We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid week break”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #88 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 645 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel. The reception staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They arranged a trip to Auschwitz for us at 10pm at night for the follow day. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite which was stunning in both size and decor. For value for money, this hotel exceeded all our expectations and I would not hesitate recommending it to anyone looking for a centrally located hotel in Krakow. Our thanks also to Magda for telling us all about the legend of the krakow dragon!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodles247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We always look very carefully for a hotel im the centre of everything (we tend to get lost easily). This hotel was listed as being in the heart of old Krakow close to the castle, the cloth market and the Christmas market and just for a change, the advertising was spot on. The staff were lovely, very helpful, pointing out places we should visit and making us aware of places we.should avoid. The rooms were very nice, well stocked with toiletries and very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a great deal of choice. If you wanted something different the staff were very happy to cook for you. The breakfast restaurant was beautiful, very elegant and old fashioned. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked 4 nights at the Hotel for a special occasion and were delighted with our choice the hotel was above our expectation and would have no hesitation recommending it to anybody,the location is perfect the accommidation was first class and the staff could not be faulted especially the reception staff Martha,Paulena and Magdalena and the hotel is very good value for money we are looking forward to staying there again at some time in the future.

Room Tip: our room at the front of the hotel on friday and saturday night had a little bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Grand to celebrate my birthday.My partner had arranged for a bottle of bubbly and a cake to be in the room on arrival. Our room was of a good size, it was clean and well decorated with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was spotless and the shower, although not a power shower, was adequate for the job.
This hotel is in a great position less than 100 yards from the main square.
Our room overlooked a night club and we were concerned that there may have been a lot of noise from it but we need not have worried.
The staff were attentive and helpful.
There was a great buffet breakfast with plenty of choice and it was replenished regularly.
Overall a lovely hotel and although not 5 star to UK standards, I would use it again for its location and price.
No wi fi in the rooms, no english speaking tv channels and no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms are my only bad points. However, we went to get away from work (emails etc) to see a beautiful city, not watch telly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked a Junior Suite for New Year's Eve and was upgraded to a Deluxe Suite on arrival which was beautiful and had everything I would hope for except a powerful shower and Wi-Fi connection. The suite was an absolute delight with lovely furnishings and the location was just moments away from the Town Square and just around the corner from my favourite bar Baroque. The decor in the hotel is period and very impressive and the staff were very friendly.It ticked all the boxes apart from the shower which was little more than a trickle which alternated between cold and boiling, not ideal when getting ready in the evening and was slightly worse the following morning to the point I didn't dare wash my hair. In this day and age I expect a power shower and ability to connect to Wi-Fi other than that it was lovely. I must confess I only sleep and shower in a hotel room preferring to be out and about in the town itself so on this basis I would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleBurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a magnificent location a minute walk to the main square! It is a stately grand and opulent hotel yet with a boitique personal feel! Pani Magdalena and Pani Katarzyna at reception are just wonderful, nothing was too much trouble! They were so warm and friendly! And Pan Jerzy and the other concierge (forgot his name) were equally wonderful! The service is truly excellent and hospitable! Good polish hospitality!
Looking forward to my stay end the the week again! Thank you/ dzienkuje za wspaniale pobyt. Beata

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discerningbeata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#82 of 262 in Krakow
510 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 262 in Krakow
2,113 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#49 of 262 in Krakow
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Stary
#50 of 262 in Krakow
754 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 262 in Krakow
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $104 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing