We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand location, but the rest is average at best”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #86 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best description is that this is a low-cost 5* hotel. The location is superb, really close to the town center and wawel castle. The downside of this is the street noise, which disappears, if you close the windows. Well, almost disappears, you can still somewhat hear the nightclubs open until early morning. Worse thing is that while there is a carpet in the hallway, it does not cover the wooden floor completely and early morning say 6-8 am, you'll start hearing the footsteps and also the carts which the cleaning staff pushes around.

Our double room was pretty small and the bathroom was even smaller, there is no way for 2 people to visit it at the same time. No wifi in the room. Other than that, the room was comfy and nice.

The place overall is very clean, but somehow the staff forgot to clean our room at all the first day. It took some explaining at the reception for them to get it.

The quality of breakfast was good, but there were shortages of some items since the buffet was small. The staff was replenishing the food continously, but there were still missing some items frequently.

The staff itself seems to be friendly, but they all seem to be either trainees or older people, who don't speak english. I just don't understand why someone keeps replying to me in polish when I am speaking english to them. I'd expect them to know the common phrases and if not, then just call somebody who does. Also, don't expect them to apologize if something is wrong, the best you can get is them noting it down (in case of the missed cleaning) and/or correcting the mistake (when we did not get the coffee which we ordered).

Would I return? Well, if all I cared for was bed & breakfast in the town centre, then maybe yes. Looking for something special? Definitely no.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raetorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 628 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a five night stay in the Grand Hotel Krakow in early August, have to say really enjoyed. The staff are very polite and helpful , could not fault the hotel highly reccommend .Just two minutes from the main square where there is a wide choise of good shops, pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is not my favourite type of hotel personally as I prefer modern hotels but it was a snip for what we paid. We booked about 9 months in advance and it was a third of the rack rate just before trip. Staff at reception really good, all you would expect roomwise but breakfast was the let down. A lot of the food not to western tastes and the service was laughable. If you ordered a coffee you got it 20-30 minutes later if at all!! What made up for it was the made to order omlettes - really good every morning.

All in all a good experience for what we paid. If it was a 5 star in UK and you got service and breakfast quality like that you would have went nuts though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo9691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is super, especially the location. Staff were helpfull and the rooms were very clean and comfy. As the location is so good, you may experience some noise from people outside, who are enjoying their night out. It's not rowdy, so just close the window and use the air-con, if it wakes you up. It didn't put us off one bit. After all, we were on holiday.

Room Tip: Great location and value. The main square is a fantastic place to enjoy the nightlife or watch the w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllanandClare2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Grand Hotel is that, it has the look and feel a grand, golden age European Hotel. It is just a block off the main square which is nice as it makes the square very close but removes the noise from the stay. We loved the interior of the hotel and our room, a suite, was truly lovely. We had two bathrooms which was nice as it gave us the his/hers option which makes getting ready in the morning much more relaxed. The desk staff was wonderful; friendly, cheerful and helpful. However, the main living area of our suite was not very comfortable for just hanging out with no real seating to relax. We were in Krakow during a period of record breaking high temps for August (~35c/95f), the air-conditioners in our room could not keep up and barely kept our room cool. Just before we checked out after our 5 days, I went to turn off the air-conditioner and found the very lovely parquet flooring was soaked and squishy and could see the A/C unit had leaked all over that area of the room. The bed was very hard, basically a platform bed with with a very, VERY thin pad on top. We asked to have them do something about it but they did not and as a result we woke up sore every morning. Breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was just so-so, the biggest issue was that the hotel only had one person, one small pan and one small burner for cooking eggs to order which meant a long wait for your eggs to be prepared. The staff running breakfast was very slow and would not keep up with refreshing items items as they ran out. One would think that such a grand hotel would at the very least invest in modern beds to allow guests a luxurious good night sleep, more up-to-date environmental systems to keep guests comfortable, and a little better breakfast set up to meet the demands of guests looking to have a nice breakfast before they get into their day. Other hotels manage it, I can't help but wonder whey the Grand Hotel, Krakow, can't or refuses to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atdepth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is an old palace and absolutely gorgeous, marble staircases, large bedrooms and bathrooms, just lovely. It is also right next to the town square ( make sure you look downstairs as you walk around for restaurants, as the fare is yummy!) polandis cheap enough, but this was truly value for money. The breakfast unfettered is plentiful with an egg station too. It really was a very classy experience.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mimiTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 days in the Grand Hotel in Krakow. We just loved it and felt we went back in time. The staff were just fantastic. The hotel was just perfectly located and married so well with the whole Krakow experience. The rooms were spacious and grand yet understated. The breakfast was a feast and we looked forward every morning to just sitting in the old world dining room. In the evening we enjoyed a before dinner drink in the bar before heading out to dinner. Just loved and will be back again. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michrele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 261 in Krakow
486 reviews
Hotel Stary
#57 of 261 in Krakow
716 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#22 of 261 in Krakow
503 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,091 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#70 of 261 in Krakow
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $135 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing