We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #14 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The location is simply outstanding! Our room on one of the top floors had picturesque view of the beautiful main market and old town square. You have no need to worry about loud noises keeping you up at night, as Krakow is a peaceful and charming town! The room itself is nicely furnished, modern, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and always willing to give tips and advice about restaurants and sight seeing. If you like historic boutique hotels - then you will not find a better place,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We've stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean and nicely decorated, overlooking the main square and the cathedral. The staff was very helpful. We were offered assistance with parking our car within walking distance. I can't say anything about breakfast as we haven't taken it in the hotel. If we come again, we'll definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dansi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The location is simply outstanding, right on the picturesque main market square in the old city, with hundreds of restaurants, scenic places to visit, and shops within a few minutes walk.
All the rooms have views of the square, we were in a double lux/twin lux, which had a huge super king sized bed and a rollaway bed for our daughter, still with room for a desk but it was just a bit tight. The hotel website unusually shows all the rooms, with pictures of the interior and the room sizes. Rooms in this category are 24- 33m2, ours was number 34 at 24m2. Check out the rooms and pick the decor and size that suits your preference, remember to press the "translate" option when you go to the hotel website to see it in English.
Rooms have large cupboards with just a few shelves, no chest of drawers, but have an electronic safe, ironing board, large heated towel rail in the bathroom, flat screen TV, and a stocked mini-bar as well as a Nespresso coffee machine with pods replaced daily or more frequently as required.
The reception staff are really friendly and go out of their way to help in any way they can.
A real plus is that WI-FI is FREE for unlimited devices and very fast, around 8-10,000 Mbps.
The Slodki Wentzl just 2 doors away offers fantastic deserts, try their lemon sherbet ice-cream !!!
So, what are the negatives ?
a) the breakfasts are a very limited buffet plus choice of eggs and completely uninspiring overall. When asked for bacon & eggs I got fried eggs with the bacon mixed in with it, which I had never come a cross before ( tasted awful), order of poached eggs arrived fried, order of soft boiled eggs was over cooked. My daughter was begging us to take her out for breakfast elsewhere.
b) the bedding is sub standard, cheap linen, well used and piled, for some weird reason we got two single duvets instead of a double, we also had this in Riga, Latvia so maybe it's an Eastern European thing, but the duvets themselves felt like heavy blankets.
c) the aircon remote never worked properly, couldn't turn it on, somehow they did this for me but we couldn't get it to turn it on/off so had to leave it on all the time, couldn't manage the temperature of the room, very annoying.
d) bathroom was very small, single basin, small glass shelf above so with 3 people had to leave moist of our toiletries stacked on the bathroom floor, shower only which was ok but the shower head kept sliding down the pole.
e) I like a very thin feather pillow, and they only had very thick synthetic pillows so I had to go buy a feather pillow from Zara Home store at the Galleria shopping centre ( very large centre only 10 min walk away)- I do think they should keep some alternative choices of pillows and put a double duvet on a double bed.
I would definitely go back, but would choose a different room, and would have our breakfasts at one of the many adjacent restaurants.
For the iPad users out there here's a tip- the only place you can buy pre-paid SIM cards for Internet is the Galleria za shopping centre, go to the "i" shop downstairs that sells Apple computers & devices and buy a 1Gb starter nano-SIM for 15 Zloty (approx 3.5 Euro). One of the kiosks in the centre if the corridor also sells these. NB- only the Plus network sells nano- sized sim's, yep Im not kidding, Orange & T Mobile do NOT. It's a bit of a mission and very old fashioned but you need to go to the Plus shop on the same floor and buy a top-up voucher code, but the only way you can use it is to put the sim in your iPhone then you can top-up on line to 5.5Gb data for another 25 Zloty by texting the code you bought, you can't top up from your iPad, it needs to be done on a phone because they send you back a text with a code to confirm. Here's another tip, when the sim is in your phone, go to the website mentioned in the English guide that came with the sim, and with a bit of effort you can "activate" LTE ie: 4G super fast speeds, I got 25 Mbps downloads. By the way, the same English guide says you can top up using Facebook and via the Internet but that's all completely untrue. There is no gym, sauna or steam room.

Room Tip: Use the hotel website, they show the interiors and give the sizes for all the rooms, they do vary qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard_s_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a 5 night stay at the Hotel Wentzl which is in the main square of Krakow.
The location is perfect with most of the cities sights being just a few minutes walk away.
The hotel room which had views of the Christmas market was very comfortable and warm. Decor was nice and considering the position of the hotel not too noisy.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This lovely hotel is right on the Mediaeval square in the heart of Krakow. Stayed in December 2013 for 4 days. Perfect for the "Cloth Hall" full of shops selling amber jewellery and a multitude of other items from fur hats to lace to hand-carved chess sets. All the finer shops of Krakow are in the roads radiating from the square. Christmas Market stalls were right outside, on the square with smoked sausages and mulled wine to keep you going and stave off the cold while you browse.
The reception staff speak excellent english and are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are lovely and are serviced twice daily and very nicely appointed with a full sized fridge and "Nespresso" coffee machine/tea making facilities if needed. Loads of restaurants around covering every pocket.
A ride in the horse-drawn carriage is a nice way of visiting the Castle with a stroll back (via the shops, perhaps?) .

Room Tip: We had a top-floor room which had a small balcony overlooking the square which was perfect for us. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My gosh is this hotel something special!! From the moment we arrived i felt like a Princess! Every time we came down stairs into the reception area the staff would stand up and wish you a good day. They were very helpful in ordering taxis and recommending places to eat/see. When we arrived at our room there was a huge bouquet of fresh flowers and bottle of champagne on ice with two glasses waiting for us - i later found out my fiancé had arranged this with the hotel months prior as a surprise to celebrate our engagement. He has mentioned then that before we had even got there they were being extremely helpful.

The room its self was massive! With grand solid wood furniture and a massive bed!! It was beautiful

The view from our room was out of this world! I felt like I was in a Disney film - with horse and carriages lapping the square and accordions playing outside our room - I was so happy there - it was quite overwhelming.

Every day we came back from our day trips the beds would be made, we would have clean towels & dressing gowns & fresh fruit.

Then every eve when we returned to retire for the day our beds would be made for us to jump straight in! It was like magic!!

I can’t rate this hotel high enough everything was perfect - it was the perfect way to celebrate our engagement.

Room Tip: * Request a Room with a view of The Square. * If travelling for a special occasion - let them kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeCC_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Asbolutely fabulous stay over the New Year. Rooms are exquisite and beautifully furnished and the staff are very helpful and informative. Excellent location overlooking the square. Would definetly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Tracyandwill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 262 in Krakow
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#88 of 262 in Krakow
644 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Venetian House Aparthotel
#18 of 262 in Krakow
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $122 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing