We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History at it's Best!”
Review of Wawel Royal Castle

Wawel Royal Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.58*
and up
Krakow - Wawel Castle Guided Tour
More Info
$47.44*
and up
Krakow City Package: Wawel Castle Guided Tour with Vistula River Cruise
More Info
$46.08*
and up
Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #12 of 282 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Serving as a royal residence and the site where the country's rulers governed Poland for five centuries (1038-1596), this castle is a symbol of the independent Polish state and today contains a priceless collection of 16th-century Flemish tapestries, considered to be one of the largest in the world.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History at it's Best!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We decided to walk around the grounds of the castle first. Amazing to see and is really interesting. However, when we went to the Visitors Centre to get tickets to go inside the castle at 2:30pm, we were told that the castle was closing at 2:45pm and each section of the castle had to be paid separately!! We said we would come back the next day but never did. I would suggest that you leave plenty of time to look around the grounds and inside the castle. I cannot comment on the exhibitions or Cathedral as we never went back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,386
    2,225
    697
    137
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loads to see and most info is also in English”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

You get timed tickets for each area. The armoury/treasury is quite interesting, although nothing compared to the Tower of London. The state rooms are all decorated and have some furniture in them (the Nazis stole everything during WW2, so they're trying to get things back). The Royal apartments are the most furnished and interesting and you have a guided tour. I would say that if you don't speak English as a first, or very good second, language it may be difficult to follow the guide as she spoke very fast and had quite a strong Polish accent. Outside it's worth looking over the parapet to see the dragon who, from time to time, actually does breathe fire!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caligirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wawel castle”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A very lovely view. Lovely gardens surround the castle. Long queues to enter the castle. We went early on our own, just taking photos & enjoying the place. Later we went again with a guide & it was very interesting. Much better if you go with one of the free walking tours because they give you so much information about the place. Really worth a visit. Yo have to pay to entry the castle but it's free to wonder around the place like we did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Castle”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Spent a few hrs here exploring and it has so much history, an amazing beautiful building, so much to see. A must.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Expensive to get into but worth it to see the rich history, stunning castle with many interesting points to see

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank anneloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wawel Royal Castle also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Wawel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing