We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Krakow”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #14 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Helpful even before I arrived, the guy on reception guided me in by 'phone as I couldn't figure out the one way streets, then parked my car. Most rooms face the main market square, great view first thing in the morning. Room well equipped and nicely decorated. Surprisingly modern in an old building. Restaurant is nice of old fashioned, with a lovely carved beam ceiling. Much better than any chain hotel, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wentzl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

This was my first trip to Cracow and I was not disappointed. The hotel is ideally located in the center on the south end of the huge, magnificent town square, with a breath-taking view of the church and market from my room. I was amazed at the views from the room. Truly exceptional.

The hotel itself is a thoroughly modern renovated old palace, with "old-world" touches throughout (huge wooden staircase in the core; ancient wooden beams, splendid restaurant on the first floor). My room was a double bed, comfortable with plenty of pillows for bed reading and thick comforter to stay warm, although the heating in the room is more than adequate - with double paned windows to keep both cold and noise out. The bathroom was completely up to date and contemporary styled. With a safe in the armoire, a flat screen tv, and free wifi access (as well as a complimentary computer for personal use in the back of the lobby), they had everything that I really wanted. If I had stayed longer than two days it might have been nice to be able to use a gym, which I don't think the hotel offers, but I'm certain the front desk staff would have been able to find me a gym to workout in for a nominal fee if I had asked.

The huge breakfast was a final surprise - I was used to the standard continental breakfasts usually offered in hotels - but the large buffet offered here was exceptional.

Thanks again to the staff of the hotel for a most enjoyable stay. Best wishes for continued success!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I have stayed in this lovely hotel 3 times now with my friend Anne,the staff are friendly and very accomadating.You can choose which room you would like to stay in and they will make it into a twin room instead of double if needed.Breakfast was fab lots of choice
Hotel wentzl is right on the suare with great views of st Mary's church were you can here the trumpet playing.
If you get chance to stay in this hotel do well worth the money and you get treated 1st class

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

What can one say, if it were not for the excruciatingly hard beds, this would be one of the top hotels I've ever stayed in. Getting to it was a bit of a challenge but once there, because of its location in the main square, everything is close or a short taxi drive away. The staff can speak good english and were always helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Friendly staff who were only too happy to help. Lovely hotel with an old world charm. Couldn't be better located for shops, bars, restaurants and attractions.

Given its central location it was surprisingly quiet although as with most hotels the heating was a bit high.

Breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice and a packed lunch can be provided if you ask. Booking trips is easy.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights. The staff is polite and helpful and the location right on the main square is key - you can walk anywhere. The rooms are newly renovated, but have an old feel & decor with soaring ceilings. Make sure to pay a bit extra and get the delicious breakfast included. Not once did we have any kind of problem. CANNOT GO WRONG HERE!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgaPolska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We have stayed here twice over the past couple of years and it is our favourite hotel in our favourite city. The customer service from the hotel staff is excellent and they always go that extra mile to help you with directions, recommending restaurants, booking tables etc.

The rooms are absolute luxury. We have stayed in both types, the more traditional, olde world style and the contemporary, art deco rooms which are located on the top floor. Both are beautifully decorated and the attic rooms have the added bonus of a small balcony which you can stand and look down on the world passing by. I will mention that the beds in the attic rooms were found to be extremely hard and rather uncomfortable and we did ask to switch to a room downstairs because of this. The hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating and did their best to help.

The hotel restaurant is a must for quality of food, ambience and service, all are excellent. Although prices are a tad higher than what you will pay outside the hotel it really is worth it as a special treat . Breakfast is great and along with the buffet on offer, which is excellent, you are also provided with a menu of hot food which is cooked freshly for you at not extra cost.

There are countless hotels in and around Krakow but if you are looking for something special this is well worth the extra money. I can't recommend it highly enough and we can't wait to return this winter.

Any questions just ask!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissiemccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 261 in Krakow
942 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 261 in Krakow
1,836 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $123 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing