was very average, some of the plates has stains on or discoloration. The cereal was very stale and the rest of the breakfast seemed to consist of the cheapest options available. Also there was no lift, which is no fun when you are lugging 2 huge suitcases up.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the kitchen, also unless you have picked the hotel for the free parking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#113 of 260 in Krakow
272 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 260 in Krakow
417 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#69 of 260 in Krakow
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Q Hotel Krakow
#83 of 260 in Krakow
168 reviews
Hotel System
#147 of 260 in Krakow
134 reviews
Sympozjum Hotel
#121 of 260 in Krakow
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrus Hotel

Property: Petrus Hotel
Address: ul. Jana Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petrus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming You to the Royal City of Krakow, we invite You to the Petrus Hotel, situated amidst recreational areas of Twardowski Rocks Park. The Hotel is situated merely 1.5Km from The Royal Wawel Castle and a very City Centre, in a peacefull park areas. The combination of comfort, domestic atmosphere, superb cuisine and proffesional service guarantees either family vacation or business/ integrational stay. We provide our guests with 27 comfortably furnished rooms. Each of them is equipped with bathroom, phone and TV set. We may also deliver to the room iron, ironing board, hairdryer on request, and, after prior agreement, a bed for our smallest guests. There is also a cozy restaurant in the hotel, serving dishes of both: polish and international cuisine. Professional and friendly service will turn Your entire stay in Petrus Hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing