We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of downtown!”
Review of Polonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polonia Hotel
Ranked #87 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the heart of downtown!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We only stayed at Hotel Polonia for one night, but it was an enjoyable stay! The building it right in the heart of Krakow, and just around the corner from the large galeria (mall). The room was small but well appointed and had a nice view of the park across the street. The bathroom was very small and could use some updating. However the entire building possessed an old-fashion charm which was worth sacrificing a bath tub. Unfortunately it was very hot in Krakow when were there and the hotel had no A/C (and we could get little circulation from the windows). The hotel did provide a fan for us which eased the heat. In addition, the hotel was very accommodating for a late check-out. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good and offered a nice variety, plus a charming room to eat in. Possibly one of the best aspects of the hotel was the complimentary computer (and internet) in the lobby! Very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurFur163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    217
    129
    21
    13
See reviews for
60
177
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at the Bastowa Guest Rooms, which is the Hotel Polonia's property located directly next door to the hotel. Bastowa was very nice, though our first night we were in room #4, which is right above the sidewalk, across from the tram station. Very noisy, as Krakow is a fun city. Make sure you ask for a second floor room facing the courtyard! We switched our room for our last nights there and slept VERY well....felt like we were in a different hotel! Krakow is a wonderful city with so much to see, and this hotel is so close to the train station and all of the main sites in Krakow, make sure you book here. We paid $63 US a night, which is a STEAL for Europe in general, especially at a nice hotel like Bastowa Guest Rooms/Hotel Polonia!

Overall we had a great experience here, staff was very friendly and accommodating, they offer a restaurant on premises, free internet, free luggage storage, and keep the rooms very clean. To expand on the free luggage storage, the desk staff allowed us to keep our luggage in the store room AFTER we checked out until our night train (about 10-11 hours) for no charge. VERY good experience, highly recommend this inexpensive, nice hotel in Krakow.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a second floor room facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KCLJ520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

A pleasant change from chain hotels-this hotel is conveniently located near the main square and offers large and comfortable rooms with period furnishings in the common areas.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Only the Wisla Krakow supporters kept us awake, as they celebrated winning the Polish soccer championship. And although Hotel Polonia is on an intersection of busy roads, we found its great location (two minutes from the station and an impressive shopping centre and a short stroll from the centre of town) very quiet. The decor is stately, the rooms are large, clean but basic and the staff is friendly. Breakfast could have been a bit more imaginative and the coffee a bit better. But that's just a minor point. Polonia is a great, simple three-star statring point for a Krakow-trip. Oh yes, AVIS is just five minutes down the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in the adjacent building which didn't seem to be quite up to the standard of the main hotel. Our room had a bad odor, the same, I imagine, as the previous reviewer noted. We also thought it came from the old plumbing system, not from bad housekeeping. Keeping the bathroom door closed helped the mitigate the problem. Otherwise, the room was clean & comfy. We appreciated the electric kettle in the room. Excellent location - close to the Old Town and green space around it, and right across from a tram stop. Computer with free access to internet in the lobby, for those who don't have their own laptops.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The location is great, near the main train and bus station and just a 5 mins walk from the Old Town city centre. The hotel looks fab from outside and inside is fine, it just need a few DIY fix.
Our room was huge and with lots of natural light coming in. We were located in a building near the main one. The building is a little bit old and perhaps need some repairs (just little ones)
Our room has a bad smell I believe because the old water plumbing, but apart from it the rest was all good.
I didnt have any breakfast but you can have some for about 25PNL per person, otherwise, there are many options near the hotel.
We were offer a tour for 90 PNL to Auswitz that we didnt take thinking it was too long, this was a mistake...take it! we went by ourselves and we took twice the time of that tour! :)
Internet is also available at the reception for free. I believe there is wireless too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were happy with this place. Beautiful, old building, full of character. Very near to Krakow's green area- Planty and the Main Old Square.
If you stayed in any of the old London hotels you will be overwhelmed with the size of this hotel's rooms.
Clean and functional.
Convenient parking at the back of the building for £10 per night.
Very helpful restaurant staff who provided a high chair for our little one.

Room Tip: second floor, courtyard facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anias_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Europejski Hotel
#67 of 259 in Krakow
537 reviews
Kleparz
Hotel Matejko
Hotel Matejko
#100 of 259 in Krakow
718 reviews
Kleparz
andel’s by Vienna House Cracow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Krakow
#69 of 259 in Krakow
605 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#25 of 259 in Krakow
521 reviews
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polonia Hotel

Property: Polonia Hotel
Address: ul. Basztowa 25, Krakow 31-156, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polonia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Polonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polonia Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing