We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, convenient, but very noisy setting”
Review of Hotel Pod Roza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pod Roza
Ranked #72 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, convenient, but very noisy setting”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Poland. We stayed for 2 nights at the Pod Roza. The Hotel was very nice and had a great breakfast included in the price of the room. Usually continental breakfast in the States means coffee and cold pastry, but this breakfast was amazing...eggs, meats, cheeses. Very nice.

My reason for booking with the Pod Roza was to be a bit off the main square, because I understood it could be noisy- but the hotel is across a side street from a bar- and since the weather was so beautiful, people were outside yelling, singing etc. until 3:00 AM. Keeping the windows closed and using the a/c helped a bit- but it still kept us up at night.

Being 40 somethings that are a bit past the rowdy bar scene, we were happy that we chose not to spend the entire time in Krakow in this Hotel and moved up to the other side of the Florianska Gate- a little further walk to the Square, but far more quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseytraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    142
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
176
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful, grand building, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are exquisite. The showers are fantastic and each bath has a jacuzzi function - very welcome after a days walking! The staff were lovely and very helpful. The location is great and only two or three minutes walk to the main square, and about ten minutes walk from the railway station which is useful if you come in that way from the airport. Breakfast was good although the majority of the buffet was meat, cheese, salad and pickles - which seems to be very popular in many European places, but isn't really our cup of tea!! The coffee was excellent quality though. The only downside (and it was a big downside for us as we enjoy our peace and quiet) is that it's on a very busy road for pedestrians. Our room was on the side of the hotel which they told us was quiet!! They didn't tell us that our room overlooked a number of bars which don't close until 3am every night (that goes for all bars etc in town - Friday and Saturday night are big party nights). There was also a loose drain cover on the road and every time a car went over it, it woke us up! We moved to a room that was at the back of the hotel which was quieter, but on Friday and Saturday nights, the town is very noisy and even with earplugs in we could hear music and shouting until the early hours. It's a shame as the hotel is so lovely. If you don't mind the noise then definitely stay here. If you do, ask for a bedroom off the streets!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrooveArmada58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Excellent, located in the heart of the city, this boutique hotel at the market belongs to the famous family of hoteliers in Krakow. The gourmet restaurant, offers an interesting selection of Italian cuisine and the largest in Krakow cellar of Italian wines. Unfortunately, it is often empty because of the money available for a typical resident. Very attentive staff. Wide choice of dishes for breakfast. L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom. Small, intimate mini-gym with sauna and a view of the backyards and roofs of Cracow. Apartments and junior suites are particularly noteworthy. Would avoid attic room in the attic because of the almost claustrophobic small size. Best time to visit Krakow this May, June and September.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Podroznikwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We visited Krakow for a "betwixmas" 4 night break. We caught the end of the Christmas market and start of the city's lively new year celebrations. Pod Rosa has a fantastic location and is a beautiful and stylish hotel. Our room was cosy (when it was -8 outside) and had all mod cons its just unfortunate that the warmth didn't really extend to the staff in reception or the restaurant. It wasn't that they were inpolite, just cold and to the point. A smile goes a long way in a "home away from home". A bit of variety at breakfast would also have been nice, e.g. different fruits, pastries and cheeses on the cold buffet and a bit less of a focus on eggs on the hot menu. Perhaps the hotel is geared more towards one night stay business clients, where variety doesn't matter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dubey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were lucky, we won weekend in hotel in Cracow. Super big attic room, extra comfortable bed. I guess You cannot sleep closer to main market (it may seem that in room can be loud - but fortunately it is not). Interior looks good, hotel has quite large restaurant. Main positive is location, evening walk in centre of old town is not a problem when You sleep next door to Florianska street :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel is within spitting distance of the market square and so everywhere is walkable. We booked early and got a very reasonable rate and (by our standards at least) was quite luxurious. Room was clean, bathroom well stocked with everything you would need and internet connection was good and free. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful including hot meals you could order. Very tastefully decorated and great location. downside to the location was that it could be noisy at night but it is air conditioned and so yu could close the windows. One evening we were 'entertained' by some very loud African drummers who penetrated even the closed windows.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport in Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My daughter wanted a romantic wedding in Cracow with the Apaloosa horse & a white carriage! She got both!
After doing some intensive research with her fiance & obtaining menus, prices etc they went for a few days to check them out.The Hotel Pod Roza was extr emelly helpful & accommodating with all their preferences & requests. My husband & I spoke with them on a number of occasions by phone & met up with them subsequently.
We narrowed down the menu & the hotel provided a degustacion(tasting of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts & three soups.(one plate for the four of us in each category)
We had a brilliant wedding dinner followed by an evening of dancing to a jazz band & a buffet.
Everyone commented that this was the most amazing food they had eaten in Cracow & that the presentation & flavour was magnificent,The restaurant is open daily for meals & snacks.
The bridal suite & visitors bedrooms were modern, immaculate & splendid.
The whole hotel operation is run by Pawel & Andrzej & the staff are very professional.
It was a brilliant experience & We shall be eating there again when we go to Cracow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TurnipTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#51 of 260 in Krakow
704 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#94 of 260 in Krakow
163 reviews
Hotel Unicus
#57 of 260 in Krakow
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,079 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 260 in Krakow
513 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#89 of 260 in Krakow
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Roza

Property: Hotel Pod Roza
Address: ul. Florianska 14, Krakow 31-021, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Krakow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#33 Family Hotel in Krakow
#36 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Roza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod Roza Hotel is the oldest hotel in Krakow. It is located between the Florianska Gate and the Main Square, in the heart of old town. The hotel is on the busy Royal Route, which leads millions of tourist straight to the Royal castle. Since the 17th century it has played host to numerous international luminaries. Tsar Alexander I of Russia, Grand Duke Constantine Romanov, Persian emissary to Napoleon Mohamed Riza, Franz Liszt, Honore de Balzac are amongt many eminent guests that stayed here. STET DOMUS HAEC, DONES FLUCTUS FORMICA MARINOS EBIBET ET TOTUM TESTUDO PERAMBULET ORBEM - Latin proverb, engraved at the entrance of the palace guarantees that nothing will change for the centuries to come: "May this house stay here until the ant drinks all of the sea water and the turtle ends its route around the world". Following its refurbishment this four-storey hotel, located in the former Renaissance palace of Prospero Provano, meets all the modern standards of hospitality. 57 Rooms are available, including seven suites. Each floor has a unique decor, from the stately and distinguished biedermeier style to the cosy contemporary arrangement. The colorful polychrome on the walls, historic tile stoves, woodblock floors, graceful stuccowork with the recurring rose motif testify to the hotelier tradition that has been nurtured throughout the centuries. Each guest room is equipped with air-conditioning, phone, complimentary high-speed Internet access, plasma TV and minibar. The bathrooms, featuring luxury Italian fittings and heated floors, are tiled with natural stone (granite, marble, basalt, mica). Two elegant restaurants are housed on the former courtyard under a glazed roof. Each has a unique style, decor and service. At weekends the food lovers are entertained by live piano music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pod Roza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Roza Hotel
Pod Roza Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing