We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Pod Roza”
Review of Hotel Pod Roza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pod Roza
Ranked #70 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Pod Roza was an amazing hotel, the rooms are clean and huge. I enjoyed my stay so much, i will definitely be staying at this hotel again if I go to Krakow. By far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Krakow/ Poland I would recommend beautiful country, lovely food and lovely people.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jackie85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 415 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have stayed here on two separate visits to Krakow and love the location as well as the staff and amenities. I feel like a queen when here for everyone is so accommodating and so very nice to me. The best restaurant in Krakow is also located within the hotel so that is also a big plus for me...Restaurant Pod Roza.

Room Tip: I travel with a white noise machine so sound is not an issue for me. Just be inquisitive and ask abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaningryta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I am staying at this hotel as I type. Visiting Krakow with a teenager to soak up the history,atmosphere and traditions. What would be better than staying in the heart of the Old Town, in the traditional mansion house hotel?
The hotel is large and provides specious and comfortable accommodation. Our room is located at the back of the hotel, overlooking glass roofed courtyard. I'm in awe of all the traditional elements preserved and modern comforts provided. Spacious wardrobe,safe deposit box,satellite TV,telephone, mini bar (a bit pricey), beautiful parquet flooring, marbled bathroom with both standing shower cubicle and jet spa bath. The room is warm, air conditioning works well, it's comfortable, clean and safe.

The bathroom has a standard 220v(2 round pin) electric point, modern quality appliances, white fluffy towels, bathrobes, slippers and L'Occitane toiletries (soap,shower gel,shampoo & conditioner, body lotion). The spa jets produced black gunk on first use but then worked well.

The breakfast provides self service buffet with choice of cold cuts or cooked options with selection of coffees and hot chocolates to order.

Staff are great - starting with Reception, Porter through waiters and cleaners. Everyone greets guests with a smile.
The Reception has booked as tours, taxi at short notice; checked opening times and prices, gave us directions etc. Nothing is a bother and service is delivered in a professional & efficient manner.

I really like the hotels quiet, dignified presence and calm atmosphere in a bustle of the outside world. This hotels provides first class base for sightseeing and provides free wifi for a modern traveller.

Thank you for making our stay so comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank CamilleWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay and taking the time to write such a nice review.
I am glad that your stay was comfortable and fulfilled your expectations. We kindly invite you to our hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after being recommended to do so. It is in an excellent position just off the main square in the old town of Krakow. The staff were pleasant, the breakfast was excellent and we had a lovely last evening meal in the Italian restaurant in the hotel with excellent service from the staff. We had been told that it can get noisy late at night and we were allocated room 209. We asked for a quiet room which we could have had (on 4th floor) if we had waited a further 2 hours (we had arrived at 11am) but declined to do so as after being up early and being tired we wanted to get to our room - however we were fine with 209. The reception staff checked our return taxi (booked through resort hopper) to make sure of the time they were picking up and also booked us a taxi for visiting the Polish Aviation Museum. They also checked the entry prices for us and luckily for us we were visiting on a Tuesday and that day is free!! All the Polish people we met were pleasant and the restaurants we visited were very good. We stayed for 3 nights which was enough for what we wanted to do and we had lovely weather - overall very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 209 which was fine but as others state 4th floor may be quieter in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetjockeyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you very much for your kind opinion about Pod Różą Hotel & Restaurant. We all are very happy that you were satisfied with your room, breakfast, evening meal and our services. We kindly invite you to our hotel & restaurant in the future.
Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very well situated on Florianska Street and a few yards away from the main square Rynek Glowny which would imagine it's heaving in summer. We asked and got a large quiet room 411 overlooking the internal glassed courtyard, very quiet until 6am when the maids started using the service lift next door, however this only lasted a couple of minutes, but beware if you are a light sleeper. The rooms and corridors are very dark, both having no overhead lighting and only dim wall lights, however there is adequate lighting in the bathroom. The double bed was comfortable, but the pillows were a bit solid. The shower was powerful enough, had a range of good quality toiletries, nice fluffy towels, dressing gown and slippers, nice touch. The heating and air conditioning worked a treat, if a little noisy and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was bliss!

Breakfast was a little limited but tasty and staff were very professional and provided excellent service, similarly desk staff. Would return if in Krakow.

The only real negative was the lack of tea and coffee in the rooms, unheard of these days.

Room Tip: Room 411 larger than average quiet room overlooking restaurant and internal courtyard, with a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you very much for your kind opinion about Pod Różą Hotel.
I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay. We all hope you will stay with us again.
Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel is situated perfectly if you are in Krakow for a walk in the centre of the old town.

The streets around the hotel are mostly for pedestrians. The downside of that is that getting there is not as swift as if you would go for a hotel outside the old town.

The hotel bulding is an old one, conservatively decorated. Will probably agree best with people seeking traditionel (not modern) hotels.

The food in the restaurant is fine, and the breakfast is ok, but not more ´than that.

The Hotel is situated on the corner of Florianszka and Switego Tomasza streets. Just opposite the hotel in Switego Tomasza street is a nightclub, which I hold responsible for the ongoing shouting from youth hanging out outside the nightclub all night. This definately is disturbing for your sleep. I will adwise travellers to ask for a room facing Florianska street to limit the noise during the night, though I doubt this will completely relieve guests from street noise.

The fitness room on the top flor is advertised as having a view over the roofs of the old town. However it is not quite high enough for that, so the view is rather more a view across the small yard to the other side of the hotel. It comprises four fitness machines which is a little number for a hotel of this size.

Room Tip: I will adwise travellers to ask for a room facing Florianska street to limit the noise during the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nordahl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and notes regarding your stay at the Pod Różą Hotel. It is always very important to receive the information about the Guest satisfaction.
I would like to mention that Hotel Pod Różą is the oldest hotel in Kraków, situated in the former Renaissance palace of Prospero Provano.
I am sorry that you were dusturbed with the noisy pedestrians. We always do our best to change the rooms of the Guests, who are light sleepers.
I hope you will come back to our hotel in the nearest future.
Kind regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed between Xmas and New Year. Wonderful hotel set in the centre of the city. The staff were very helpful in helping plan trips. Close to all the night life. Breakfast really nice. Rooms comfortable and warm ! I will be going back in the summer !

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up the building - less noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you very much for your opinion about Pod Różą Hotel.
We are very happy that you are satisfied with your stay.
We kindly invite you to our hotel in the future.
Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#76 of 261 in Krakow
500 reviews
Hotel Stary
#52 of 261 in Krakow
738 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#91 of 261 in Krakow
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,103 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#29 of 261 in Krakow
513 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#27 of 261 in Krakow
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Roza

Address: ul. Florianska 14, Krakow 31-021, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Krakow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#33 Family Hotel in Krakow
#37 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $108 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Roza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod Roza Hotel is the oldest hotel in Krakow. It is located between the Florianska Gate and the Main Square, in the heart of old town. The hotel is on the busy Royal Route, which leads millions of tourist straight to the Royal castle. Since the 17th century it has played host to numerous international luminaries. Tsar Alexander I of Russia, Grand Duke Constantine Romanov, Persian emissary to Napoleon Mohamed Riza, Franz Liszt, Honore de Balzac are amongt many eminent guests that stayed here. STET DOMUS HAEC, DONES FLUCTUS FORMICA MARINOS EBIBET ET TOTUM TESTUDO PERAMBULET ORBEM - Latin proverb, engraved at the entrance of the palace guarantees that nothing will change for the centuries to come: "May this house stay here until the ant drinks all of the sea water and the turtle ends its route around the world". Following its refurbishment this four-storey hotel, located in the former Renaissance palace of Prospero Provano, meets all the modern standards of hospitality. 57 Rooms are available, including seven suites. Each floor has a unique decor, from the stately and distinguished biedermeier style to the cosy contemporary arrangement. The colorful polychrome on the walls, historic tile stoves, woodblock floors, graceful stuccowork with the recurring rose motif testify to the hotelier tradition that has been nurtured throughout the centuries. Each guest room is equipped with air-conditioning, phone, complimentary high-speed Internet access, plasma TV and minibar. The bathrooms, featuring luxury Italian fittings and heated floors, are tiled with natural stone (granite, marble, basalt, mica). Two elegant restaurants are housed on the former courtyard under a glazed roof. Each has a unique style, decor and service. At weekends the food lovers are entertained by live piano music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pod Roza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Roza Hotel
Pod Roza Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing