We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copernicus Christmas”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #45 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Spent the holidays in this hotel - moving from Krakow to Malaysia and forced to spend holidays hotel living. This hotel, however, made a difficult task of spending the holidays in a hotel tolerable! Very attentive staff and quite beautiful rooms. The hotel is fairly well situated, near the Rynek but off the beaten path a bit so as to avoid the poetential noise. Breakfast every morning is fairly good - would be my only complaint - could use some variety. By Polish standards, however, quite a nice breakfast spread. This hotel will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmerPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you for spending this special time with us. I hope it will bring you nice memories during the year. Hoping to welcome you soon I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 526 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2010

hotel copernicus is probably the best quality hotel i have ever stayed in. stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 30th birthday present from my girlfriend, was on the expensive side but for a one off luxury weekend it was worth it. the staff were absolutley fantastic and tendered to our every need. the hotel is in a perfect location in the old town a 2 minute walk from Wawel Hill and with lots of great restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk. the hotel itself is small with only 28 rooms which leads to a cosy atmosphere. the room was spotless with heated floors in the bathroom. The bathroom products were from L'Occitane which my girlfriend was delighted with. Hotel Copernicus is definetly on the higher scale of hotels in krakow but if you want to splash out i recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Copernicus while visiting Krakow. I hope we have a chance to welcome you again in the nearest future. All the Copernicus team wish you all the best for the coming Christmas time.

Lookig for your next visit at the Copernicus I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
General Mangaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We looked it up first and it seems, this is the only Relais&Chateau hotel in Poland. It is slightly larger than they usually are but very impressive. We particularly liked the fitness centre in the cellar, a beautiful combination of old architecture and modern equipment. Great restaurant also though fairly dearer than other places in Krakow. The building is located in a cosy and peaceful ulica Kanoniczna at the bottom of the royal castle. The rooms are spacious and also combine old and new in a tasty manner. All within a walking distance from Rynek and the Jewish quarter. Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcclanejohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Very stylishly renovated old building mid-way between castle and main square - perfect location. Room large, comfortable, stylish. Good service and breakfast. Small gym and pool in basement, very attractive (better lighting in the gym and access to free weights would have made it better). Only criticism is that smoking is allowed in the lobby, which means the smoke gets into the breakfast area, gym, and hallways - unhygienic and smelly (but smoking everywhere is a big problem in Poland generally).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

First, Krakow is an incredible city and a must for travelers. The Hotel Copernicus is a very nice hotel in an incredible location (across the street from John Paul II's Krakow apartment, next door to JP2 museum, three blocks from Old Town Square and one block from Wawel Castle).

The staff is very helpful and attentive (maybe not effusive, but very good) and the hotel is very attractive. It is an old villa and has been converted beautifully. Our first room wasn't very good (shower, no tub--and a bizarre arrangement of bed and stairs), but we were there four nights and they moved us to a much better room.

There is a rooftop bar, which has incredible views, but the weather was cold and service not available--however you could get a drink and enjoy the view on your own.

As in many Polish hotels, Wireless Internet was only available in the bar and lobby area. A minor drawback for the Copernicus.

The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. And did I mention the location? An easy stroll into Krakow's spectacular main square and some of the most beautiful churches in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarEagleCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

While the photos looked amazing, the reality was a small, tired and battered hotel with little atmosphere. The location is great and, as you drive up, you're thinking "wow". And then you go in. The grand hall is without real character, the lounge has bad strip lighting and the room (single) is about 4 paces by 3 with no view (skylight) and bland decor (though beautiful wood floor). And then the stunning pool...well, it was shut. The staff were all really nice but a luxury hotel this is not.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r_a_hilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Selected this hotel for my wife's birthday following advice on TA as well as word of mouth from a Polish friend. We were not disappointed.
The hotel was stunning with roaring fires and harvest vegetables strewn about providing a warm autumnal atmosphere. The rooms were stylish and comfortable with very nice bathrooms and toilettries.
We arranged trips to Auschwitz and the Salt mines through the Hotel and these proved effortless and hassle-free options at reasonable prices - the basement swimming pool was a welcome relaxation at the end of the day.
The hotel is about a five minute walk from both the Kazimierz district and the main square, and is situated literally beneath the castle. In the square the Wedel Chocolate lounge is a must on a cold day - hot chocolate as thick as cream filled with your choice of fruits, spices or flavours. Also in the main square we selected the Wierzynek Restaurant for a special birthday meal and again were not disappointed. The restaurant has been a feature in the city for hundreds of years and the food was excellent. I booked online prior to arrival and explained it was my wife's birthday - at the end of our meal a beautiful cake came out of nowhere and without any arrangement - really nice touch.
Krakow makes the perfect choice for a romantic weekend break and I cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markthebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 267 in Krakow
2,167 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#74 of 267 in Krakow
521 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#86 of 267 in Krakow
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Stary
#54 of 267 in Krakow
766 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#14 of 267 in Krakow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#12 Family Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $143 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing