We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central hotel”
Review of Hotel Pod Roza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pod Roza
Ranked #81 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great central hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Lovely oasis of calm just off the main square. We had booked a double room but only twins were available. The hotel staff went the extra mile to upgrade us to a very lovely room with typical Polish stove and jacuzzi bath, and were most apologetic that it only had an internal window & view ( which was not an issue). The buffet breakfast was also fantastic with prompt , excellent service for coffee / tea and eggs cooked to your preference. Would definitely recommend this hotel for its excellent central location in the Old Town so a great base to see everything on foot, and close to all attractions and excellent bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, General Manager at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your stay at the Pod Roza Hotel and nice review left after it. It is very nice to read that hotel Staff and services made your trip more enjoyable.
We kindly invite you in the future.
Best regards
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    138
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
168
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

my partner and I stayed in this hotel for two night, and what a gem of a hotel. located just 100m from the main square. the staff were very friendly and helpful. breakfast was continental and a made to order hot section. our room was large and very warm, the bed was large and comfortable. our bathroom was amazing with a jet bath and heated floor. we have been to Krakow many times and this by far is the best hotel we have stayed in. our next trip will be to this hotel and if you are thinking of visiting Krakow, treat yourself and stay here.

Room Tip: choose a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeb2ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your review.
I am really proud to be the manager of the best hotel in Kraków you have stayed in.
I will pass your opinion to the staff.
We all hope to host you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We decided to visit Krakow for the Christmas markets. Not as full on as others but tidy, clean, well organised and nice food and wine. We chose toe stay at this hotel for its proximity tot he markets. We have now discovered that you need to stay inside the old city to get the best of your visit to Krakow. Don't bother with the little electric sightseeing buggies if you are just looking around the city. If you are able to walk, everything is close enough to see in a day - and that is taking your time!

This is a lovely hotel - tall ceilings, spacious rooms tastefully decorated. Well set up marble bathroom with whirlpool bath, strong shower and plenty of provisions (i.e. soaps, gels, etc) - more than most. Comfy large bed - and robes provided.

Breakfast is well presented, a great range and cooked items and coffee made fresh and to order.

Other reviews have mentioned the noise from outside. Not sure if its fair to blame the hotel for this - but I now know what they mean. There can be a great deal of street noise - late into the night and early morning. If you are a light sleeper - bring ear protectors! I had a good nights sleep - once I adjusted to it.

There was only one observation I would make and that is to do with the lounge/dining room. We called in after a wander around for a glass of wine before deciding what to do for an evening meal. The place was deserted. Not a soul - right through till 9pm when we left. We were the only ones. We had our glass of wine and then went out. Whilst out we had two more glasses of wine and a three course meal - which cost us just twice the cost of the one glass of wine we had before going out. Maybe that had something to do with it. A shame because every place we went to was full of people - except our own hotel.

We had quite a good deal for the room - and I would say good value for money given the location and quality of venue and service.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the 4th floor - further away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your visit and taking the time to write such a positive review.
We all are very happy that you were satisfied with your stay.
According to your opinion about our restaurant - I am really sorry that you did not try it. It is actually one of the best restaurants in Kraków. Sometimes all of the tables are reserved, but not every day.
We do hope you will visit us again and have possibility to try also our restaurant.
With best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Located in the heart of the picture-book-style beautiful Krakow city, Pod Roza is an excellent place to stay when in Krakow. You walk out the door into the main street that is lined up with numerous restaurants, pubs, eateries, shops, souvenir stops and buzzing with activity all day (and night) long. One side of the street leads to the Main Square which is a really beautiful place - so serene, so relaxing and so very typical of a European small town.

My check in experience was great, the hotel even arranged for a pick up from the airport at a nominal cost. My room on the 3rd floor was spacious and beds comfortable. The room was well equipped with Free WiFi, a small TV, a big writing desk, a spacious wardrobe, wooden floor, a carpet, 2 large beds and a well appointed washroom.

The mini bar inside the room was lavishly furnished with the best of the liquor brands, wine, soft drinks, water (still as well as carbonated).

The hotel's café was pretty good and is housed below a big sky-lit roof. The food was good, and the staff service was excellent. The staff was very very courteous, polite and always wore a smile.

This hotel is perhaps one of the oldest heritage buildings in the town. It houses cellars hundreds of years old, some of which have been converted into conference rooms to host meetings and conferences.

Public transport is easily reachable within walking distance from the hotel. Most tour operators can be found again within walking distance from the hotel and they pick you up from the hotel should you choose to book a tour with them.

Overall, at Pod Roza I found an excellent location, wonderful service and a memorable stay.

Just one thing I missed in my room - a tea/coffee kettle for that early morning bed tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnoopyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your opinion. Each feedback is extreamly important to us.
It is great pleasure for me to read that Hotel Pod Różą, toogether with its atmosphere and the service, fulfill your expectations and made your stay pleasant.
We kindly invite you to our hotel in the future.
Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just off the main square, this hotel offers a location that's convenient to all you want to do and see. The décor in the room was unusual, but the beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious & quiet, overlooking the side street. The bathroom and amenities were very nice. Free Wi-Fi in the room was a good feature. The breakfast buffet was adequate and the one dinner we had in the main dining room was very nice. The bar is a bit out of the way, but the prices were good and the setting, overlooking the dining room was very pleasant.

Room Tip: The bathtubs are very deep and have no handles to grab....might be difficult for a senior....ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for choosing Pod Roza Hotel and spending your time to give us such a kind feedback on your recent stay.
Moreover, I am really happy that you enjoyed both: breakfast and dinner at the Pod Roza Restaurant. It is nice to read that the standard of our services met your expectations.
We kindly invite you to Pod Roza Hotel & Restaurant in the future.
Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

loved Krakow and loved this hotel just off the main square. Location could not have been better, rooms were nicely furnished and my understanding is that each of them is a bit different from another, and our room, which was across from the elevator...was QUIET! I never heard a sound. Staff were helpful and even took care of a late laundry emergency for the next day and did a fabulous job! Restaurant is quite gourmet...which is not my thing...but many in our group really enjoyed it. I would stay here again and recommend it highly!

Room Tip: our room was in a skeptical location-across from the elevator on the third floor, and at the edge of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you very much for choosing Pod Roza Hotel for your recent trip to Krakow.. We honestly appreciate your review. We are really glad to hear that you had a great time during your stay. Your positive comments will be shared with our team.
With best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were passing by when we noticed that this hotel had a set lunch for 50 zloty (about £10). We stopped off and had a wonderful meal. The 5 courses included a cold starter followed by soup and then a small pasta dish followed. The main course was salmon with accompanying potatoes and vegetables. The sweet course was a delightful creme brulee. The waiters and waitresses were attentive, courteous and polite. And to think we were only passing by!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, General Manager at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our restaurant. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch. We hope that in the near future you will come back to Cracow and stay at the Pod Roza Hotel this time. We would be also very pleased to have an opportunity to welcome you again in our restaurant. Thank you very much for your recommendation.
Best regards
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#51 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Hotel Unicus
#47 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#55 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#90 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#69 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Roza

Property: Hotel Pod Roza
Address: ul. Florianska 14, Krakow 31-021, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Krakow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#33 Family Hotel in Krakow
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Roza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod Roza Hotel is the oldest hotel in Krakow. It is located between the Florianska Gate and the Main Square, in the heart of old town. The hotel is on the busy Royal Route, which leads millions of tourist straight to the Royal castle. Since the 17th century it has played host to numerous international luminaries. Tsar Alexander I of Russia, Grand Duke Constantine Romanov, Persian emissary to Napoleon Mohamed Riza, Franz Liszt, Honore de Balzac are amongt many eminent guests that stayed here. STET DOMUS HAEC, DONES FLUCTUS FORMICA MARINOS EBIBET ET TOTUM TESTUDO PERAMBULET ORBEM - Latin proverb, engraved at the entrance of the palace guarantees that nothing will change for the centuries to come: "May this house stay here until the ant drinks all of the sea water and the turtle ends its route around the world". Following its refurbishment this four-storey hotel, located in the former Renaissance palace of Prospero Provano, meets all the modern standards of hospitality. 57 Rooms are available, including seven suites. Each floor has a unique decor, from the stately and distinguished biedermeier style to the cosy contemporary arrangement. The colorful polychrome on the walls, historic tile stoves, woodblock floors, graceful stuccowork with the recurring rose motif testify to the hotelier tradition that has been nurtured throughout the centuries. Each guest room is equipped with air-conditioning, phone, complimentary high-speed Internet access, plasma TV and minibar. The bathrooms, featuring luxury Italian fittings and heated floors, are tiled with natural stone (granite, marble, basalt, mica). Two elegant restaurants are housed on the former courtyard under a glazed roof. Each has a unique style, decor and service. At weekends the food lovers are entertained by live piano music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pod Roza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Roza Hotel
Pod Roza Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing