We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel-You are paying for the view”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #14 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel-You are paying for the view”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We call this hotel the “Lucky Wentzl”-lucky that it has such incredible views because otherwise it’s a three star hotel. We spent four days here and felt it was overrated.
The location is without question its best asset and the views over the market square are wonderful. That being said, Krakow is an amazing city and you won’t ever want to be in your room so the negatives of this hotel well outweigh the fantastic views. Overall it’s a comfortable boutique hotel with a friendly staff . The breakfast was adequate but not memorable. There are two types of rooms so be sure to book a “deluxe” room. The “normal” rooms are very small with no drawers to put clothing and no space to put more than one suitcase. There are some small quirks that need to be fixed. For example, the rooms have a coffee machine but creamer is not available so must be drunk black. There is no place in the bathroom to place a toiletry kit. There is only one employee in the dining room so if you happen to be there when several other guests arrive, it can be painfully slow process to order eggs, get coffee, etc. The waitress we had every day was wonderful-simply overwhelmed to handle everything by herself. Overall it’s a decent hotel but we won’t stay there again. Stay at the Bonerowski Palace if you want a similar view or stay at the Copernicus if you want an upper end hotel close to the castle. We visited both after being disappointed with the Wentzl and will stay at one of those next time.

Room Tip: Definitely book a "deluxe" room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tws1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    180
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
139
639
56
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Loved this hotel, its very traditionally decorated throughout however the dining room is completely over the top in the best possible way. The staff were helpful, friendly and informative. Our room had a fab view overlooking the square and was very quiet with the windows shut, but be aware that a trumpeter at the church opposite sounds the hour, every hour all through the night, so an open window at night is not an option unless you're a sound sleeper, but still worth going to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in room 31, with a fabulous view directly overlooking the main square; I'd been worried about noise from the street, but with two layers of windows there was rarely more than a murmur audible from below. The room was spacious and well-appointed, with a good shower, flat screen TV, and free wifi. My one complaint about the room is that the bed was super super super hard - it might have been heavenly for those who love a firm mattress, but after a couple of nights it was pretty rough on my back. The on-site restaurant is beautiful, though I found the food rather bland and overpriced. Staff throughout the hotel was incredibly friendly, with fluent English. They would do everything they could to meet your needs, to the point where one gentleman at the front desk waited on the phone with Lot Airlines for 20 minutes to help me change my flight. Sometimes, however, their eagerness to help wasn't entirely matched by actual helpfulness - for example, when I asked for a local bakery, I was sent to a chain market; and when I asked for a cheap, casual local restaurant where I could catch a quick bite, I was sent to a fancy white-tablecloth place that required reservations. Still, the combination of price, location, facilities, and genial staff probably makes this one of the best places to stay in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAIN
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is very well located. The room was nice, on the toop floor.
We asked for a room with a view and it was very good indeed.

We spent a week end in July, and maybe it was a littlel noise, but not too much.
We got very good advices for places to eat.

The breakfast was ok, no super but the dining room was very well decorated and the waiters polite.

The hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location. We had a room facing the Market Square. Great when windows open, quiet when windows shut. Fabulous breakfast. All of this was very, very reasonably priced. The room was spacious by European standards, and eloquently appointed. And the staff couldn't have been more helpful. If I were to return to Krakow, I don't think I'd bother trying to find a different or better hotel.

Room Tip: Don't be shy about getting a room facing the square. Noise was absolutely not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Wentzl is a master class in how a hotel should be run. The rooms are clean and comfortable (sometimes a little overheated, but that's easily fixed) as you would expect, and the location is beyond reproach. It is definitely little things make all the difference at the Wentzl, however. The coffee machine in the room. Free wifi. The staff at the reception desk actually stand to greet you every time you walk past. I stayed for three nights in May 2013 and could not fault them at all. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eammon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location on the main square could not be beat. The staff was incredibly attentive, helpful and cheerful. The air-conditioning worked perfectly during a late April heat wave. The room (#41) was large and the decor was absolutely stunning...more spectacular than the hotel's website pictures. The mini-bar was well stocked and reasonably priced.

There were, however, some serious problems that made the room highly uncomfortable. Aside from one average size closet in which to hang one's hangable clothing, there was no place else to store clothes. The bathroom, which was large and nicely designed, had no place to store toiltetries. The room was dark all the time due to horrendous lighting. The bed was extremely hard.

Note to Wentzl management: These issues are all easy to correct. Add a chest of drawers to the room...there is plenty of space. Add lighting. Offer mattress toppers to those who can't tolerate firm mattresses. Add a stand for toiletries in the bathroom. Do these things and you will make this stunning room a comfortable room.

Room Tip: If you are booking far enough in advance, you can choose a specific room. The hotel staff will work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 260 in Krakow
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 260 in Krakow
2,010 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
988 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing