We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but rooms are spartan”
Review of Petrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petrus Hotel
Ranked #105 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice place but rooms are spartan”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am struggling about how to write this review. There is nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but the overall impression is not great. Location is ok and quiet, but you have to take a cab to reach the center of town. No big deal, since it is fairly cheap.
There is free parking and staff are friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was good with standard european breakfst fare(cheeses, cold cuts, jams, butter coffee and tea).
The letdown are the rooms themselves. The furniture and bedding is so cheap and the rooms so small that you feel more like in a prison cell. The hotel looks new, so why are the carpets all stained and the furniture dented? Why are the single beds kid size? As an overnight stop the hotel did its job, but I wouldn't stay here on a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    117
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
35
117
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It's a nice hotel, in a nice quiet & upscale residential neighborhood. It's a bit out of the way to get to, far away from tram lines or bus lines that went into downtown. Took a taxi to & from the main train station. There's no lift, even though the hotel looks new or recently renovated. Also, at night, the lights in the hallway won't come on and you have to stumble your way through to get into your room.

The rooms themselves are very nice, as is the staff (knew English well), breakfast, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kochamanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very good hotel for food, cleanliness and helpful cheerful staff just a bit out of the way. Once you get the hang of the trams though the problem is sorted and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jools490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we have just returned from this hotel and found it not that bad...it is a bit away from the town center ... as the weather was nice we decided to walk it along the river bank and its a nice walk and only took about 30 mins...if you don't fancy walking the hotel will order you a taxi...the rooms are basic but clean..we also ate there and could not fault the food and a very good price to..overall we enjoyed or stay there and met some nice people...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davemBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

we arrived around half one ine the afternoon,on arrival the receptionist was very pleasent and helpful,only one our rooms was ready but we didnt mind because we were ready for exploring.when we came back down to reception we asked about booking a trip to auswitch,the young lady on reception sorted it all out for us,the rooms in the hotel are a little small but clean tidy and adequate,beds a little small but were ok,fans are provided in the rooms for when it is hot like it was this week,would say not suitable for elderly because of the walk into town takes 25 to 35 mins but taxis are cheap and quick to get to hotel.breakfast was continental style with frankfurters and scrambled eggs on offer too,we didnt eat in the restraunt at night so cant comment there,all in all a clean tidy hotel,great staff freindly and welcoming.one little thing that is missing is tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but apart from that no problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from holiday here. Would return in the future. Rooms were smallish but adequate and very clean. The hotel staff were first class and very helpful. They would book a taxi straight away and answered anything they were asked about. The walk to the town takes about 40 minutes and may take longer for elderly people. The hotel is in its own grounds making it quite secluded. Breakfast was the same on offer each morning but the choice was excellent. If you want an evening meal just select from a varied menu and let the staff know what time you would like and this would be arranged. All in all I would like to thank the staff for great service thus allowing us to enjoy a great holiday and also have a pleasant time with other guests including a Scottish couple, a Swedish family, a man from Ireland and 5 lads on a stag do from South Wales.

Room Tip: For the elderly I would choose a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel is perfect for those who like peace and quite, but still want to be close to the city centre. Breakfast was quite ok. Rooms are in very economic style, but according to the price I was not expecting anything better, but a little refreshment would be appreciated. I was there just for a weekend with my friend sigthseeing and a little bit parting and we were satisfied (just be beware of taxi drivers during night, one of them took a 'longer way', when he knows we are not from town and the bill was really high, next time we used gps to check if we were heading for the right direction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArturS553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
3.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#130 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#110 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Demel Hotel
Demel Hotel
#155 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Q Hotel Krakow
Q Hotel Krakow
#76 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sympozjum Hotel
Sympozjum Hotel
#112 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.3 mi away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#117 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrus Hotel

Property: Petrus Hotel
Address: ul. Jana Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petrus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming You to the Royal City of Krakow, we invite You to the Petrus Hotel, situated amidst recreational areas of Twardowski Rocks Park. The Hotel is situated merely 1.5Km from The Royal Wawel Castle and a very City Centre, in a peacefull park areas. The combination of comfort, domestic atmosphere, superb cuisine and proffesional service guarantees either family vacation or business/ integrational stay. We provide our guests with 27 comfortably furnished rooms. Each of them is equipped with bathroom, phone and TV set. We may also deliver to the room iron, ironing board, hairdryer on request, and, after prior agreement, a bed for our smallest guests. There is also a cozy restaurant in the hotel, serving dishes of both: polish and international cuisine. Professional and friendly service will turn Your entire stay in Petrus Hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Petrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing