We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
Ranked #81 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Came here with friends for our traditional New Year's trip. The hotel was excellent. The staff were all extremely pleasant and unfailingly helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was comprehensive and enjoyed by all the group. The bar is small but has a good atmosphere and cheap drinks. I would certainly sty here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your very nice opinion. It was a honour for me to read it. I hope you will choose us also during your next trip to Cracow.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    371
    137
    43
    11
See reviews for
98
337
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I returned this morning from a 3 night stay at Best Western Old Town. Overall I was pleased with the stay. We arrived at 12pm, check in isn't until 2pm but fortunately the room was ready so we were able to drop our bags and head into Krakow. The hotel is in the perfect location, a 2/3 minute walk to the main market sq. and also Wawel Castle and just a 10 minute or so walk to the Jewish District. Breakfast wasn't up to much, but I never have great expectations when breakfast is included in the price for a hotel. There was a good enough range of fruit and cereal however the scrambled eggs which is what I usually eat were only just cooked, very runny, and the fruit juices were warm. The staff all seemed friendly, especially the cleaners which isn't always the case, which can't be said for the rest of the natives who I found very rude and arrogant. The room was big enough, we were on the third floor at the front of the hotel, the bed was very comfortable however the trams woke me up whenever one went past as they are very, very noisy. My advice would be to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're woken up fairly easily. All in all though, I would say I was impressed for the price.

Room Tip: Guests staying in rooms at the back of the hotel will not be woken by the trams. Avoid the front if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornOfFrustration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your feedback, each of tchem is really important for us. I know about noisy trams, but we are in the city center nerby the main road with trams, so we are not able to stop them. We always change the rooms if the Guests ask to the back site (of course if we have got availability). Hope you will choose us also during your next trip to Cracow.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights mid December 2013 to experience the Christmas Markets, the hotel itself is brilliantly located only a 2-5 minute walk to the centre of the Old Town and a 10 minute walk to the Jewish quarter. The room we stayed in was large and located on the 3rd floor at the front of the building overlooking some of the back of the Old Town, whilst the room was large and very well decorated with all the mod cons (including free wireless internet), the constant noise from the trams outside meant that sleeping was not easy. The breakfast buffet was brilliant lots of choice and local delicacies. I would definitely recommend staying here (the price we paid for 2 nights with breakfast was unheard of in the UK) however I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid sleepless nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the noise of the trams at the front is quite loud and can l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smileycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your opinion. It is very import for us. It could be some noise from the trams, but we are in the city center nearby the main road, so we are not able to change it. Hope you will choose our hotel also in the future.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I am a disabled person so when we booked 6 months before we went we asked for the rooms could be next together and when we got there we were 4 rooms apart usually my carer is next store and if I need anything I would knock the wall and she would come in so I did not feel safe and the guy on reception did not want to know so I was really disappointed in the hotel the breakfast was ok the rooms were ok there was no tea or coffee in the rooms just 2 small bottles of water and I like going to Poland I have been going there for the past few years and the other hotels were a lot better and it is a pity and the tram runs outside of your room all day and I think it stops about 11 and starts about 6 and the pictures of the hotel on the net look nothing like the hotel

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 730kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your feedback. Each opinion is very important for us. However, if we are fully booked we are sometimes not able to put the Guests in the rooms next to each other(this is just the request, and we do this if we are able). In BEST WESTERN*** hotels we are obligated to give our Guests free mineral water, coffee/tea making facilities are in our hotel in luxury and premium rooms, in standard rooms - it is on request (this information is in the Guest Directory in each room). We are in the city center next to the main road with trams, but we are not "hiding" this information. We are not able to stop the trams, but instead of this we are in good location - a few minutes from the Main Square, Wawel Castle etc.
Hope, you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

A great stay in Krakow. Right in the middle of the old town. Short walks to everything you want to see. Very clean and organized hotel. Parking was good, staff is very friendly. They went out of their way to make my stay great. Rooms were clean and quiet. great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your feedback. It is important for us.
Hope, you will choose us one more time.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereforshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here at the end of November for a long weekend break.
Ideally situated within walking distance of the square where the Christmas Market was situated. Also lots of cafe/bars to eat and drink till the early hours.
Rooms small but adequate for what we wanted ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it can be quite noisy from the trams, which start at around 5.00am on the main street outside the hotel.
Breakfast continental but plenty of choice every day.
Would deff. stop her again if visiting Krakow, would also recommend a visit to Auschwitz need a guided tour and allow 3/4 hours. Also hired a car and drove to Zakopane in the mountains which was beautiful. Very picturesque lots of snow and very cold!
Schindlers factory very interesting too in the Jewish quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel or one of the new "Jazz rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneHereforshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your opinion. It is very nice for us. I hope you will stay soon with us one more time.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fohnsdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is located within a five minute walk of the old town area of Krakow. The room was small but comfortable. There is a grocery store next to the hotel which was very convenient. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was getting into the hotel parking lot: there was a sign saying it was closed so we didn't know where to park. Turned out the sign was there to prevent non-hotel staying people from using the lot. Breakfast was really great with hot eggs, polska kilbasa and bacon, plus plenty of breads, meat and cheeses!

Room Tip: Parking lot for hotel guests! Ignore the sign that says it is closed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skjarzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your feedback. I hope you will choose our hotel also in the future.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya
#106 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#23 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#67 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town

Property: BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Krakow
#54 Business Hotel in Krakow
#71 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krakow Old Town Hotel Krakow
Rt Monopol Krakow
Hotel Rt Monopol
Monopol Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing