We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individualistic, friendly, great value”
Review of Hotel Alef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alef
Ranked #187 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Individualistic, friendly, great value”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed at the Alef for 2 weeks in June 2011. The room is full of character with interesting art, and antique furniture in the public areas and the rooms. It has a lovely little patio garden where you can have a beer, coffee or just read your book. I stayed in one of the deluxe or suite rooms - it was inexpensive and was very comfortable. The staff were incredibly helpful and flexible. I stayed at the Kazimierz prior to moving to the Alef - the quality difference was enormous, the price was the same.

Room Tip: Get a superior room, it will cost more but it is hardly substantial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Only stayed here for a couple of nights, but had a great weekend. The halls and rooms really are amazingly decorated, very interesting pictures and objects around the Hotel. The hotel Alef is in a good location, probably a 10 minute walk to the main square. The staff are always keen to help with any problems, needed a little help with directions! For breakfasts there was a selection of cereals but the cheese and ham selection wasn't to my taste. Rooms were basic but had everything that we required.
I would recommend this hotel, for the money i paid this Hotel was superb quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamer_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very nice hotel with friendly staff, about a 10 minute walk to the square and 5 minutes to the Jewish quarter kazimierz. Breakfast was ok, cold meat and cheese, with fruit juice, tea and coffee. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Had an excellent stay at Hotel Alef, on sw. Agnieszka. I stayed in a triple room (5th floor, room 502, can be viewed on their interactive map on website) with my daughters aged 11 and 16. The staff spoke good English and were very friendly towards the children. The breakfast was fabulous, a buffet offering cereals, a selection of polish breads, white rolls, sweet rolls, hard boiled eggs, pancakes, hams, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, polish style coleslaws, polish jams, polish honey, delicious yogurts, and you can order freshly cooked eggs from the staff who also serve a selection of teas, coffee and juices. The majority of other guests were from the UK but there were a few Polish families staying too. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom which had been recently replaced and the maid cleaned the room and replaced the sheets and towels every day when we were out. The 3rd floor was being renovated with new bathrooms and room fittings being installed. The restaurant is open for lunch and you can take tea and cake in the afternoons. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was good especially the baked salmon with cucumber salad. Don't be put off by the bland exterior of the hotel. Delights await inside. The street itself is not exactly glamorous but it is moments from the Jewish Quarter and a short walk to the Old Town and we had views of the Cathedral and castle from our room. I would imagine that during the summer when Krakow is heaving with tourists and late night revelry it must be a relief to not be staying in one of the Old Town hotels.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridgefamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Rate was great, location was great ( walking distance to everything) , lobby was attractive, staff was FABULOUS, the breakfast not very good and the rooms were drab. The green carpet was stained and the beds and bedding need updating. The room was quite cramped too. It was ok, but from the lobby I thought the rooms would be a lot nicer.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — No computer for guests
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Please note that most other reviews are out of date in terms of location as the hotel is now in Agnieski Street. This is a most convenient place as it is lies between the castle and old town area and the Jewish Quarter. It is a 5 minute walk into the main square. We stayed there for 4 nights in November and paid the off season rate of E65 for a twin room which we thought was excellent value. We are active 70+ year olds who use hotel rooms as a base to explore cities. We are not bothered about hotel bars, shops, swimming pools,stylish decor, etc and spend little time in the hotel except to sleep and have breakfast! This hotel was excellent in that it had very pleasant staff who spoke some English and were very helpful and friendly, the room was very clean and everything worked,there was a lift and a very good breakfast in a splendid characterful dining room which was also the evening restaurant. We had a meal there and thought that it was very good though not cheap. The room itself was O.K. with comfortable beds,clean linen and warm and although it was not a large room, there was adequate space for all our belongings.There are rooms which have a view of the castle.The street in which the hotel is situated is ordinary but quiet. There are trams to the railway and bus station from the bottom of the street.
See for yourself. There is an excellent interactive website which shows the interior of the hotel. We thought that it was a very good hotel and extremely good value.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Uninteresting view out of window
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cliftonNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Having heard friends’ experiences of staying in anonymous concrete blocks of hotels on the wrong side of the Vistula we determined to stay somewhere ‘different’. And different is what you get at hotel Alef, certainly at the 17 Szeroka location where a few rooms are available above the charming restaurant. Service had a personal touch, because outside of restaurant hours there were very few guests to deal with. Thus luggage was carried to our second floor room (can’t recall that being done in equivalent accommodation for a long time), breakfast was served at a time to suit and at the end of the trip (and due to a late return flight) bags were stored. Krakow is beautiful and the centre is picture perfect. The hotel is a stroll south from the market square past Wawel castle. Kazimierz district is historically full and comprises older properties many of which are down at heel. Szeroka street is the hub of the quarter and on those warm summer evenings it was thronged with parties of individuals of a ‘certain age’. A younger crowd gathered round the corner in Plac Nowy – the vibe very reminiscent of Hoxton Square. Our reflections were that we had definitely selected to stay in the ‘better’ part of town. Our windows overlooked the action in Szeroka street, the room was large with great storage and plenty of ledges and it benefited from an anti-room big enough to accommodate 2 settees with ease. In spite of all the pluses we award 3 stars not 4 because set in market context Poland is ripe for cheap sleeps. Alef at Szeroka is mid-range pricing, yet it needs a spruce up (the bedroom looked as though it hadn’t been painted in a decade, beds lacking etc) to keep up with the competition, as new hotels and apartments are opening all around Kazimierz several of them emulating this vintage look.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Justlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Aparthotel Miodowa
#89 of 259 in Krakow
128 reviews
Kazimierz
Secesja Hotel
Secesja Hotel
#130 of 259 in Krakow
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#47 of 259 in Krakow
859 reviews
Kazimierz
Oberza Sasiadow Apartments
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#37 of 259 in Krakow
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alef

Property: Hotel Alef
Address: ul. Sw. Agnieszki 5 | Kazimierz, Krakow 31-071, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Stradom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alef 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alef Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing