We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #48 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day winter trip to Krakow and stayed at the Regent. We are so pleased that we chose this hotel, it really is excellent value and such a clean and friendly place.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful - Anna is especially efficient and jolly behind reception. The rooms are so clean. We stayed in room 111 which is huge and very quiet being at the back of the hotel.

The breakfast is a good choice of cereals, fruit, rolls, cold meat, cheese etc as well as scrambled egg, frankfurters and toast so more than enough!!

The hotel location is brilliant- the Kazimiriez district is just full of great bars and restaurants, all very very cheap and such nice cosy places. My partner and I could eat out, including a few drinks each easily for £15 for the two of us each night. You can walk pretty much everywhere within 20mins of hotel so don't bother with all the taxis etc.

We did the Schindlers Factory tour ( free admission on Mondays)- very interesting history of Krakow, visited some of the fantastic churches and of course the Auschwitz tour- the highlight (if that's the right way to describe this harrowing place) of our visit. It is unbelievable to be standing there in the middle of some of history's worst atrocities- well worth the full day visit. Do it through these guys before you go (office@mkgroup.co) they are brilliant- cost about £20 each- give them your hotel name and they pick you up and take you and have a fantastic English speaking tour guide when you get to the camp. They also show a very informative dvd on the way which sets you up for some of the scenes you will encounter. The only downside of the trip was that there was no free time in Auschwitz to wander on your own after the 31/2 hr tour. The tour then takes you 10 mins down the road to Auschwitz 2 - Birkenau- the death camp- although this is 80% ruins it is probably even more harrowing than Auschwitz when you see the sheer size of the camp and see the remains of the crematoria and accommodation huts. All in all a MUST DO day!

As we went in December the Christmas market was on in the Main Square (a pleasant 15 min stroll from the hotel past the Wawel Castle), what a great experience and all the items are so so cheap...lots of nice little Christmas gifts and plenty of delicious food. Everyone had said about how expensive the restaurants and bars are around the Square but to be honest, even though you may pay about 50p more for a beer it is a nice place to watch the world go by.

Venture off the square down the side streets and you will find some great bars and places to eat that are very cheap. There is also the huge shopping centre which is unbelievably big and the most spectacular Christmas lights we have seen.

One word of warning- when changing money ask first what you will get for the amount you are changing - 'how many zlotys will I get for £100?' as the rates they show on some of the boards outside are vastly different to the (lower) rate on boards inside and conveniently tucked behind doors so you don't see them until its too late and you realise you've just been paid around 20% less than you were expecting! The first time this happened my partner stood up to the guy and demanded our money back....bless her....the guy didn't know what had hit him and he duly repaid every penny...a lesson well learned.

Another tip- if you are a smoker, you cannot get any English ciggies at Krakow airport so unless you like American brands you are out of luck.

We will definitely go back as so much was missed due to the short time we were there. A beautiful and interesting City that you MUST stay in the Regency whilst exploring. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in 111- it is huge and very quiet at night. Don't worry that there is no tea or coffee...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barryc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent and very detailed comment. I am sure that other travelers find your tips very helpful. Anna is grateful that you have mentioned her in the review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Regent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 576 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife had been to this hotel before and although not expensive it offered a very good standard, she promised I would like it.

Internet access was free, the rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated - what more can you ask for.

The breakfast was the usual continental and although I don't each much at breakfast I never heard anyone complain or comment negatively.

There is no tea/coffee in the room as standard but we asked for it when we checked in and by the time we got to our room the person was knocking the door to deliver it and it was refreshed daily. 15 PLN charge.

We were there in the winter and it was very cold outside but the room and hotel in general were kept at a good temperature.

I would certainly use it again.

Gordon

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review. I appreciate your kind comments about our standard, cleanness and breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice Hotel, close to main square, easy access. Breakfast good, nice rooms, very, helpful and polite staff even saved me 50 PLN on a trip!
Would definitely stay there again.
Krakow is well worth a visit, lots too see and do, very cheap to eat and drink out, only regret is we didn't go for longer, didn't see all that I wanted too, ran out of time

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard_WG5959VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
I was very pleased to read your review. I hope that you will come back to Krakow to see everything you have not seen during your recent visit.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just back from 3 nights bed & brekkie, booked under david urquart tours & flying with easy jet. Very hard to find fault anything. The staff were courteous and helpful, the rooms were clean, with maid service and clean towels daily. Breakfast was mainly continental with a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, eggs, pate and salads, fresh bread and jams, yoghurts and fruit. There was also scrambled egg and sausages if you wanted a hot alternative. It was in a perfect location for sightseeing, and close to some amazing restaurants and bars. Try starka's for five star food and there own home made vodka !
Absolutely beautiful city, friendly people, amazing food, cheap shopping and many different flavours of vodka to experience.
We walked for miles admiring the architecture and savouring the atmosphere.
We visited the awesome saltmines and the harrowing schindlers museum, we had a meander along the vistula river and explored wawel castle. So many things we didnt manage to fit in as there was also some serious shopping to do, but will definately go back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had 3 nights in this hotel ,we found that the rooms were clean and tidy. There was a good buffet breakfast and the staff were excellent and all spoke good English. The hotel is in a good location for the bars and restaurants in the Kazimierz area. The hotel has a 3 star rating but the staff were 5 star.

Room Tip: Good location for the kazimierz area , river and castle.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure to read your review. Thank you for your flattering rating, 5 star for staff it is a great reward. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nearby the old centre of Krakow and Kazimierz Old Jewish Quarter.
Only one hour distance from the museum of Auschwitz-Birkenau.
Nice hotel with good facilities. Breakfast is oke, and allover service is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please do come back and see us soon.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had not booked this hotel but the Best Western Krakow Old Town, however when we arrived we were told that they were 'overbooked' and we had been placed at The Regent. Initially we were disappointed as we had chosen the other hotel! However, the staff at check in could not do enough for us and although our room on the third floor was 'shabby chic' it was clean and warm with a very large bathroom and excellent shower pressure. We were told it was a 'double room' however that means two mattresses together so be aware of that.

The location of the hotel is right in the middle of the bars and night-life but it was not noisy. The Jewish market is literally 2 minutes away and it was around 15 mins walk to the Market Square in the Old Town.

We had booked trips to pick us up from the other hotel and the staff at The Regent were happy to call and ensure that we were picked up from our new address which again made things go smoothly.

Breakfast was a choice of hot (smoked sausage and scrambled eggs) or cold - meats, cheese, pickles etc - with rolls, toast, yoghurt and a selection of cakes and it was fresh and substantial.

WiFi is free however it does have a tendency to go 'out of range' and it is a wait for the IT guys to come and sort it.

Tea and coffee in t he room is charged at 15 zloty a night so not overly expensive.

All in all we would recommend this hotel just look past the shabby first impression (and the best bar in Krakow is 2 mins walk - Starka, turn left out of the door, cross the road and it's about 4 doors down!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#22 of 261 in Krakow
471 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#79 of 261 in Krakow
679 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#75 of 261 in Krakow
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 261 in Krakow
1,300 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#44 of 261 in Krakow
895 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Maksymilian
Hotel Maksymilian
#37 of 261 in Krakow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: ul. Bozego Ciala 19, Krakow 31-059, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#52 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#55 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $49 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Krakow
Krakow Regent
Regent Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing