We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view of the square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #8 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great view of the square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Three nights was perfect for our stay at the Wentzl. Great room on the 3rd floor overlooking the square and we could see all that was going on below. Room was comfortable and bathroom clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is stunning. Great food for breakfast and the one dinner we had there.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    170
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
131
609
54
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed three nights in this elegant hotel situated on the main square. We had a top floor room looking directly over the square with a small balcony you could stand on. The view was stunning, especially at night with the church all lit up. Although it was late February and bitterly cold with snow and wind, we always walked into a wonderful warm hotel. This was true of all the places we visited. The decor was luxurious and plush, especially the main dining room. Our double room was actually quite funky in red and black. We had all the facilities you would need, all very high spec stuff with amazing lighting and a stunning bathroom. Beautiful high count, top quality sheets and one of best stocked mini bars I have seen. The only improvement I would have liked was some drawer space. There was a lovely sitting area in the room overlooking the square.The square is amazing with its market place and busy bustle of people visiting all the attractions. We had one sunny day where we could sit in an outside bar with the heaters on and watch the world go by. We would love to come back in warmer weather and enjoy more of this.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and organising a trip to Auschwitz from the hotel was so simple. We were picked up by mini bus at the hotel at a civilised hour of 11am and dropped off again about 6pm. The tour was our main reason for going and not to be missed. Very well organised, senistively and expertly guided. There are lots of other more light hearted places to visit including the Castle and the Jewish Quarters with some fantastic bohemium bars in the back streets. Schindlers Factory was not what I expected but so much better and so interesting.
Dining out is an absolute pleasure. We found fantastic cellar restaurants with fabulous decor, ambiance and amazingly good food which was reasonably priced. There are several late bars to go to if you ask where they are (usually tucked away down the side alleys). Again hotel staff will tell you all the best places. Highly recommend this hotel and Krakow for a long weekend break. Out of season is a really good time. I was impressed that we arrived at the hotel around 10.30am and they let us have the room straight away. We travelled on from here to Prague on the overnight sleeper train which was a brilliant experience. Ten hours through the night but again absolutely no problems and all booked at home through the internet. Cost about 130 euros for both of us and the cabins were quaint and better than I had expected. Arrived in Prague about 8.30am, fresh and ready to start the next adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the square. I would imagine that the top attic rooms are very hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wentzl


This was the prefect hotel for us in that it seemed representative of what 3 things we discovered in Krakau throughout our stay.

1) Krakavians love tradition, which we testified every hour, either by spotting the trumpet and/or by listening the live trumpet tune from the church tower (simply closing both windows isolates the rooms from any noise emanating from the main square);

2) Krakavians are very friendly. Anything you ask for at the reception is attended to. For technical issues you may want to enquire by what time they will fix it – since in our case, of a bad DVD image, a technician was going to come in to look into it the day after we left (but we hadn’t specified to get it done immediately)

3) Krakavian building and decorative style is very eclectic. Forget anything you know about any particular architectural style – else the combination of shapes and colors can get mindboggling; even in the nicest hotel room, expect to see something different in any direction you are looking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylBjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Wentzl is right on the main square of Krakow. This small boutique hotel is not a happening place, and is really on the quiet side. It does not have a large lobby with sitting space. Rather, it has an old world feel. You can see the various rooms on-line, and can request one, but you won't be guaranteed your choice. If your room overlooks the square, you'll have a wonderful view, however, you may not have a good night's sleep. One of the evenings we were there, it sounded like a men's rugby team was celebrating under our window. Whether they were in the hotel restaurant or in the cafe outside on the street, I am not sure, but they sang and cheered into the wee hours of the morning, which made sleeping impossible. The rooms do have double paned windows, which keep most of the noise at bay, but in this case nothing could have dulled the noise. I feel I should add that the walls between the rooms are on the thin side; we heard voices clearly from the room next door.
Getting past that, the hotel staff was always friendly and helpful.
Our nice-sized room had a high ceiling, and exposed brick walls and beams. It was clean, and the bathroom provided robes, slippers, plenty of shower products and nice towels. There was a safe, desk, and area to sit other than the bed, a flat-screen TV, and tea and coffee in the room.
The buffet breakfast was served in the hotel's beautiful restaurant. There was a nice selection of cold items, with some cooked options available. Here too, the staff was pleasant and helpful.
The location of Hotel Wentzl is perfect for exploring the city, so if you can reserve a quiet room, you won't regret your choice.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise, then ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel, off the squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2trave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Wentzl, and were very pleased that we had chosen this lovely hotel. The position on the square is great. Some people said it can be noisy at times, which is true, but if you close both sets of windows, you can adjust the temperature with the aircon. Opening the window and looking out on that magnificent square gave me great pleasure every morning.
The breakfast is freshly cooked and delicious, eaten in the beautiful dining room.
The main feature of the place is the charming and helpful staff. Every one we came across, whatever their role, was helpful, friendly and polite. If you ask at reception they will give you great advice on where to eat.
I highly recommend the Wentzl.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arundeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our room (41) was incredibly stylish and comfortable, and of course had that fabulous view of the Old Town Square from it's little balcony ...............you really felt that you were in the middle of all the action and yet with the windows closed no noise could be heard!

When a place is as good as this you really want it to be perfect, but there were some annoying things that prevent that perfect score, for example...
*The curtains were not sufficiently heavy to block out the light, the room was bright before 6am and this was in March.
*There were no drawers to tidy away your bits and pieces.
*There was no milk or creamer to go with that brilliant Nepresso machine; also any pods or sachets used were not replaced.
*There was no shampoo in our bathroom the 1st night; however, it did appear when we asked for it.
*The mattress was quite thin.....certainly not as luxurious or comfortable as the standard of the rest of the room would lead you to expect. There was also a nasty cheap looking throw on the bed which didn't match the rest of the decor.
* The corridor and landing on the 4th floor was almost pitch dark at night; you had to practically grope your way towards the lifts! During the day you could see some very fancy light fittings but they didn't seem to be working, or we didn't know how to activate them.

Despite these negative comments, I would still highly recommend this hotel; the pluses of the perfect location, the comfort and style far outweigh any negatives. Also, in correspondence with reception before our stay, they were very helpful in giving us exactly the room we wanted even though we booked with another provider.

Overall, I would like to give a score of 4.5 but unfortunately T A doesn't allow half marks.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel's own website to see photos of each individual room. Rooms ending in 1 or 5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoppyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PawelMusial, Manager at Hotel Wentzl, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for comments.

Regarding some cons You have pointed:
- In our rooms we have pillows 27"x31" and 16"x16"size, but also standard size 20"x26" available on request.
- As restaurant is a separate company unfortunately, we can not accept restaurants bills at hotel reception desk.

Hope to see you again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night only while traveling for business.

Pros:
- great location
- very nice rooms, but each of them is different, so choose online first
- great service
- good buffet breakfast

Cons:
- no pillow menu, the only available pillows are huge or smaller than your head
- no option for larger blankets, no matter what's the size of your bed
- you cannot put anything on the room since they have a new restaurant, which can be a little annoying
- it can be loud

Room Tip: The rooms can be a bit loud as it's right by the main square. I was told that rooms on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing