We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service and a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #44 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Relais and Chateaux property. We loved it, and got a very good rate on a day-before stay. The property was recently re-done, and the rooms in a 15th century building really made the place special. There was a pool in the lower level (did not use it, but it looked inviting) and we felt warm and welcomed. Breakfast was exceptional, and we could not have asked for a better place. When we arrived from the overnight train, the staff were friendly and when we asked about Auschwitz, she told us how and where to catch the bus, also told us of tours available, and we asked her to book us on one. The tour at 129 zloty pp (about 35USD ) was an exceptionally good value and we were so glad we did it.
The comments in TA were that it might be a bit noisy, so we asked in advance for a quiet room, and they gave us a wonderful room that was quiet and restful. They were very happy to store our luggage for the day when we were out touring, and we cannot say enough nice things about the place and the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHOBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    109
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
69
235
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Everything we thought it would be and more!! We spent 4 nights here over New Year. Perfect location minutes from the castle and a short walk to the main square. Situated on a quiet cobbled street it was idyllic. It was a shame the weather was so mild we really would have liked some snow as it would have looked so beautiful.
If you like classical music we visited St Peter and St Paul's church just a few minutes walk away for a concert. It was fantastic the acoustics in the church was something else well worth it. think it was 50 zloty each.
All staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were greeted but the hotel manager who was lovely. We have no complaints other than we wished we could have stayed longer. A stunning hotel!!
I would definitely stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Copernicus twice in November 2011 and was quite pleased both times. As other reviewers have noted, the place is a walk from the central square (5-10 minutes) or the train station (15-20 minutes). It's on a quiet street - which, frankly, could be better lit - where you'll also find at least one very good Italian restaurant (La Campana). The staff is friendly and speaks English well (whew!).

There's a very large lift (rare and welcome!) and both the rooms I enjoyed were quite sizeable, too. Furniture is heavy old wood and can seem a bit gloomy. In one of the rooms I had, the bed cover featured a few rather appalling stains. I quickly removed the cover and set it aside but the housekeeper simply put it back on the bed the next day.

Complimentary bottled waters were much appreciated; you don't want to drink tap water in Poland.

The breakfast buffet included a wide variety of offerings, much more than is typical. Unfortunately, the otherwise charming young woman assigned to pouring coffee each morning had a terrible cold during my visits. (I hope she's feeling better by now.)

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the top floor. Mine had skylights and was just across the hall from an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcepuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Reviwer,

Thank your opinion about the stay at the Copernicus on Trip Advisor.

Mrs. Olga is feeling much better and she is sending you her best regards. We are hoping to welcome you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Best pesonal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

South of the main square in a quiet area, so not as central as other hotels and a walk from the main train station.

Historic building, which is well done, but has its disadvantages as it was not meant to be a hotel when it was built in the 15th century.

Excellent restaurant, general areas and service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Copernicus for your stay in Krakow. We appreciate your kind comments. Indeed in XIV th century the house was build to be a private Palace . When the owners took over the building in 1997 they made fantastic job to preserve all the historical paintings, ceilings and walls that we may admire presently. Of course some technical solutions are different from the standard hotels but that was the way to continue with its uniqueness and respect the history of the House. Thank you for understanding.
We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

What a fantastic hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us, arranging tours, taxis etc. The location is right next to the castle, and only minutes from the main square. Very comfy,warm and cosy, esp the heated bathroom floor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for all your appretiation. We would not like you to wait to long to come back to the Copernicus:) Do not hesitate book your trip to Krakow. What we can promise is to do as much as we can to make another stay with us Fabulous!

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We enjoyed a 5 night stay here in October. We loved the location as it was within easy walking distance of virtually all of the places we wished to visit. The hotel is charming and exactly what we hoped to find when visiting Krakow. We had a large lovely room with a view of the castle.
The staff is wonderful - very friendly, very helpful and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the large breakfasts, the outstanding dinners and, of course the bar. The latter provided a wonderful opportunity to sample Polish flavored Vodkas. Joanna, the General Manager, made us feel very welcome. We will certainly recommend the hotel and restaurant to friends and hope to have the chance to return to this outstanding property and city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joefish925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and notes regarding the stay at the Copernicus Hotel. All the team is happy to receive such feedback from you. Hoping to welcome you in our hotel again we are sending you our best personal regards,

Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Copernicus is in the best location in the old town of Krakow - full of cobbled streets, mainly pedestrianised as cars need a license to drive here, lovely old buildings, amazing restaurants on your doorstep, short walk to the main square. Culture seeps out of every corner of the hotel and on the streets. The pool is lovely - in the old cellar and moody.
The breakfast is amazing - the staff very friendly and helpful.
All so easy when you stay here - def recommend.

Room Tip: Our room had one window which overlooked the atrium courtyard - so no view or fresh air however was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for this message of encouragement in our work. All our team have been happy to give you a nice stay in Krakow.

Hoping to welcome you at the Copernicus again I am sending you best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#52 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#32 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#80 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#26 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain a health and wellness spa, which is open non-stop. Massages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing