We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should like to return here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petrus Hotel
Ranked #99 of 257 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, UK
1 review
“We should like to return here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from three weeks spent at the Petrus Hotel which is situated near to the Elvis Presley memorial! There is no lift in this hotel, but our room was always clean and our beds firm and comfortable, just as we like them.
Breakfast, dinners and snacks were varied and very nice. The hotel staff were all friendly, kind, helpful and efficient.
In Krakaow we could buy weekly tickets for buses and trams for 62 Zloty (or 31 Zloty for seniors): excellent value. The Petrus is approximately 15 minutes walk from Kapelanka tram stop. We were especially pleased to discover that it is close to the River Vistula and less than five minutes away from beautiful countryside and woodland walks, a paradise for hikers, joggers, cyclists and people wishing to enjoy bird song, wild life and outdoor activities.
We should feel happy to return to this hotel if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hntrev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    109
    41
    15
    4
See reviews for
31
108
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Krakow on a mini-package in May 2013. The Hotel that we stayed in was the Petrus some 40 ,minutes walk from the centre of Krakow. This sounds to be further than it seems when you make the journey. The trip is along the river Vistula and is a pleasant stroll.
The hotel is quite new and all of the staff that we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. The communal areas are clean and tidy, but unfortunately the bedrooms are less welcoming. Whilst the furniture and beds are fine, the carpets were quite badly stained as was one of the two chairs in our room. This was also the experience of two friends who travelled with us. An outlay of a few hundred pound on cleaning would improve the situation dramatically.

The bar is very small and staffed by the waitresses who wait on tables. The choice at the bar is very limited - NO GIN!! But beer is good and cheap (less than £2 for 500 mls).

Breakfast consisted of cheeses, cold meats, scrambles eggs, sausages, cereals, yoghourts and a variety of bread with preserves. Nothing to complain about there at all.

Generally the hotel was very acceptable for the price we paid for the trip and some better cleaning in the bedrooms would vastly improve the impression it made.

Room Tip: No lift - ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here with two (was going to be 3) other friends for a five day break. We were greeted on arrival by a smiling receptionist and told our rooms were ready even thiough it was 10am. i had advised in advance we were coming and that we would like rooms close to each other. this was done with no hassle. Rooms were spotless and very spacious. we dropped off bags and went into town.
As people have previously mentioned there was a coach trip of itialian school student who were really noisy when we got back to the hotel and this continued all noght but they were away the next morning. There were also workmen on site but they did not start until half past nine and in all honesty if you are going to Kreakow you want to be up and have had breakfast by then. They were also very polite. The bar is open 24 hours, which is handy and is no problem for reception if you ask for a drink at any time.

We ate at the hotel restaurant only once at night(as we were in the centre the other nights) and the steaks we had were amazing and all in with beers ect £13 a head! As i had been before I was rememebred by some staff and they were genuinley hapopy to see a returning customer which I think I will be again in the future.

BTW the temprature was approx 24 degrees on the wed thurs of out trip!

Room Tip: Email the hotel first and advise of your stay they will do what they can to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minisativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have just returned from spending 5 nights in this excellent hotel for the price. My room was well furnished and very welcoming. Although a bit off the beaten track a good 30 minutes to the City Centre there were plenty of trams close by plus you could always order an inexpensive taxi. I like walk everywhere so it suited me. I also think that the Petrus would make an ideal family holiday as just across the car park is a recreational park where the children can play in a safe environment and if you turn left there is a beautiful wood which are suitable for walking or even riding bikes. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay with plenty to choose from. After my hectic days I ate at the hotel every evening and I found the food to be excellent well cooked and very tasty also you get a 20% discount so a three course meal with a couple of beers cost around £12.00 which was more than needed so I opted for a main meal with salad and a couple of beers for around £6.50 £8.00 per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel staff were really nice,accommodating and helpful on arrival for our short city break.Reception gave advice and tips and recommended nice restaurants to eat at. Very clean and quiet , but perhaps a little further away from the main parts of Krakow. The breakfasts at this hotel were fine ,with a fair choice; cereals,cheese and lovely rye bread ,hard boiled eggs, yogurt,toast,etc.Room was OK but very basic-no hairdryer or any tea/drink making facilities.A nice ,cheap place for a short break.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellydancerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of all let me start with the positives-when we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was lovely, very informative and spoke excellent english,The breakfast was great.
Our room was ok but very basic-no hairdryer,bedside lamp or any tea/drink making facility.My sisters room was quite awful,it looked like something from a very cheap hostel but nevertheless was clean.
Now for the VERY negative-staying at the hotel were a group of Italian young people aged prob 15-18 not children-well they run riot, their behaviour was SHOCKING-knocking on doors running through the hotel at all hours --we had absolutely no sleep-I complained to the hotel staff who informed their tutor but they only quietened done for a while then they would start again.I choose this hotel because I thought it would be quieter than staying in the city.WRONG!!! I will not be going back.

Room Tip: we had an attic room which has very sloping ceilings so yo have to be VERY careful getting in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn060464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpetrus1, Front Office Manager at Petrus Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We want You really apologies for this inconvenience. Please be sure that we try to do everything to keep quiet this young group. Tour leader was responsibility for group, few reminder, few requests, nothing helps. We are truly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just arrived home after a 4 night break at this hotel.The staff were very polite,helpful, and efficient. And obviously good value for money. And the rooms were tidied every day. Room was basic with dirty carpet very used bedding bathroom was nice. Restaurant quite nice but unable to use in the evening due to the following. On our second night the place was taken over by 45 italian students who caused endless noise to the early hours, and guests already there were not allowed to use restaurant in evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpetrus1, Front Office Manager at Petrus Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Staff of our hotel want to apologies you for this situation. Group make reservation for restaurant before your arrival. We inform guests that restorations will be open till 6 p.m. In your stay we can not make more. You have to know that we try to do everything best for you and your stay. We want to tell you one more time We’re really sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Domus Mater
#92 of 257 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
InterHouse Hotel
#132 of 257 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Q Hotel Krakow
#96 of 257 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#29 of 257 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#76 of 257 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrus Hotel

Property: Petrus Hotel
Address: Ul. Jana Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 257 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petrus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming You to the Royal City of Krakow, we invite You to the Petrus Hotel, situated amidst recreational areas of Twardowski Rocks Park. The Hotel is situated merely 1.5Km from The Royal Wawel Castle and a very City Centre, in a peacefull park areas. The combination of comfort, domestic atmosphere, superb cuisine and proffesional service guarantees either family vacation or business/ integrational stay. We provide our guests with 27 comfortably furnished rooms. Each of them is equipped with bathroom, phone and TV set. We may also deliver to the room iron, ironing board, hairdryer on request, and, after prior agreement, a bed for our smallest guests. There is also a cozy restaurant in the hotel, serving dishes of both: polish and international cuisine. Professional and friendly service will turn Your entire stay in Petrus Hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Budget Places so you can book your Petrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing