We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and super friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #22 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

we styed there recently and found this hotel very charming and elegant.
the rooms are very updated and service is extpional
we did not have dinner but will try it next time
breakfast is very good and the home made jams are to die for

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for a nice feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to receive a really nice comments on your recent stay in Krakow. I hope you visit us again and try our Restaurant . Our Chef is awaiting your visit 

Hoping to welcome you in Krakow soon I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Copernicus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 503 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to state, how people can rate a hotel or resort without seeing,
experiencing any other hotesl or resorts in that destination.
While I was in Krakow I visited 7 other resorts, did mini site inspections.
Now, the Copernicus was wonderful! Each staff member outshined the other.
The main Star was Joanna Wilgierz, General Manager who greeted everyone
& offered suggestions, even introduced us to the executive Chef Mark who
prepared a marvelous welcome dinner for our little group.
Knowing this was a gourmet dinner, the presentation & portions exceeded our
dining expectations & Included breakfasts were spectacular! Entire hotel was
immaculate. Joanna is a beautiful professional her huge eyes & alabaster skin
reflected some of the beauties we saw in the art in Krakow. Thank you for a
marvelous experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside court were delightful. While no major views, our family had 4 rooms, all g...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANIS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Janiceanne,

Thank you for a lovely feedback regarding the visit in our hotel:)

All your group was just lovely. We had a real pleasure in hosting you at the Copernicus. Marcin Filipkiewicz our Chef is sending you his best personal regards:) He said that he can not wait to prepare another party dinner at the Copernicus Restaurant:)

Kisses from Krakow for you and your friends:)

Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This Relais & Chateau hotel is located just under Wawel Castle at the edge of Old Town Karkow. When I was there with my husband back in the mid '90s, we rented a flat but ate in the hotel's dining room. We were so pleased with it we decided to stay at the hotel this time around.
The prices are not too bad (doubles start at 215 Euros including VAT).

Our hotel room was pretty small but the mini-bar is nicely stocked and there was air-conditioning and a nice step-in shower.

The cool thing about this hotel is that 15th/16th century Renaissance astronomer Nicolaus Copernicus actually stayed in this building when he visited Karkow. They have preserved some impressive frescoes inside the building and in many of the public rooms have preserved the spirit of that time.

My favorite place in the hotel is the roof-top 'bar' available only to hotel guests. The views of this beautiful city are nonpareil.

Dinner in the hotel's restaurant is slow and tasty, just the way we like it. There's a Chef's tasting menu for 5, 7 or 12 courses, but the main menu is delicious.

We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Our top floor room had only a tiny window at floor level overlooking the front of the hotel and we h...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoEllen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment on Trip Advisor,

It has been a real pleasure for us to host you at the Relais & Châteaux Copernicus Hotel.
I am hoping to welcome you in our hotel when you are traveling to Krakow the next time .

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel Copernicus was to be the highlight of our visit to Poland. Having done considerable research we were really looking forward to our choice of hotel for Krakow.
Well located certainly but not what you expect for Relais and Chateau. Our twin bedded room was dark with only a window onto the hall. We had arrived on a delayed train having only time to deposit our bags in the room before a prebooked long tour of Auschwitz.
We did not find the beds comfortable and were offered a change of room at around midnight but that was something we couldnt face after such a long day.
There were several issues we had cause to complain about and on leaving we did ask to see alternative rooms which would have been available for our short stay.
We were shown a lovely light spacious room with skylights on a higher floor which was far far nicer than the one we were given.
I cannot understand why a hotel would offer a dismal room when a far nicer one had been available.
Breakfast unimpressive. A big disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Light100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I am so sorry that your visit at the Copernicus Hotel was a disappointing experience .
I can assure you that we are always trying to make our Guests stay as pleasant as possible and try to meet their expectations. If there is anything wrong with the room we switch the rooms subject to the Hotel availability.
I sincerely hope that you give us a second chance and you visit our hotel again and we do our best to provide you an excellent experience from your visit in Krakow.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I wanted to love this hotel. It's perfectly situated within a few blocks of the Main Square. It's an appealing smash-up of ancient and relentlessly modern, with exposed pipes worming their way through wrought iron balustrades. The Copernicus is a Relais et Chateaux hotel, with all the upsides of romantic settings and appearance, wonderful restaurant and the feeling of being coddled in luxury. BUT our room suffered from the ancient with the bathroom up two rather steep stairs and no shower! A confusing array of hardware in the bathtub made kneeling showers necessary. It was also rather dark since the windows fronted onto the hallway. I'm sure other rooms didn't have our downsides - so make sure you get one with a shower and one level.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a shower if that's how you like to bathe - and that all rooms are on one leve...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanMFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a lovely stay in this historic hotel. Our room was huge, with high ceilings, hand painted decoration and a big marble bathroom. Very efficient air conditioning so very comfortable temperature. Pretty quiet street and a good location - 5 mins walk south to the castle and 15 mins north to the large central square at a leisurely pace. A bit too far from the bus and train station to walk with suitcases. The no 10 tram stop is about 10 mins walk from the station and drops you 5 mins walk away from the hotel. We didn't sample the food at the hotel as it was a bit pricey but found plenty of very cheap places nearby and found a very nice Italian restaurant a few doors up on the other side of the road from the hotel. You will be spoilt for choice for eating establishments however and the food was uniformly good wherever we ate. There is a small pool at the hotel which we didn't try as we were too busy sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is the best we have stayed at during our travel through Eastern Europe. The rooms are large, quiet and elegant. The breakfasts are very good. The location can't be beat. And the pool and sauna in the catacombs are very atmospheric. It is worth coming here just to enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#57 of 261 in Krakow
715 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,047 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 261 in Krakow
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#86 of 261 in Krakow
628 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#13 of 261 in Krakow
675 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $167 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing