We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for a city break in Krakow”
Review of Hotel Pod Roza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pod Roza
Ranked #72 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best hotel for a city break in Krakow”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Wow.......the location is fantastic, only about 200 yards from the main square. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the main street and we didn't hear any outside noise.
The bedroom room was beautifully furnished, the marble bathroom with underfloor heating and spa bath was amazing!
Breakfast was plentiful, freshly prepared and served in a really pretty restaurant. Had lunch on one day and it was stunning, presentation was 1st class, service was exceptional but the food itself was absolutely amazing. We were given complementary hand made sweets while we waited for desert.....beautiful!
Hotel staff were very helpful and went out of there way to find me a hairdressers open on a Sunday and then gave me detailed directions on how to get there. They then gave me many compliments on my new haid do when we got back!
I loved this hotel and would never stay anywhere else in Krakow. Try it for yourself......tou wont regret it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fr0gemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for visiting Pod Różą Hotel & Restaurant. We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback from our guests. We always do our best to create cosy atmosphere in our hotel We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    142
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
176
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location based on the main street leading to the main square. Hotel staff were very polite and helpful and spoke excellent English which put me to shame! The room itself was very clean and spacious but lacked tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was excellent, fantastic light fluffy freshly cooked omelettes along with cold meats, cereals, fruit and an assortment of bread and cakes. The only downside was the noise from bars outside which went on until the very early egg my hours of the morning (5am!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the main or side street if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevedawnsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all I would like to that you for review you wrote.
It is nice to read that our Guests enjoyed their stay. As you have noticed, the Florianska street is quite busy even during the nights, so the rooms with street view may not be comfortable for some of our Guests. We have some rooms with courtyard view and we always change them on request (of course only if it is possible).
We invite you again and hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner, we had our own apartment Suite, with two bathrooms, one wasw a beautiful Spa Jacuzzi room, with under floor heating. It was really decorated well, 100 % clean and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Krakow. It is just off the main Market Square in the Old Town and couldnt ask for a btter location.

The breakfast was so lovely, beautifui coffee every morning with lots to choose from the buffet.

!00 % recommend this hotel

Room Tip: its all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your stay and nice comments.
I am glad that your stay was comfortable.
We kindly invite you to our hotel in the future.
Best regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. One block away from the main square. Its on the main street going into old town. Its small but well kept and with great service. Lots of places to eat in the square. Its about a twenty minute walk to the Castle Complex. Old town is still partially surrounded by its medieval walls.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the main street. Gets noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We all are very happy that you are satisfied with your stay.
Hope to see you, soon.
Kind regards,
Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed five nights at Pod Roza when we explored Krakow. It is a very well presented hotel and our room was very comfortable. The marble bathroom was quite luxurious. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but they do an interesting degustation menu which we would have liked to try. The only minor reservation was that it is becoming a party town and a moderate amount of noise can be heard during the night and early morning. We had to bring our booking forward a day and I must say communicating directly with the hotel was much more effective than through Expedia.
(By the way, I posted this review on Expedia but it was rejected for some reason)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in Pod Roza during Easter time in Krakow. Pod Roza has an excellent location only a few blocks from the center of Old Town. the room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Free breakfast was amazing, it was everything you could want and more. The only thing I could say that was distracting was so street noise as people where going home at early hours in none morning but with that close of location to the main square it is understandable. I would definitely stay there again. The cost of the room was good in terms of cost for a similar hotel in the U.S. I loved hearing the bugler from St. Mary's Church. Krakow is a great value city to visit and so beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located very near to the main square. Our room on the first floor was large and the bed comfortable.

However, there was no lounge chair and the air conditioning was hard to control.

The staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good - a wide variety of food was available. If ordering boiled eggs, specify the number. I ordered boiled eggs and got just one.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunyabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 260 in Krakow
704 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#93 of 260 in Krakow
163 reviews
Hotel Unicus
#54 of 260 in Krakow
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,079 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 260 in Krakow
513 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#90 of 260 in Krakow
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Roza

Property: Hotel Pod Roza
Address: ul. Florianska 14, Krakow 31-021, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Krakow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#33 Family Hotel in Krakow
#36 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Roza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod Roza Hotel is the oldest hotel in Krakow. It is located between the Florianska Gate and the Main Square, in the heart of old town. The hotel is on the busy Royal Route, which leads millions of tourist straight to the Royal castle. Since the 17th century it has played host to numerous international luminaries. Tsar Alexander I of Russia, Grand Duke Constantine Romanov, Persian emissary to Napoleon Mohamed Riza, Franz Liszt, Honore de Balzac are amongt many eminent guests that stayed here. STET DOMUS HAEC, DONES FLUCTUS FORMICA MARINOS EBIBET ET TOTUM TESTUDO PERAMBULET ORBEM - Latin proverb, engraved at the entrance of the palace guarantees that nothing will change for the centuries to come: "May this house stay here until the ant drinks all of the sea water and the turtle ends its route around the world". Following its refurbishment this four-storey hotel, located in the former Renaissance palace of Prospero Provano, meets all the modern standards of hospitality. 57 Rooms are available, including seven suites. Each floor has a unique decor, from the stately and distinguished biedermeier style to the cosy contemporary arrangement. The colorful polychrome on the walls, historic tile stoves, woodblock floors, graceful stuccowork with the recurring rose motif testify to the hotelier tradition that has been nurtured throughout the centuries. Each guest room is equipped with air-conditioning, phone, complimentary high-speed Internet access, plasma TV and minibar. The bathrooms, featuring luxury Italian fittings and heated floors, are tiled with natural stone (granite, marble, basalt, mica). Two elegant restaurants are housed on the former courtyard under a glazed roof. Each has a unique style, decor and service. At weekends the food lovers are entertained by live piano music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pod Roza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Roza Hotel
Pod Roza Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing