We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, historic, great hotel (but noisy at night)”
Review of Pollera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pollera
Ranked #119 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Unbeatable location, right in the very center, literally 1 min. from old town square. Beautiful, historic building (squeaky staircase, stained glass windows, old furniture), if the thick walls could only tell tales. OK breakfast (though not put out, you can also ask for eggs, sausages) delicious pates. Visit the - now closed - historic restaurant and try to imagine what life must have been like back in the 1930s or so. Polite staff -- we felt uncomfortable though that the receptionists always stood up, whenever we past by. :)
Only - albeit for some people might be important - downside, is that precisely because of its city center location, it is extremely noisy at night, with partygoers shouting until dawn (if this bothers you, perhaps ask for a room facing the back part). Would definitely recommend for those who appreciate history.

Room Tip: if noise bothers you, ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zvajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 331 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I stayed here over new years. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and I love the fact that every room has it's own style! The rooms are large comfortable and very clean! There is so much history between these walls.
We spent new years eve at a Silvester ball at the hotel. It was lovely! Amazing food, DJ, ballroom, dancing etc.
The hotel is situated just a few blocks from Rynek and the main shopping street. The huge shopping mall is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eivor Mathilde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Right on the edge of the old town & close to the railway station, it's a charming hotel with really helpful staff. Parts could do with a bit of a refresh, but it is really clean & roomy. Kracow's largest nightclub is nearby, so late night noise can disturb sensitive souls, but we were there when the EURO 2012 football was going on & that didn't seem to impact too much on the noise front. Great access to Restaurants, tours, trams, taxis etc - well worth a stay !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apuskidette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Pollera is an old world-style hotel, with antique furnishings, beautiful stained glass, and helpful staff. Rooms are large, with comfortable beds, an ample sitting area, and modern bathroom. The Pollera is conveniently located near the train station and about a 3 minute walk to the heart of Krakow, the square.

So much for the good stuff. For me, the all-night street noise from rowdy clubbers and traffic is the reason I gave this hotel two stars instead of four. Screaming, cursing, and drunken laughter seranaded me from sundown until about 4 am. Although I was on the second floor, the constant barrage of noise made sleep impossible without ear plugs. In addition, the room had no air conditioning. It was a long and very uncomfortable night with little rest.

The hotel is situated near nightclubs and gentlemen's clubs, so I don't know if this noise is typical. But for me, the Pollera's charms were ruined by the shrill and constant noise from outside the hotel.

In addition, take your street smarts if you venture outside the hotel. The pockets and zippers of backpacks and purses or wallets worn toward the back of your body are subject to itchy fingers.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

You will enjoy the Pollera Hotel with it's excellent location in the old city. It is a historical hotel that is renovated, but has the old fashioned charm of the 1800's. Our room had twin beds and a nice sitting area. The hotel was about $100USD per night including breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The room is really big, in our room we have a living room. the bathroom is rebuild so is quite new. our room it was inside showing the garden so really quiet. The bed is not really king size but is confortable. the furniture is really old fashion. the room was clean. tehe breakfast was good enought and the best is the location.. the staff was so kind

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuciliSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel is definitely old fashioned, so if you are looking for a modern hotel, this won't be for you. The staff are really helpful and friendly and speak brilliant English. We always stay in this hotel when visiting Krakow but it is only usually for one night on our way to/from other areas of Poland. If I were staying longer than 2 nights, I would look for somewhere that has tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a better selection of English speaking TV channels. Its location is perfect for the main square and train station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#94 of 261 in Krakow
169 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Floryan
Hotel Floryan
#127 of 261 in Krakow
132 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#32 of 261 in Krakow
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#27 of 261 in Krakow
525 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#72 of 261 in Krakow
646 reviews
Stare Miasto
Wit Stwosz Hotel
Wit Stwosz Hotel
#71 of 261 in Krakow
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollera

Address: ul. Szpitalna 30 | Old Town, Krakow 31-024, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $62 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pollera 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pollera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollera Krakow
Pollera Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing