We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #90 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Old style”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel gives me double feeling
First well located in the middle of the town so you can access to many pubs and clubs.
But the other side if the medal is the noise actually all night long people making party around
After the hotel is getting old and it's not exactly a 4 stars hotel according to European standard
Staff is helping but not smiling and I think they should work on it
Rooms are large, not all of them with double bed
Bathroom are large but not with many towels as you can get in 4 stars hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    214
    96
    38
    33
See reviews for
101
280
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for a week and found the rooms very spacious by European standards with a table, desk, and two beds in the main room, and a mini bar and closet in the foyer. We found both beds to be very comfortable. This is an old style hotel with beautiful features. The Hotel is in an exceptional location minutes from the square. The best part of this hotel was the receptionist, Marta, who provided exceptional customer service! I travel in excess of 75% of the time for business and I wish I could take Marta with me to every hotel!

Previous posters noted the street noise due to bars outside the hotel and we found this was an issue as well. Fortunately, we kept the ear plugs from our flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 434barbarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Palace Suite smelled terribly, one of most expensive suits in Krakow.
Very uncomfortable bed.
Very old towels.
One key to the room.
Very limited and not professional service.
Bar service very poor, slow and unprofessional.
We've spent in the room no more than 30 minutes and went to find another hotel.
Even we didn't stay in the suit because it wasn't possible to sleep there, we have had to pay for the room.

This is not 5* hotel. Don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Agnes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at Grand Hotel in Krakow was a terrible experience. There was a problem with our reservation and we were given two tiny single rooms for four of us. Rooms were more like small dorm rooms rather than hotel rooms. Hotel standard was at the level of a one or, may be, a two star hotel. I took some pictures to be able to show this “5 star hotel” (as rated by Hotwire, where we made our prepaid reservations) to my friends and to post it on Facebook and warn other people. The only part of our room which was OK was bathroom, which was nice but very tiny. Other issues:
- Air conditioning did not work. Luckily only one night was in the range of 80+ degrees, so we were sweating heavily only one night.
- Gym: none
- Sauna: yes, but you need to ask for it one hour earlier
- Swimming pool: forget it, no such thing
- Rugs: worn
- Service:
o There was a problem with our reservations. We thought we booked two double rooms, but we were told that our reservation was for single rooms and doubles were not available for the second and third night and they gave us two smallest single rooms you can imagine (pictures attached). We asked to be moved to another hotel if they did not have double rooms and were told that we can move, but this will be on us, as Grand Hotel will keep our money anyway. Considering the difference of almost $800 (Grand Hotel night with taxes was around $170 US per night), we decided to stay in these tiny rooms. The way we were being treated (take-it-or-leave-it approach) was unthinkable for a 5 star hotel. We did not even have a chance to talk to the hotel manager. He obviously does not like to deal with problems.
o There was no corkscrew in the room to open a bottle of wine. When we called reception, someone brought it to our room, but would not leave it with us saying that guests steal this staff (and supposedly robes too, we were even given the name of the culprit)…
- Food: Breakfast was nice, but the pancake and omelet person was using one tiny pan and you had to wait for a long time to get your order.
- Location: This is the ONLY rating worth 5 stars, just a block away from the Old Market Square.
In summary, we came to Krakow from Warsaw, where we stayed at the 4 star Sheraton Warsaw. You CANNOT compare these two hotels. Grand Hotel in Krakow is not worth more than 2 stars (including consideration for location). It is mind boggling that this hotel managed to get 5 star rating. It was a COMPLETE waste of our money. We should have stayed in a 3 star hotel Elektor, where I stayed before and had a much better room with much friendlier service and great location for significantly less.
I suggest that Hotwire and Trip Advisor should review the rating of Grand Hotel in Krakow. I attached pictures of our 5-star rooms for you to consider. I wonder why were forced to pay over $170 per room per day (with taxes) for these rooms. Please have a look at the pictures below.
Kind regards,

Tad Balinger
Houston, TX

Unfortunately, I could not attach pictures, but will be glad to provide them if anybody is interested.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbalinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best description is that this is a low-cost 5* hotel. The location is superb, really close to the town center and wawel castle. The downside of this is the street noise, which disappears, if you close the windows. Well, almost disappears, you can still somewhat hear the nightclubs open until early morning. Worse thing is that while there is a carpet in the hallway, it does not cover the wooden floor completely and early morning say 6-8 am, you'll start hearing the footsteps and also the carts which the cleaning staff pushes around.

Our double room was pretty small and the bathroom was even smaller, there is no way for 2 people to visit it at the same time. No wifi in the room. Other than that, the room was comfy and nice.

The place overall is very clean, but somehow the staff forgot to clean our room at all the first day. It took some explaining at the reception for them to get it.

The quality of breakfast was good, but there were shortages of some items since the buffet was small. The staff was replenishing the food continously, but there were still missing some items frequently.

The staff itself seems to be friendly, but they all seem to be either trainees or older people, who don't speak english. I just don't understand why someone keeps replying to me in polish when I am speaking english to them. I'd expect them to know the common phrases and if not, then just call somebody who does. Also, don't expect them to apologize if something is wrong, the best you can get is them noting it down (in case of the missed cleaning) and/or correcting the mistake (when we did not get the coffee which we ordered).

Would I return? Well, if all I cared for was bed & breakfast in the town centre, then maybe yes. Looking for something special? Definitely no.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raetorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a five night stay in the Grand Hotel Krakow in early August, have to say really enjoyed. The staff are very polite and helpful , could not fault the hotel highly reccommend .Just two minutes from the main square where there is a wide choise of good shops, pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is not my favourite type of hotel personally as I prefer modern hotels but it was a snip for what we paid. We booked about 9 months in advance and it was a third of the rack rate just before trip. Staff at reception really good, all you would expect roomwise but breakfast was the let down. A lot of the food not to western tastes and the service was laughable. If you ordered a coffee you got it 20-30 minutes later if at all!! What made up for it was the made to order omlettes - really good every morning.

All in all a good experience for what we paid. If it was a 5 star in UK and you got service and breakfast quality like that you would have went nuts though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo9691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 260 in Krakow
479 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 260 in Krakow
2,009 reviews
Hotel Stary
#50 of 260 in Krakow
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#29 of 260 in Krakow
493 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,079 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing