We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, decent hotel”
Review of Polonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Polonia Hotel
Ranked #93 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Poloia hotel for five days in October during my first visit to Krakow. First of all, the location is absolutely brilliant. I exited the main railway station past midnight with a friend, completely exhausted and tired from a day long journey from India and we immediately spotted the hotel billboard across the road. Dinner was already over but the hotel staff kept a bag of food for us and they were extremely friendly.
Polonia is not one of those ultra luxurious five-stars so don't expect bellboys just waiting by your side to carry your luggage or elaborate rooms. We carried our own luggage and the rooms were small but cozy. The bathroom was tinier than I would have liked, especially the shower cubicle but it was thankfully clean. The staff was very friendly and could speak in English (thumbs up).
My only issue. MY room overlooked the main street and it was hell noisy at night. Everyone time the tram would pass, the bed would start shaking. Twice I remember being awakened by the sound of loud drunks in the middle of the night. Traffic is very loud if your room faces the main street like mine.. for me, I used to be so exhausted by the time I got back at night that I still slept like the dead.
All in all, I would definitly stay in Polonia again, mostly for the location. Old Town square is a 5-min walk and the jewis quarters not too far either. I took a tourist bus to Aushwitz and the salt mines and the buses would drop me off right in front of the hotel so everyone is familiar with Polonia. The experience was more than worth it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 486 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hotel Polonia is approx 95 years old and as such, is full of charm, character, style and olde world elegance. I was lucky and had a balcony overlooking the opulent Opera House and the beautiful park which circles the Old Town that is only a five minute stroll away. The hotel is only five minutes away from the Central Station, a massive shopping complex, all forms of transport and best of all is so close to many wonderful cafes, restaurants, concert halls, churches, museums, Glowny Rynek (the Main Square) and ofcourse Wawel Castle! The hotel has the most delecious breakfast buffet and so much to choose from! If you're feeling tired and want to dine in, they have a great lunch and dinner menu that won't dissapoint! It is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Polonia and when I come back it's the first place I'll be making a reservation, as it's great value for money with the best of everything, as the rooms were very clean, spacious and the hotel staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and ask for a room with a balcony and look out and observe life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krystyna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

we much prefer hotels with a bit more character and this one is steeped in polish history and culture. yes a bit "outdated" in terms of holiday inn style furniture, double glazed windows etc... and yes it's a bit noisy at night with passing trams and street noise but the location is perfect for the station and access to the old town and we loved the spectacular view over the city (Room 36) from our room. the young lady who checked us in (10pm on monday night) was helpful, friendly and efficient as were all the other staff we saw. the room was clean, the breakfast was very good with lots of choice and we thought our stay was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park if you can cope with a bit of street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel Polonia is a little bit outdated, but nevertheless comfortable hotel in a perfect spot. It is located right at the edge of Krakow's ring park which surrounds the medieval and historic centre. Which means that all sights are witin comfortable (max. 40 minutes) walk from the hotel. Rooms are OK, clean, but the streetside rooms can take some streetnoise (in Poland there is work to be done everywhere en anytime...). Both streets siding the hotel have quite have (tramway) traffic. Double glazing stops a lot but not everything.

Room Tip: Secret tip: ask for (double) room 82, it's one of the few having a balcony at the quiet backside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdSnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am in love with Krakow and choosing Polonia was a nice choice. Our room overlooked the city, we had a view over the St. Maria Church. The hotel location is excellent, 5 minutes from the main railway station to/from where we could take the airport train. Breakfast was excellent, our room and bathroom was clean and the walk to the main square is about 1o minutes, to Wavel about 15 minutes, to Kazimierz about half an hour.
If you think to choose Polonia you have to have in mind that this is an amazing old building with high ceilings, nice wood floor and old windows and walls and old furniture. That means, you have to expect some noise from the street (trams for instance) and from the room next to you. Thus, the hotel is not for the fanciest guests, but it is a great choice for sightseeing and walkers who turn back to their rooms very tired after a whole day of city walking. I would stay here again, but it is also true that right next to Polonia there are other hotels as well which might be better. All in all, I have nothing to regret (on the contrary).

Room Tip: Request a room which overlooks the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Get a room back away from the street, there are street cars out front. This place has old world charm, parquet floors, really high ceilings in the hallways, majestic staircases and a good location just outside the old city walls. 10 minute walk to the old city center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Polonia is two minutes from the station and 5 from the wonderful old town. They have parking in a secret courtyard which you can only find and access with the help of a bell boy (payment for parking in cash only).

The reception is manned 24/7, breakfast is good for Polish standards, rooms are spacious but the furniture was not delivered yesterday. Ceilings are high giving the feeling of a nice old building. We enjoyed the stay there and felt we paid a fair price

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor which is not over the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meikelfromtivon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Europejski Hotel
#67 of 261 in Krakow
572 reviews
Kleparz
Vienna House Andel's Cracow
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Pollera
Pollera
#119 of 261 in Krakow
331 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#25 of 261 in Krakow
542 reviews
Kleparz
Hotel Matejko
Hotel Matejko
#107 of 261 in Krakow
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polonia Hotel

Address: ul. Basztowa 25, Krakow 31-156, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $62 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polonia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Polonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polonia Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing