We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE CONVENIENTLY LOCATED HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #23 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NICE CONVENIENTLY LOCATED HOTEL”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Wawel is a nice clean hotel. Most of the staff is very pleasant. The very large room was a bit dated and had I eaten one or two more pierogi I never would have made it into the tiny but spotless shower.

Once on my floor, I had to go up and down a few steps to get to my room. Luckily, I didn't have much luggage to contend with. There was no bellmen service so had I to negotiate with my luggage.

The location is great as you are only a few blocks from Krakow's main square.

When I returned to the hotel for the evening, one of the young ladies at the desk asked me what I was doing the next day, and when I said I was taking a tour of Auschwitz from the Sheraton, she got annoyed and insisted I take the tour from the Wawel. To which I said I would not. The deskman in the morning was less then helpful. The very sweet woman who checked me in gave me wrong directions to the Jewish Quarter. Breakfast was ok.

These small but annoying problems can be overcome for the most part and as I said, the hotel is very clean and well located. It's not a bad place, just not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBrownNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    218
    39
    5
    2
See reviews for
108
305
60
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 3 staff and 5 students for our trip to Auscwitz, the hotel we had viewed on line and were quite pleases with what we saw, however in real life you get to experience what the Internet cannot give you, the staff were very welcoming, the room and all of the hotels facilities were well over the 3 star grading this hotel has. The location is just right for everything you need, the rooms were exceptional, the food first class, in fact we loved this hotel so much we have booked it again, and I have no doubt we will book it again for next years 2014, Holocaust Memorial Day Trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo1954Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We paid this brilliant hotel yet another visit for 3 nights 15th Dec to 18th Dec 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay yet again. The Christmas decorations were just lovely and really added to this hotels already lovely atmosphere. Impeccable staff, spotlessly clean rooms and a nice breakfast and exceptional value for money, we couldnt have asked for more. The hotel arranged for a taxi to collect us on our arrival at the airport and for our journey home, everything went like clockwork. We could wax lyrical about the Wawel from now until next Christmas, please see our previous review for more details. Our 4th visit is aleady booked for my birthday this month and we cant wait. Their Trip Advisor Award is richly deserved. Dziekuje Bardzo (thank you very much) to everyone at the wonderful Wawel Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, the apartments are exceptional particularly room 315 which is totally awsom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwaysowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, Angus, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in the Wawel for four nights between Xmas and New Year. Having been to Krakow before we knew the area and the Wawel is in an absolutely perfect location; minutes away from the main square yet set in a quiet street.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the free coffee is much nicer than having a stupid kettle in your room (which is generally impossible to fill anyway) the decor is lovely, beds and pillows comfortable, cleanliness of a high standard and one of the best hotel showers we have come across!

Breakfast was good, of a buffet style (cold meats, boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, tomatoes, cucumber, cheeses, breads, scrambled egg, sausage and fried eggs). If you aren't satisfied with that then you can also order omlettes and bacon which are completely free and taste amazing.

Free Wifi worked perfectly.

If we had to pick fault with the hotel then the only thing would be that there's no toast although to be fair we never asked for it - I'm sure if we had then it would have been provided.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morrice255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pre Christmas visit to krakow was perfect, thanks to the our stay at this lovely hotel.Could not find a flaw with the Wawel hotel. Location is perfect for seeing all the sights. Coffee in the orangey was great after a day out. Booked this hotel from all the positive reviews on trip advisor.. Glad we did.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, quietly chic and reasonable in price

There is a mezzanine on the first floor which has a coffee machine and computer in it ( both free) It looks over the pretty courtyard and feels like a conservatory. It is so much nicer to go there for a coffee than have a kettle in your room to make your own.

The staff speak English well and are always friendly and accommodating.
The breakfast has a good range of cold continental breakfast produce and the hot buffet has sausages, scrambled eggs and poached eggs.

There are many and varied eateries close by - some really interesting ones in the roads behind the main thoroughfare

The planty is a promenade which has been laid on the location of the old town walls - it's lit in the night, traffic free and is a great way to get to different areas of the town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnePelleschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Perfect location. The room where more like an apartment! Brilliant! Nice round bathtub in the room. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but you should try the very nice resturant in the end of the street. (Polish, the sign look like a rasberry.) Good food for a very nice price. We spendt five days in Krakow (on this hotel) and we can't wait to go back! Wounderfull city, love the hotel, and nice people everywhere! Just stay away from the Hard Rock Cafe, that is not to be recomanded. Recomand to study the guidebook laying in the room, it gives a lot of great information.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
3 Thank CecilieRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
1,200 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#17 of 256 in Krakow
481 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
1,162 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 256 in Krakow
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Property: Wawel Hotel
Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#15 Family Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wawel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing