We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Petrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petrus Hotel
Ranked #106 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good communication to start with - got rooms next to each other as requested. Excellent price for our 4 night stay. Rooms large, well furnished, clean. Breakfast basic but good. Evening meal good and value for money. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location. Would recommend.

Room Tip: email your preferences to hotel, they were very helpful and we got rooms next to each other
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONESTREVIEWER6968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Petrus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed 3 days trip to Krakow during Christmas time. It was very nice to stay in hotel Petrus. Very helpful staff, tasty breakfast and clean hotel near the tram stop. It was very nice to stay in Petrus hotel. Thanks
Martin Handl

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had girls trip to Krakow from sunday to wednesday and we stayed at Petrus hotel,which was very comfortable and very good:) The staff amazing friendly and braeakfast super and the atmosphere at the hotel: just feel like at home:)The rooms were very spaceous and hotel is almost close to the center:) We really enjoyed our stay at the Petrus hotel:) Just one minus: hotel doesnt have sauna at the hotel,sauna is at the room nr.29 or somwhere else,but didnt work.....We really hoped to take sauna one evening,but.....Anyway,THANK YOU HOTEL PETRUS for all your help and very nice stay at the hotel:)

Room Tip: of course room with sauna
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giedreLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I visited Krakow in Poland from the 25th November to 29th November and we stayed in the Petrus hotel on the outskirts of Krakow. It was noted as being 1.5KM from the center and it is a good 35min walk to the main town square. During our stay the staff were generally very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok and i have to say in general our stay was good but our issue was on leaving the hotel.
We checked out of the hotel and headed to the town to catch the train to the airport. Once on the train my wife realised that she had left her mobile phone on the bed underneath the pillow. I tried to phone the hotel from the airport but due to some work being done the phone was off. I left my wife at hotel and jumped into a taxi and headed back to the hotel. Surprised to see me I informed the receptionist that my wife had forgotten her mobile phone. I headed to the room but the cleaner had already cleaned the room. They said that no phone had been found even though i insisted that they check again. Only my wife and I and the cleaner had been in the hotel room that morning.
Once back in UK I phoned again and explained again to another receptionist what had happened. I was promised a call the next day from the manager and no call came. I called again and they were very unhelpful and very dismissive. The phone was a galaxy ace and was full of photos of family occasions etc.
I will travel to krakow again but i will never ever stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Only advise is guard your valuables and never leave them in the room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife, sister and brother-in-law and I recently stayed at the Petrus Hotel in Krakow. We'd just like to say what a great experience it was. The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly at all times, the rooms were clean and well-appointed and the restaurant food was excellent - if a tiny bit lacking in choice. The "Hunter's Stew" was a thoroughly good traditional Polish meal, accompanied by the very palatable house wines.

Prices are very low. We ate well each of the three nights, usually with two bottles of wine and some local beers, a very pleasant continental breakfast in the morning for all of us and yet the total bill came in at £60 GBP per couple. Astonishing!

The hotel is somewhat more than walking distance from the city centre but to be honest that was never a problem. We chose to get taxis into town each evening, usually costing less than £GBP 4.00 each way. And during the day, you can catch the no.18 tram straight into the city as well. The tram stop is about 8 minutes walk away. There is a fare to pay but, for reasons we couldn't fathom, no-one seemed particularly interested in whether we paid when we got on or not!

Krakow is a wonderful place. Loads to see including; the historic Wawel Castle, Oskar Schindler's DEF factory museum, the fantastic (and inexpensive) shopping streets, the underground restaurants and bars, not to mention "Cloth Hall" in the old town for all manner of bargains.

The Salt Mine some 10 miles out of town is well worth a visit too. You descend 130m below ground into a huge labyrinth of mine shafts, tunnels, underground lakes and caverns, and the truly incredible carvings into the salt bedrock.

And of course, Krakow is situated within about an hour's drive of Oswiecim (Auschwitz). We hired a car for around £30 GBP per day to get there. We felt, like many I imagine, a little apprehensive about visiting what can hardly be called a 'tourist' spot. However, now having seen it, I truly believe everyone should go there at some point in their lives. If the only feeling you take away with you is a determination to play your small part in ensuring such utter horrors never happen again, then I guess it will be a tiny crumb of comfort to set against the mind-numbing depravity that took place here.

So, if you plan to see Krakow, I'd thoroughly recommend the Petrus Hotel. Thanks to Monica and all the staff for their hospitality throughout our stay.

Mark Birkett, Manchester, England

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

this hotel is a little off the beaten track if you don't drive but if you can navigate Czech public transport then it's definately worth the money. Rooms were clean and the staff really helpful. Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShellienShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived early but were told the rooms would only be about 40 minutes so we waited. The rooms themselves were comfortable although only BBC World News was on the TV. We took a walk into the center on the first day and it did take around 35 minutes, that said it was blizzard conditions. We ate here the first night and the food was adequate and reasonable in price. The Bigos was good. Taxis varied in price but even after midnight on their holiday (1st November) we only paid about £6. Breakfast was plentiful and was kept topped up. Would stay here again if in Krakow.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 36 and 37 they are in the roof and cold.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#111 of 261 in Krakow
280 reviews
Sympozjum Hotel
#125 of 261 in Krakow
575 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Budget Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
#74 of 261 in Krakow
381 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#101 of 261 in Krakow
246 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#72 of 261 in Krakow
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrus Hotel

Address: ul. Jana Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $39 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petrus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming You to the Royal City of Krakow, we invite You to the Petrus Hotel, situated amidst recreational areas of Twardowski Rocks Park. The Hotel is situated merely 1.5Km from The Royal Wawel Castle and a very City Centre, in a peacefull park areas. The combination of comfort, domestic atmosphere, superb cuisine and proffesional service guarantees either family vacation or business/ integrational stay. We provide our guests with 27 comfortably furnished rooms. Each of them is equipped with bathroom, phone and TV set. We may also deliver to the room iron, ironing board, hairdryer on request, and, after prior agreement, a bed for our smallest guests. There is also a cozy restaurant in the hotel, serving dishes of both: polish and international cuisine. Professional and friendly service will turn Your entire stay in Petrus Hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing