We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to see Krakow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #103 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“great place to see Krakow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here with 8 friends for a stag night and wht a perfect base to get around Krakow from. Hotel itself is a bit of a maze comprising an older and newer part, thankfully there are mutliple entrances to make getting to your room a little easier.

Service was good although we didntuse much of it after check in. Rooms were huge and clean, although the green decor and hard beds were a little out dated.

Great bar attached to the hotel is where we spent leasuirely afternoons with the food, drink and service all being great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    264
    106
    35
    22
See reviews for
104
171
55
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed in the hotel royal for just one night on our way to a family wedding. The service was very good. The rooms were large and very clean. The staff were helpful and very polite. Breakfast was enormous. The choice was brilliant. I had a room on the street side and fell asleep listening to the trams. Great night sleep, clean sheets and comfy mattress what more could you want. Lovely bathroom with very hot water and loads of light. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: The family rooms are vast and the single rooms have plenty of space with double bed if preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed with my cousin last week. There was a great deal on so we booked there. We got a wonderful surprise when we saw that they had upgraded us to an apartment. I can only describe it as huge. I've read other people's reviews who have found things not to their liking and I was concerned about it but it turned out that these didn't bother us e.g. traffic noise outside. Our room was to the front of the hotel overlooking Wavel Castle. The hotel is also smack bang in the middle of the main square, Rynek Glowny and the Jewish District, about 10 mins walk in either direction. Breakfast was standard fare except there was very little for my vegetarian cousin.. The downstairs restaurant, Pow Wavelen is fantastic. Huge portions, friendly staff and complementary vodkas!
Be aware that if you do go there - no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (they told us we had to buy our own :(( ; iron & hairdryer only available at reception; towels and bottles of water changed everyday but bed not made or cups cleaned. The weather was warm and I could appreciate how stuffy it will be in the Summer with no a/c. There was a large flat screen tv with only Polish channels unfortunately.
We loved the hotel, the 40's feel to the room and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if street noise bothers you. Bring a hairdryer and your favourite tea/coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Royal Hotel is perhaps the most split personality hotel I have ever stayed in. The entrance and reception is all slightly decayed elegance harkening back to wealthier times. The rooms vary from seedy and pokey to almost luxury. It all depends where in the hotel you are staying. The hotel is split into old and new. The new is obviously more modern and well appointed than the old but the split doesn't end there. There are two sides literally to the hotel, the park side and the busy street side. Wakening on the park side to the sound of birds is pleasant and stressless. wakening on the street side to trams at 0430 hrs is anything but stressless. My advice is ask for a room on the parkside when booking. I'll leave it to you to decide whether old fashioned elegance or modern luxury but remember, the cheap rooms on the street side in the old part are cheap for a reason, and the corridor there smells of cabbage from the wonderful restaurant (a must try).

Room Tip: pick the park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_k_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garvagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

this was our 5th stay at The Royal, we were so disappointed this time, the hotel wasnt as clean as it used to be, the breakfast hadnt the variety like before, i have recommended this hotel to many friends but i certainly wont be recommending it again. we lawasy looked forward to staying at The Royal but definately we shall be looking for other accomodation next time, if anyone has any hotels they can recommend please let me know.

Room Tip: always ask for a room looking out by the park, its much quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane1934071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zalaegerszeg, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The old Royal Hotel is very conveniently located, just a few minutes from the Historic Center.
The room in the old part of the hotel was terrible - old and very noisy with the tram passing just below the window with a big quake. Missing of a lot basic things (WC brush, hair dryer, etc)
The recepcionist confirmed me the fee of the room via e-mail, before paying she mentioned, that 50 PLN extra fee for the parking (approx. half of the room price). I mentioned the confirmation e-mail, she said, that this information is written on the homepage!!!! I walked into the old trick trap.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank torger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Stare Miasto
Maltanski Hotel
Maltanski Hotel
#84 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#42 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#97 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#22 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Ul. Sw. Gertrudy 26/29, Krakow 31-048, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Krakow
Hotel Royal Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing