We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #90 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
tipperary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location in krakow.
The staff are by far the friendliest and attentive that my wife and i have met on our travels over many years.
After a days travelling to be greeted with a smile and kind word from the ladies at the front desk and a helping hand from the door men means everything.
Check in and check out brilliant.
The lady who checked us out explained everything in great detail..which on a day of travelling is a great help indeed.
The breakfast at the grand hotel cannot be beat, A chef that will make you a great omelette,, please try it and the girls are so professional making sure all is well.

The hotel has old style layout which was what we wanted it has a beautiful staircase and great windows and plants

Our room was great with plenty of space, mini bar, safe,bathrobe/slippers and bathroom excellently stocked

We see from other reviews that noise is a serious issue, well for us no because we closed the windows and turned on the air conditining.
The beds are comfortable.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for us it had it all wonderful location great and friendly staff who genuinely care.

One day when we came back our room had not been attended to but after a friendly word at the desk all was looked after immediately.

We were able to book our tours and airport transfer through the hotel also.

We will again visit krakow and in doing so we will stay in the grand hotel

Gerry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gconballyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    206
    93
    37
    33
See reviews for
96
272
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Grand over the easter weekend and had a wonderful time, even the unseasonal snowy weather didn't put us off, we were a party of nine of various ages, the hotel was fantastic, rooms very spacious and clean and tidy.
It was a 5 minute walk into the main square where you will find loads of cafes, bars and restaurants, the exchange rate is still very good and you get excellent value for money and even in the square you can still pick up a meal for a decent price.
The city itself is very beautiful and a guided tour is well worth it,

Room Tip: we had 4 rooms on the same floor, ours was 106, which were the opposite side to the road and very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_d528783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived very early at The Grand Hotel and were welcomed by very friendly staff who allowed us access to our room some 5 hours prior to normal check in time.
The room was very well laid out with clean and well stocked bathroom. Slippers and bathrobes were a nice touch.
We arrived on a Friday and it was at 6.pm that the noise started. We were above the front entrance of the Hotel and opposite us was an all night bar that didnt stop playing loud music until 6am the following morning. As with such establishments, drunken shouting and singing eminated from the streets all night and even with the windows fully closed the noise was extreme.
We didnt complain on the Staurday as we thought we would wiat until the noise began again. It did not. The streets were reasonably quiet that night. However, the whole thing started again on the Sunday, our final night here and again it was near impossible to sleep. If we had not been so tired and only there for a couple of days, we would have bought it up with the reception desk.
I know this is a major Town and likely to have noise in the streets but it was the noisiest Hotel we have ever stayed in!
Avoid rooms 29 and 30 if staying at the weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The grand hotel is conveniently situated just off the main square where there are many bars and restaurants. The hotel it's self is a charming hotel with highly attentive staff. They anticipated my needs before I knew there was a need, which to my mind makes for an excellent venue to hold a business event. The layout of the hotel rooms are a maze but it adds to the charm of this hotel. The double rooms themselves are of a good size with large windows looking down on to the street below. The rooms were clean with an excellent wifi signal in room.

We held our event in the mirror hall and it has the most beautiful light from the glass ceiling. The name of this hotel certainly suit, as it is truly grand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very polite and professional staff helpful at all times, rooms were very clean and serviced promptly every morning. The Hotel is Ideally situated for the main square and for walks around Krakow, close to restaurants open air market sort walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A lovely old hotel with real charm. Great furnishings and sumptuous carpets and decor. Mattress slightly thin but I slept well. Rooms are a nice temperature and powerful shower. The staff very helpful and polite. I would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTitmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Krakow is a wonderful destination and this hotel makes the experience all the more enjoyable. Really could not be more conveniently located and adds an appropriate sense of past glories to the visit. Our room was of agreeable size and the bathroom was fitted out to contemporary standards with my only quibble being the length of the bath. Staff were friendly and efficient and extremely helpful in ditecting us to tour coach pick-up points etc. The buffet breakfast is of a stsndard seldom experienced at many more costly hotels. Excellent outcome for a 'blind' booking. (So Ryanair have some great 'partners'!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#78 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#36 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Hotel Stary
#53 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#9 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#39 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#8 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing