We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location for a City Break”
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Situated off southeast corner of main square. Safe area and great polish restaurants minutes away (loved Marmalade). An abundance of underground historic bars a little further away offer an opportunity to sample cold flavoured vodkas and play the odd game of chess. Never did get to Auschwitz or the salt mines (tours start at 11am and take all day), but found plenty to occupy myself in the bustling streets around the square. Maybe next time.
Hotel is faultless. Warm clean modern rooms want for nothing.
Didn't try the Spa.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 759 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Just got home from a four day stint in Krakow. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel having previously stayed at the Senaki just down the road.

On entering the reception area we found an absolute pearl, very smart and well decorated. Our rooms were ready and we had numbers 302 and 303 - both doubles. The rooms were decorated very nicely and very clean. On the minus side, we were disappointed the were no tea and coffee making facilities however we did know this before we arrived. The beds were comfortable but typically of Poland, the duvets were not quit fitting of the bed and the pillows very small and too soft. again, this is nothing new as we had experienced this elsewhere. These minuses were very tiny in relation to the overall ambience of the hotel. the reception staff were very accommodating especially Alicija who booked us taxis, gave advice on where to go, and even took the trouble to to suggest which room we may like next Autumn when we will return.

A tip, if you want a bigger room, choose a twin rather than a double as they have more room, having said that the room was not small. In the hotel they have a wellness centre which was really good, bookable privately for 10 english pounds per half hour (40 zl) and highly recommended after a long day sightseeing.

The breakfast was well presented and the staff very helpful providing english food if required, so again no complaints.

So overall, this hotel should be four star not three, maybe tea and coffee facilities may just tip the balance. It really is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot, quiet but exceptionally close the the centre. There is no noise at night and you get a very relaxing stay. Well done to all the staff we look forward to October 2012!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrymcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Fantastic boutique hotel! Location could not be better!! Located on a quiet, safe, side street but just a block away from the tourist spots. To the right, I walked less than 5 mins to the very center of town and, to the left, I walked about 5 mins to Wawel Castle and Cathedral. Magnificent churches all within a few minutes' walk. String quartet playing nightly at Sts. Peter and Paul Church which is <5 mins walk from the hotel. Another string quartet playing nightly at another church about 7 mins walk away. I stayed for 7 nights. I had a single room, immaculately clean. I hated to leave! The bathroom, while small, was beautiful. Hotel staff spoke very good English and could not have been more helpful and pleasant. If I ever have the good fortune to return to Krakow, I absolutely would stay in Hotel Wawel again. Fantastic value!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The location of this hotel is what makes it perfect! It is located on a quiet side road, no more than 5 minutes from the beautiful market square. The hotel was lovely, with friendly, helpful English speaking staff. Our room although small was beautifully designed & made to feel somewhat like a suite, with a separate seated area & sleeping area. The bathroom although tiny was great & I loved the clever shower which was small but felt luxurious! The breakfast was unexciting but had a great selection. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The location and building are very good, but there are problems with this place. One half of the hotel appears to have air conditioning while the other half doesn't. There seems to be a sauna in the basement. The room I was in was too hot, and there was music and clanging church bells coming from the courtyard. There only appeared to be one working power socket in the room. The standard lamp socket has a plastic cover which a child could easily remove, exposing bare wires. This is highly dangerous.
There were two sockets next to a washbasin in the bathroom - which is not safe either. The bedding needs to be upgraded.
It is not a good idea to play pounding music at 7 in the morning in the breakfast room. After all, most of the visitors are middle-aged and they don't want this kind of noise during breakfast. The breakfast is good enough although there is only pork and not other meat or fish (which is typical of Poland).
The marble floors and decor are very nice, but there are things that need improving at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Absolutely perfect location for Krakow - just a couple of blocks from the main market square and within easy walking distance to the castle district as well. Located on a quiet side street off of a main street. Very friendly and helpful staff, all spoke good English. Breakfast is excellent with made-to-order eggs each morning. Wifi was free and pretty consistent.

Probably not the cheapest place in Krakow, but even for the price I believe it's an excellent value. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Location is perfect at the edge of the Old Town, a small, pieceful road with very little traffic. Restaurants in abundance on all streets close by. Nice rooms, very friendly service, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Venetian House Aparthotel
Venetian House Aparthotel
#17 of 267 in Krakow
985 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#26 of 267 in Krakow
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#11 of 267 in Krakow
935 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $83 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wawel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing