We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“palace closed for renovations”

Czartoryski Palace Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.73*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Official Pass
Ranked #120 of 272 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Extensive collection of the powerful Czartoryski family features art and sculpture from the 13th through the 16th centuries, including Rembrandt's "Landscape with the Good Samaritan" and Leonardo da Vinci's "Lady with an Ermine."
Minden, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“palace closed for renovations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Palace is closed for renovations as of 10/9/13 and do not when it is scheduled to reopen. It appears that it will be awhile so would check their website for updates. De vinci painting of Lady in Ermine has moved to Walwal castle museum. I only gave it a terrible because it was terrible we were unable to see it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Marilou0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    2
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Leonardo da Vinci”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unlike the trolls who guard the paintings of Jan Matjeko in the 19th Century Art Gallery above the Cloth Hall, the guides here are charming, calm and know that we are interested in the art. The subdued lighting, the smallness of the painting, the reality of the work is astonishing. You have to peer so closely to see brush strokes. Bought by Wladyslaw Czatoryzka in the 1870's, this was a highlight of our visit to Wawel Castle.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank rorykilalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czestochowa, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The house of the only painting of Leonardo da Vinci in Poland...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Princes Czartoryski ruled the Grand Duchy of Lithuania in the 13-th century. In 1386 Grand Duke Jogaila married a Polish princess ato became King Wladyslaw Jagiello, founding the Royal Dynasty of the Jagellonian which ruled Poland for two centuries.
The Princes Czartoryski Museum, a branch of the National Museum in Krakow is located at the intersection of 19 Św. Jana St. and 8 Pijarska St. Originally, it was founded in 1796 by Princess Izabela Czartoryska. It has the extensive collection of paintings, which includes quite unknown masterpiece of Leonardo da Vinci; LADY WITH AN ERMINE. The portrait of Cecilia Gallerani, the young and beautiful 15 years old mistress of Duke Ludovico " Il Moro" Sforza.
At the time of my visit, this painting was shown in the Royal Castle of Wawel, situated as well in Krakow.
The rest of the collection is too large to describe here. It is consists of 300,000+ items shown in the Princes Czartoryski Museum and Library. A half day is not enough to see it all. I return to see this collection year after year, since 1980.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small jewel of a gallery museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Small but superb museum and gallery with strong narrative and exceptional pieces in its collection such as Roman and Ancient Greek artefacts and its Leonardo da Vinci painting of the Lady with the Ermine.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank BVauditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
651 reviews
342 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,250 helpful votes
“Closed for renovation!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I had planned to visit this musuem, however my licensed guide for the bike trip I took told me that it is currently closed for renovation and will not open again for at least another 1-2 years. The famous painting from this musuem: Leonardo da Vinci's "Lady with an Ermine." is currently in the Wawel Castle with a special admission price to see it, separate from other exhibitions there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Czartoryski Palace Museum also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Czartoryski Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing