We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of investment, no staff traing”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #49 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a "designer" hotel which means form takes precedence over function.

The set up: The inner-courtyard rooms look over the breakfast area and since there is a glass roof over the court-yard, those rooms do not get fresh air. They do benefit from the noise of the breakfast being set up from 6am. The rooms facing the street are pretty nice, but... (i) have poor sound insulation which means the 6:30am recycling truck collecting glass bottles will be your wake up call, (ii) while the rooms are huge, they offer tiny amount of storage space. Also, the bathrooms have glass ceiling such that if you turn on the light in the bathoom the entire room gets illuminated - sounds funky until you realize that it forces couples to use the bathroom in the dark not to wake up the other half.

Other service lapses: it took 10 minutes for the wait staff to "find" the only high chair and they had to be asked to wipe off the food residues from the last diner who sat in it; we ordered 4 glasses of juice; only 3 were served and the server left... after a few minutes we remineded the waitress about the missing glass - she shrugged her shoulders and said:" ah, we ran out of oranges". The next morning, when we ordered the juice we were told - we are out of oranges... Given that this was mid-week and all sorts of supermarkets were opened, this approach really shows contept for guests in what purports to be a $700/night Relais & Chateaux property.

The breakfast buffet is pure CEE: sausages, pickled herring, slices of kraft cheese and hard boiled eggs. Poor selection of stale bread, cornflakes and milk.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard facing rooms as they have no fresh air and look over the breakfast area. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed for a long weekend,it is the most unusual hotel I have stayed in,it is in a wonderful setting and has beautiful views the log fires make it really homely,breakfast is made to order and is lovely,it is very close to many wonderful sites and the main square,staff were very helpful and we were picked up and returned to the airport free of charge.i cannot fault it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

An old monastery well renovated in an excellent location and only a few steps from the main square. The hotel is well managed with friendly staff but guests should make it a conditon to have a room only on first or second floor. The third floor rooms have no windows but only glass covers on the roof and one really feels a bit like in a prison! But as long as this is taken into consideration, it is a hotel to be recommended.

Room Tip: Make it a condition not to be on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel must most certainly leave the rest in Krakow standing. It is in the oldest part of Krakow and away from the hustle and bustle, but yet so close to all Krakow has to offer. The staff are beyond first class. Nlothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautiful, old world and oozing character. Krakow for me, has got to be the nicest city in Europe. It has a relaxing chilled out atmosphere, with fantastic restaurants, with prices so low it is unbelievable. Please ignore the totally false negativity, expressed by some reviews and I agree with last reviewer some comments are ridiculous.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms have their own character. Suites are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ella020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great, classic hotel. We look for original, historic, high-end hotels in great locations whenever we travel to Europe, and this hotel is the epitome of that description. Right by the castle. Two minute walk to the old town square. Krakow is a GEM. One of my favorite cities in the world after this visit. I don't have a single complaint about this gorgeous hotel.

I've read some of the complaints on this hotel (there are not many), and they seem silly. A few of them are actually ridiculous. If you don't appreciate this place, you aren't made to travel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearcatMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great hotel and location. Breakfast was simple but everything you needed. Stayed in room 108, with only frustration no shower. Staff lovely.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank LouiseandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was a business trip, and our group stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early April 2012. The hotel is located right in the center of the city, near Wawel and King's Castle, within a 5-minute walk from the Market Square. We arrived in Krakow by a night train from Warsaw and we drove from the railway station to the hotel, we were amazed by the medieval stone-paved streets of the center of Krakow lit by only a couple of lights on the walls of the buildings. When the car stopped at the hotel in an empty narrow street we thought that we had moved a couple of centuries back. But that's the prelude.
Now, the main tune. The hotel is really perfect: everything starting from the lobby and ending with the roof garden was excellent. The restaurant recommended by Michelin guide is above all appraisals. The breakfast was perfect, and some of our group also tried their dinner there, and they were also very pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. The hotel is located in an old building, and all its premises, corridors, rooms (btw there're no more than 40 rooms all in all) etc remind of some medieval castle of Copernicus' time. All but the spirit of Mr. Copernicus, although at night there was an impression that he would come... My room 105 was quite a strange one. It had no windows.. well, there was one window, but it was into the corridor not the street and you had to always keep it curtained otherwise guests from the corridor could easily look into your room. That was I think the only negative thing about the room. Other rooms were also with some 'specialties': some of our group lived on the top-floor, and in those rooms the windows were in the ceiling. In one case the wall between the two rooms was so thin, that the girls who lived there, heard one another's talking on the phone, alarm clock etc. So, first check your room and only then agree to stay in it. However, the hotel is a small one, so it may happen that there will be no more rooms available for exchange. All the rest was perfect.
I think I can recommend this hotel, however, one must always keep in mind that due to its exclusiveness, location, style etc. the price is not low. Well, this could go for a business trip, but when it comes to your money, the room w/o windows in Krakow shoudn't cost more than 200 euros, should it?
It's difficut to write when everything is flawless, so I suggest you should have a look at my photos. If you have any additional questions, you're always welcome to contact me.
Finally, my thanks to the team of the hotel, who acted perfectly in all situations and reacted to our requests promptly and friendly.

Room Tip: My advice: first see the room, then choose. Tastes differ, and rooms sometimes are really strange th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 262 in Krakow
753 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#37 of 262 in Krakow
2,110 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 262 in Krakow
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#88 of 262 in Krakow
644 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#14 of 262 in Krakow
702 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#12 Family Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#27 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $147 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing