We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility amidst bustling and beautiful Krakow”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #29 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Tranquility amidst bustling and beautiful Krakow”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My husband and I chose to visit Krakow for our tenth wedding anniversary and booked the Copernicus on the recommendation of a friend (and checked Trip Advisor!). We were not disappointed. The beautiful, historic building is located on a small street just off the main square. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room (102) was huge, atmospheric and tastefully decorated with dark wood panelling throughout. The bathroom was equally impressive and spacious with a powerful shower although no bath.
What I liked about the hotel is that you simply never heard anyone else bustling about -staff or guests, whch made for a very relaxing stay. Room 102 is above the front door however and the street cleaners did seem to get going about 6am which makes for a very clean Krakow but is rather noisy first thing in the morning (we are maybe more susceptible to it as we live in rural Scotland!). We also did have our window open.
Breakfast is taken in the centre of the hotel - there's a buffet offering the usual cereals, juices and fruits as well as a range of cheeses, eggs and cold meats plus you have the option of some hot dishes such as eggs Benedict.. We did have a tour group wandering through, presumably looking at the architecture, as we were eating one morning which we found quite strange.
There's a small but lovely rooftop area set among pots of flowers where you can telephone down for drinks to be brought up. I did notice that the measures for a glass of wine in Poland are much smaller than we are used to in the UK so it's better to go for a bottle! There are only two seats that are shaded however and no parasols are evident so it might be a little too hot up there sometimes.
There is a basement pool and spa area which looked lovely - low lighting and intimate - however we never made it down there, Krakow had too much to offer! Also you can organise a massage which, again, was an intention that never came to fruition.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank your for a lovely note about the Copernicus Hotel. Thank you for sharing this special moment with us. I am really hoping that you will decide to celebrate your future anniversaries at the Copernicus. Beacouse you did not have a chance to use the wellness area please do not hesitate and plan your next trip to Krakow! We will do our best to provide you the most relaxing time here. :)

I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    113
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
72
252
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Perfect location, next to Wawel, on Kanoniczna street, one of the oldest streets in Krakow. The hotel is amazing and beautiful, with extraordinary decor and charm. But.... It's quite aging and need some of improvement. In our room roof windows shade didn't work so we couldn't sleep in the morning because of the sun. In the bathroom the towel hooks were broken. TV didn't work. So the stuff upgraded us to apartment, but it wasn't much better. I mean, decoration was astonishing and very beautiful, but the TV didn't work. That's not what you expect from 5 star hotel. I highly recommend the restaurant which is really a gem! Food is just perfect, and so the service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmutSpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My wife, 13 year old son and I spent four very enjoyable nights at the Hotel Copernicus in July, 2010. I strongly recommend the hotel.

We stayed in one of the hotel’s two deluxe suites. Our room was directly opposite the front desk, in a small hallway that also opened to the stair to the second floor. We had a small foyer, a small sitting room with a desk, a very large bedroom, and a bathroom almost equal in size to the large bedroom. Our son was provided with a cot in the small sitting room.

In keeping with the historic setting, the room was furnished in traditional taste, with our bed on a raised platform. It made for some interesting acrobatics getting into and out of bed at night (you had to roll out onto the platform, and from there step onto the floor). But, the bed was most comfortable, and the bedding of deluxe quality (with the exception of the pillows – the Copernicus continued the odd experience we had in Poland of having only foam pillows and no feather pillows). Lighting throughout the suite was excellent. The bedroom had two separate easy chairs, each a comfortable and well lit place for reading.

The bathroom had a separate soaking tub and shower stall, but had only one sink. There was an armoire in the bathroom that served as the closet for the suite.

The weather was very warm on our first day, but thankfully the air conditioning in the suite was first class. The room was most comfortable, despite the heat.

Even though the suite was at ground level, and the pedestrian traffic rather heavy at various times of the day and night, the soundproofing was first class, and we did not have any issues with noise.

The rooftop bar – which we enjoyed on two nights before dinner, was extremely pleasant, with terrific views over the rooftops of the old town and to the Wawel. Reception and service in general was at the level I expect from a Relais & Chateaux property. The front desk made dinner reservations for us for all four nights, and those were handled perfectly. The hotel also arranged for a private tour of Auschwitz, which went off without problem.

Breakfast was decent, not great, but was included in the room price. We had dinner at the hotel on one night, and found the food and service excellent (although not quite at good as the meal at the sister property, Pod Roza).

This is a fine hotel, operating at a world class level of service and amenities. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Two nights spent here were a real pleasure - wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel has just 24 rooms and is the very centre of the old part of the city just beneath the Castle walls. The centre of Krakow is a few minutes walk away, and there are numerous bars, restaurants, shops and attractions to visit on foot. Even so the cobbled road in which the Hotel stands is very quiet and there is nothing to disturb a good nights sleep. The staff are exceptionally helpful and do eveything they can to make your stay a real experience. There is a pool and sauna in the basement. We ate in the Hotel restaurant on the first night, super food and an interesting wine list featuring botttles from many usually neglected areas such as Sicilly, and Calabria in Italy to the better known New World and Chile. Breakfast is taken in the centre courtyard under a glass atrium and is varied and plentiful. The room we were given was spacious, faced on to the centre and had a marble bathroom. All in all a real uplifting experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PyttsPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My father and I stayed at Hotel Copernicus very recently, and all I can say is wow. The service was great, and the room was very spacious. We had a great view of St Peter's and Paul's Cathedral, and I adored the location. The hotel is located on Ulica Kanoniczka at the bottom of Wawel Hill. It is only a five minute walk to get to the main market square, and a two minute walk to get to the castle. The rooms were really big, and the bed was massive. The decor of the hotel was really nice, and I liked it. It was really medeival like furniture. I really enjoyed the breakfast, they had a really wide selection of teas, and really good hot dishes, which are a some-what rarity in Poland. The restaurant for dinner was also really good. The pool was really nice too. Overall, this hotel was excellent, and really is a gem in Krakow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Wow!

Thank you very much for your fantastic comment . We are looking for your next visit in Krakow . We will do our best to make it a wonderful experience.

Best regards,
Joanna Wigierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

When I arrived I knew this place was going to be special, the location is perfect! I was greeted as soon as I walked through the door and given a guided tour of the ground floor of the hotel, it made me feel like I was being welcomed into a home (really nice) The decoration is superb and the service excellent - I wanted for nothing. I ate at the restaurant both evenings I was there and I was catered for very well as a vegetarian. Will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Copernicus and it will be our privilege to welcome you again in a future visit.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speyer, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night for business in early Feb 2011. It is a nice small hotel (only 29rooms) with a nice courtyard, where brekafast is served. It nicely combines the old structure with modern elements.
The room was big and even though facing the street very quite. It has preserved the charm of the old days, but all modern facilities are available. Nice big bathroom with good shower.
Sleep comfort was good and I was even asked if I wanted to have a turn-down service.

Overall a good stay, but the hotel is a bit pricy (~170Euro/night) incl. breakfast.

Location is good, as it is just a short walk to Wawel castle and it is located in the quiet part of the old town

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikezens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 260 in Krakow
704 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 260 in Krakow
2,009 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 260 in Krakow
480 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#90 of 260 in Krakow
623 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing