We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in the heart of Krakow”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #22 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we had a rooftop suite which was truly fabulous, with amazing views of the castle. A short flight of stairs took us to the roof terrace, where you could order drinks and gaze over the city. my daughter swam in the basement pool, which is nice but tiny and really only room for one if you want to do laps! lovely breakfast with excellent fresh fruit, pastries, and lots of cooked options such as eggs benedict. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the huge junior suite at the top for views and very quiet. great if you are sharing with your child.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerladylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you have spent such a nice time with us. We would be delighted to welcome you at the Copernicus again.

Best personal regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Copernicus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 503 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment our cab driver dropped us off at its understated entrance on a cobblestone street at the foot of the Wawel Hill, we knew we were in for a unique experience. From the fresh flowers artfully placed in huge vases to the professional and helpful staff throughout the hotel, the Copernicus is full of small and big treats -- like the roof top terrace, open only to hotel guests, from which you have a spectacular view of the Wawel. The hotel was created 12 years ago when two buildings owned by the Krakow diocese were combined, gutted and rebuilt to include a beautiful atrium with a glass elevator, rooms with an ancient look but all the modern conveniences, a small swimming pool and sauna. With generous uses of wood, marble and plaster frescoes, it is difficult to imagine a better way to be introduced to the wonderful city of Krakow.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are more quiet than rooms on the atrium. Some rooms have only showers; others h...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

What a lovely experience staying at the worldly hotel Copernicus these past few days. Service over the top, fabulous food, both at breakfast and at a four-star dinner restaurant...can I mention the can-do service attitude? Easy walking to anywhere in central Krakow. Roof-top garden, swimming pool, great bathrooms!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank HighFlyerORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is one of the oldest buildings on one of the oldest streets in Krakow -and it's in a fabulous location for exploring the entire old town. It's not a completely gutted, 21st century oasis, but the rooms are clean, the bathrooms new and well-furbished and the staff and service first rate. We had a room on the third/top floor with its own sky light and our three adult children shared a larger room on the same floor. The breakfast buffet was terrific, with smoked fish, cereals, cheeses -the whole nine yards. In addition, we were asked each morning if we would like a custom cooked breakfast of eggs, pancakes, etc. The pool was lots of fun -had its own current making machine. We had a terrific time here and would highly recommend it to anyone -I don't think Krakow has a better hotel but don't know for sure. We would choose to stay here in any event because of the location, service and cleanliness. The restaurant was good, but not exciting in any way and the service there I'm sorry to report, mediocre.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor facing the street and didn't mind hearing the horse carriages outside or...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hotel Copernicus has many benefits, but first and foremost is the location, location, location. The hotel is nestled right at the base of Wawel Castle and is a whopping four minute walk from the main square.

Benefits to this hotel include air conditioning, free & fast wifi, lovely service, a grotto inspired swimming pool, and comfortable rooms.

The hotel is low key but don't be fooled, it is well furnished and has beautiful views, well kept furnishings in the room and a beautiful marble entryway. The bathtub in my room was huge and the water pressure was great; the tv was a good flatscreen.

Hotel staff is friendly and knowledgeable, they recommended great drivers for us and had many suggestions on nightlife, shopping and restaurants.

The restaurant was good. Not the best, I wouldn't give it a Michelin star or rave, but it had a wonderful chef course and apparently I had missed Roman Polanski dining there by a night (apparently he is a regular). Good wine list. Breakfast was to be expected - hot dishes and a spread of breads, fish and cheeses - typical for Eastern Europe.

Gym was sub par - they could have used ellipticals, free weights and some mats - but the massage room made up for it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottenotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Now it's clear to is why Krakau hasn't got a Michelin star. Copernicus tries to imitate Western European restaurants but lacks originality, authenticity and class. Also small details like uncomfortable chairs, high tables, no homemade or other biscuit,chocalate nor praline with the coffee, not explaining the cheeses and offering the table next to us a different sweet whine with the dessert although it was included in the dish made this an overpriced evening out. It's better to spend your money on the cheaper but more rustic, authentic and less blasé restaurants in Krakau.
For fine dining go West.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a special place, as is all of Krakow. The hotel itself is comfortable and cozy but exquisitely furnished in period decor. I felt as if I had gone back in time, when Kings reigned, lords and knights wielded swords to protect their lands, and princesses lived in magnificent castles on the hill.

Back to reality. The rooms are not overly large, especially the bathrooms, where there isn't room for two people to ready themselves at the same time, nor is there really any space to place a toiletry kit. However, that is my only criticism. We had reliable internet access, which is critical because my husband works while on vacation and requires service capable of handling voice over IP.

The rooftop terrace is a delightful place to enjoy a late-afternoon, or early evening drink. On one side, the Wawel Royal Castle looms large; on the other, towers of the Romanesque Church of St. Andrew rise up next to the varoque dome of St. Peter and Paul's Churck. It's really very breathtaking. We didn't take advantage of the pool in the lower level, but it certainly looked inviting in its medieval brick vault.

The hotel is situated on Krakow's oldest street that winds its way toward the Wawel Castle, but is only just down the street from the Rynek Glowny, the main market square and the social hub of Krakow.

The staff at the Hotel Copernicus are professional and pleasant. The breakfast buffet is fresh and delicious. We enjoyed dinner at the Copernicus Restaurant, surrounded by genuine frescos and renaissance ceilings. We had the special, 6-course Chef's menu, which was traditionally Polish, but creatively and artistically seasonal and modern.

Aside from our superb experience at the Copernicus Hotel, we enjoyed Krakow immensely. I highly recommend the free tours that start in the Rynek Glowny. You'll also want to enjoy lunch or dinner at any of the many cafes surrounding the vast square. I wish I could remember the name of the quaint cafe we dined at the first of our 5 nights in Krakow because the Goulash was the very best that I and my friends had ever had - hands down!!

So many Eastern European towns claim to be the next Prague, but in my experience, I believe Krakow has laid claim to this honor. It's history is vast, although its most known for its WWII history, which you'll find in the old Jewish Quarter and at Auschwitz, only 17 km away and a haunting experience. We stayed in Krakow for 5 days and never ran out of things to do and see, as well as sit in the Rynek Glowny and relax and people-watch. I could go on and on about the wonders of this small, historic city, but I'll leave it at this and reiterate, once again, how much we enjoyed the Hotel Copernicus as our home base in Krakow.

Room Tip: We had two double rooms, which were nice, but I would have liked to have stayed in the luxury suite...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vailworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#57 of 261 in Krakow
715 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,046 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 261 in Krakow
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#86 of 261 in Krakow
628 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,091 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#13 of 261 in Krakow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $167 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing