We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel on Old Town Square”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #10 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel on Old Town Square”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This beautiful hotel is directly on the square, facing Cloth Hall. It is warm, comfortable and welcoming. We had room 25, a triple room, overlooking the square. There was no noise problem at all. The hotel is beautiful old-world architecture. Our room had a restored beam ceiling and hard wood floors. The room was spotless. The bath was also spotless and modern, with an exposed brick wall that was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. My daughter slept on a cot, which she states felt every bit as comfortable as a bed. The room was very large.

The location of this hotel, sitting right on the Old Town Square, is perfect. It is steps to Cloth Hall, St. Mary's Basilica and next to a wonderful cafe. It is a short walk to other sights, such as Wawel Castle. The staff is simply amazing. Every single staff member was polite, friendly, knowledgable and spoke English very well. Not a single one winced at our pathetic attempts to speak Polish. Whatever the hotel pays these staff members is not enough. They were expertly qualified and extremely welcoming to us.

I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpauligirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    175
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
135
621
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights and had the most wonderful time. The location of the hotel made it for us. It was right on the old town square. Our room had double doors which opened onto a small balcony . We were sipping champagne overlooking such a wonderful view ! There sre 2 types of room traditional or modern . The guy on reception gave us the choice ! we looked at 2 rooms and went foe the modern miminal room with the view. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and booked our trips with no problems.
The restaurants in Kracow are outstanding . The quality of the food and the value for money is unbelievable . We ate in a really good italian called Da Pietro on the corner of the square and had a starter and main course with drinks for the equivalent of about £30 !! ( for two ) . We went to a classical music concert in a church and did a horse and carriage ride , we sipped cherry vodka ouside ( with rugs over us under patio heaters ).
We also visited Auchwitz . I must admit this was very difficult for me but I went along because my husband really wanted to do it. It was a harrowing day and i wept through most of it. But , saying that , it was very respectful and i was glad I went and if you visit Kracow you should go to remember those poor people.
Two days was not long enough and we will be going back this year in October . We will be staying in the Hotel Wentzl again and I would highly recommend it to you . The breakfast was good , although the food you can buy out is also excellent and cheap.
Visit Kracow, its wonderful for a short break. x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sybiltheswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I had a beautiful stay at this special hotel. The location can't be beat in Krakow. The view from our roon was right out on the Maria Church. An amazing sight, especially at night. We ordered a superior room and it was super. The staff is extremely friendly...always a smile as we came down the stairs. The best of all was the breakfast, though....wow.. :))

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mindykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The location of Hotel Wentzl is excellent ... it overlooks the town square. I would recommend a room on the 4th floor as most have a small balcony that looks over the square. The rooms are not particularly big , but are certainly sufficient. The hotel staff are first class .... friendly , helpful and courteous . If we were to return to Krakow , then we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dogbite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Excellent hotel with superb location right in beautiful main square. Free walking tours start from almost right outside. Impeccable service & staff. Try and get a room with a view of the square, if possible.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praeceptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Wentzl is really a lovely hotel. I would rate it a 5 except for one reason: the bed. My bed was a little hard, which I have read in other reviews. This hotel also is in an absolutely perfect location with spectacular views of the square and church. My only other complaint is that there was no safety latch or chain on the room. I stayed by myself, so I chose to move the bench with my suitcase in front of the door. No one ever came in, but I still found this slightly unnerving. My last complaint is the hairdryer really was a piece of garbage. Breakfasts were nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It can be a little loud at night with the party people in the square. I think that's a wash with the fantastic view.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphySNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Totally perfect for a city break. Perfect location, room 100%, bed large and comfortable, breakfast super. Overall perfect hotel in a lovely city

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#9 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing