We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!!”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #32 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
westchester county, ny
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just spent 4 magical days in krakow where we made hotel Copernicus our home. We were met by Joanna, the hotel manager, who effervescence and warmth made us feel more than welcome. Our room was large, comfortable, with everything one could need. Hotel staff is efficient and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed the Copernicus so much. It was my pleasure to welcome you personally . All the Copernicus Team is aviating your future visit in Krakow.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    113
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
72
251
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at Copernicus before on previous visits and return because for location, comfort, elegance and history, this hotel is hard to beat. There are cheaper places to stay but because Krakow's old town is such an attractive place to wander and admire the buildings, sit at cafe tables sipping a latte and watching the world amble by, we always feel our time is enhanced by staying here. Breakfasts are served in the main hall area as well as the restaurant space. Try and get one of the 4 marble tables in the main hall as it is naturally lit and bright and you can enjoy the surroundings as you have your cooked or cold breakfast. Reception staff are smart and helpful and all speak excellent English (and other languages as well). They have a good restaurant but there are many others within easy walking distance so we always feel spoiled for choice. There is a small gym and a pool the size of an extra large bath if you feel like a swim or some exercise. Think about a stay here - coming out of your hotel and gazing up at the nearby magnificent Royal Palace is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms can be quite small so ask about size when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for returning to the Copernicus Hotel and your kind appreciation of the Staff . I am always happy to welcome our Guests who stayed with us before . It means a lot to our Team.
We are hoping that you find many reasons to come back to Krakow and one of them will be the Copernicus Hotel.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Located as you come down from Castle Hill. Two centuries old buildings joined by a courtyard covered by a glass ceiling.
Warm and welcoming. Food was excellent and a great place to stop for a lunch after seeing the castle and cathedral.
Relais et Chateau never disappoint and this is no exception! Great location for seeing the sights of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy that you enjoed the stay at the Relais & Châteaux Copernicus Hotel and we met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you in our small historical property in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent three nights here on business. It's a fine hotel in a nice part of the Old Town. My room had nice furniture, ample space, great toiletries, and was super clean. Breakfast could have been better. Not a lot of fruit and the pancakes and waffles looked like they came out of a frozen pak. Service throughout the hotel was sublime. I had the pleasure of dinner at the hotel and it was superb.

Room Tip: Keep the windows closed to avoid noise from within the hotel courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Copernicus Hotel for your recent stay in Krakow and your kind appreciation of our Staff. We take under consideration your kind breakfast suggestions.

We are hoping to welcome you in our hotel in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

For a weekend break the Copernicus is a nice hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights in early September and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very conveniently located being less than a 5 min walk to the Castle and less than 10 to the main square. The public areas are well maintained and very clean although the breakfast area is small, a little boring and can get busy in the mornings even though the hotel is relatively small (29 rooms). I would describe breakfast as good with a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts and pastries all set out and you can order a small selection of hot foods which are made fresh - everything was replenished quickly and the service was very good. As had been mentioned, our room was on the dark side and we only had a bath with a shower head and so missed a shower cubicle…or we soaked the bathroom which was often the case. The room also had a TV showing a small selection of english speaking channels as well as a mini bar and safe. Sadly, there is no real bar area (and the roof top terrace was closed during our stay) as you either use the one sofa or the breakfast tables and chairs but the restaurant looked inviting - we didn't eat there preferring to eat out. Service was good but we did have one issue with a failed restaurant booking which left us without a booked restaurant on a Saturday evening and having to search throughout the town (the good restaurants do get busy so its advisable to book). During our stay we ate at Pod Aniolami (less than 5mins form the hotel and food and service were excellent), Boscalola (pleasant Italian) and Trzy Kroki (this restaurant is close to the station so a 5min taxi ride or 20 min walk but was very much worth it with the food excellent). We also had some lovely lazy lunches around the square and just watched people and the horse drawn carriages roll by. We did visit Auschwitz which was an incredibly moving experience as well as the mines which was interesting but the tour should be shorter.

Overall we very much enjoyed our trip to Krakow and The Copernicus is an ideal hotel for a short stay but I would consider our hotels if staying longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mario,

Thank you for a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
We serve you the dinner in our Restaurant when you visit our hotel the next time with pleasure:)

Hoping to welcome you at the Copernicus shortly all the Copernicus Team is sending you our best personal regards,

Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

we styed there recently and found this hotel very charming and elegant.
the rooms are very updated and service is extpional
we did not have dinner but will try it next time
breakfast is very good and the home made jams are to die for

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for a nice feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to receive a really nice comments on your recent stay in Krakow. I hope you visit us again and try our Restaurant . Our Chef is awaiting your visit 

Hoping to welcome you in Krakow soon I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to state, how people can rate a hotel or resort without seeing,
experiencing any other hotesl or resorts in that destination.
While I was in Krakow I visited 7 other resorts, did mini site inspections.
Now, the Copernicus was wonderful! Each staff member outshined the other.
The main Star was Joanna Wilgierz, General Manager who greeted everyone
& offered suggestions, even introduced us to the executive Chef Mark who
prepared a marvelous welcome dinner for our little group.
Knowing this was a gourmet dinner, the presentation & portions exceeded our
dining expectations & Included breakfasts were spectacular! Entire hotel was
immaculate. Joanna is a beautiful professional her huge eyes & alabaster skin
reflected some of the beauties we saw in the art in Krakow. Thank you for a
marvelous experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside court were delightful. While no major views, our family had 4 rooms, all g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANIS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Janiceanne,

Thank you for a lovely feedback regarding the visit in our hotel:)

All your group was just lovely. We had a real pleasure in hosting you at the Copernicus. Marcin Filipkiewicz our Chef is sending you his best personal regards:) He said that he can not wait to prepare another party dinner at the Copernicus Restaurant:)

Kisses from Krakow for you and your friends:)

Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 260 in Krakow
704 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 260 in Krakow
2,008 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#75 of 260 in Krakow
479 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#88 of 260 in Krakow
622 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing